×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Truth about Lord Stoneville (Hellions of Halstead Hall Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of The Truth about Lord Stoneville (Hellions of Halstead Hall Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of The Truth about Lord Stoneville (Hellions of Halstead Hall Series #1)
     

The Truth about Lord Stoneville (Hellions of Halstead Hall Series #1)

4.0 253
by Sabrina Jeffries, James Clamp (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

HELLIONS OF HALSTEAD HALL

They're the scandalous Sharpes, five hell-raising siblings tainted by a shocking family legacy. Now each faces a daunting ultimatum: marry by year's end — or kiss their inheritance good-bye.

In the two decades since a tragic "accident" took the lives of his parents, Oliver Sharpe,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Truth about Lord Stoneville (Hellions of Halstead Hall Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 253 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1806 his mother screams at sixteen year old Oliver Sharper then soon after in a rage she rides off to the hunting lodge. Once there she shot and killed her cheating spouse and her self. In a scandalous instant Oliver became the new Marquess of Stoneville. By 1825, Oliver has lived since the murder-suicide the life of a rake. His four younger siblings are as out of control as he is. Disappointed but understanding, their Gran hoped time would heal their wounds, but has not. Hence she informs them at the sight of the pivotal tragedy they will marry within a year or she will cut off their funds. Oliver plans to meet his Gran's order by marrying someone inappropriate. He goes to a London brothel where he meets American Maria Butterfield who is in England searching for her missing fiancé with a clue taking her to the house of ill repute. Oliver rescues her from a customer, but blackmails her into pretending she is his intended. As they fall in love, Maria must remain patient as her Hellions of Halstead Hall beloved seems confused by his feelings for her. This amusing late Regency romance start of a new series is actually and offshoot of the "School for Heiresses". The story line is fast-paced and loaded with a strong cast especially the lead rake, his family and his beloved American. The fun once again is in the humorous gender war as Maria rips the haughty wastrel's skin baring his tormented soul filled with guilt and remorse for setting off his mom almost two decades ago. The Truth About Lord Stoneville is that this is a super historical. Harriet Klausner
lalalalalaKA More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down. Can't wait for the rest of the series. Great sense of humor. Emotions there but not drawn out. Lots going on - you won't be bored. Great love story - with a punch.
Ahurani More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed ALL Jeffries books, and this is a GREAT new series with more fun characters, interesting plot lines filled with humor, passion and excitement. You won't be disappointed, I couldn't put it down!
srbSH More than 1 year ago
He and his four siblings are still subjected to the ever-present gossip about the shooting death of their parents almost 20 years ago. Oliver's guilt at thinking he was the cause of the tragedy has shaped his consistent behavior as a wastrel. And he certainly can't believe that anyone would or could love him in spite of it. Oliver has no intention, ever, of marrying, but now his beloved grandmother has delivered an ultimatum: marry by the end of the year or no funds. So he has a plan to foil his grandmother; he'll find himself a floozy and bring her back to Halstead Hall as his intended. Off he goes to London, and instead he finds American shipping heiress Maria Butterfield who has come to England with her goofy cousin Freddy as chaperone, to find her missing fiancé, Nathan Hyatt. They had spotted Nathan's valise and followed the man carrying it to the same brothel where Oliver was floozy-scouting (!). Oliver settles the argument and, instantly attracted to Maria, makes her a deal: he'll hire someone to find her fiancé if she will pretend to be his fiancée. Read on yourself and enjoy your time finishing this lively and warm story. You'll get to know the likeable Sharpe family and their past, and you will be looking forward to reading about their next adventures to marriage.
hlamb68 More than 1 year ago
I love Sabrina Jeffries! Have read all of her books now and this one is just as good. Where else can you find a meddling grandmother who has such control over the grandchildren's lives?! The Regency period is wonderful, and these Sharpes are truly Hellions of the first degree! Used to having their own way, it's fun to see them being outwitted, even as they think they've outwitted the grandmother! Can't wait until the next one - I know it'll be just as good!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my first book by the author, and I definitely liked it enough to try her other books, and the ending is intriguing in that you want to know what Jarret is thinking he knows...you'll understand when you read. =) Overall a good historical romance.
RMDN More than 1 year ago
Ms. Jeffries introduces a new clan to the growing collection of romantic series - the Sharpe siblings. While not the most memorable book I've read, this novel makes for an enjoyable distraction from the everyday. If there is one fault, it's that the established conflicts get drawn out just a hair too long. Otherwise, the plot is reasonable, the characters are likable and their happily-ever-after is satisfying. It definitely makes you wonder what is in store for the other four Sharpe siblings. As if interest in them isn't enough to encourage to you to keep reading the series, Ms. Jeffries implies there is more to the death of their parents than meets the eye. I'm looking forward to the next installment.
TonaColorado More than 1 year ago
With this story Sabrina Jeffries has begun another wonderful series. I just could not put it down. And one thing that I also love is how the books are like a family or a world on its own. That is something I like in the books I read as I have mention it before in other reviews. When I pick up a book I want to get lost inside the story and this is something Sabrina Jeffries has accomplished in her books. Maria was a great character, with all her doubts and insecurities but also she is strong, willful, she represents many women in the real world. As for Oliver he is just that bad boy that we all like to dream about, the one we can save from the wickedness and keep him to our selves. Thank you Sabrina for another great story. I can't wait for the next one. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The entire series is great. The Hellions of Halstead Hall is a series that I always reccomend to my friends. The plot doesn't ever get boring, the mystery keeps you intrigued, and the romance will have you falling in love with whichever couple you're reading about. These books are must reads. I've read them three times! These books will make you laugh, smile, and fall in love with Jeffries and her Hellions.
LadyScarlet More than 1 year ago
with the whole family! It started with an awkward first meeting at sword point in a brothel and just got better from there! This book is filled with humor, witty banter, fabulous characters, sexual tension and a great overarching mystery!
Mirabelle8 More than 1 year ago
The truth about Lord Stoneville, book #1 of The Hellions of Halstead Hall series. I love Ms. Jeffries's characters Oliver Sharpe and Maria Butterfield I'ts the story of a grandmother who wishes that her grandchildren would settle down and marry so she can enjoy great-grandchildrens. Mystery surrounding the deaths of both parents of Oliver. Oliver must marry by year's end or be disinherited. Maria is a stubborn and independent woman. Both meet and.. Funny story of how Oliver's brothers and sisters try to match them together. Lots of humour, mystery, romance and love. If you are a fan of Sabrina Jeffries, then you must read this book, it's well written. She is a great writer! I will definitely read book #2 A Hellion in her bed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was terrific. It was hard to put down.
bklvr16 More than 1 year ago
Stoneville first appears in the "School for Heiresses" series and he comes across as not a very nice man. And he is not. He believes himself incapable of love since he is certain he is just like his unfaithful father, whom his mother shot and killed before killing herself twenty years earlier when Oliver was just sixteen. But he meets Maria and convinces her to aid him in his scheme against his grandmothers scheme to force him & his five siblings to marry in a year. I enjoyed the "School for Heiresses"series and I can't wait for the next in the "Hellions of Halstead Hall" book to come out. Sabrina Jeffries is becoming one of my favorite romance authors.
njoireading More than 1 year ago
I have read most of the "School" books, so I wasn't expecting a lot from this as they never quite caught my interest. I was quite surprised that I really enjoyed this book. There was a very sound reason for the way that Oliver viewed life and why he did not want to live on the family estate. It took his grandmother to push him and his sibling towards marriage, and none too gently. The American woman, Maria, who becomes his "partner" is neither insipid nor stupid. She was a character in and of herself, and together they make for a very good story. Of note: Oliver sisters seem to have very interesting stories, but his brothers did not have the same "oh I need to read their stories" background.
tsmb02 More than 1 year ago
This is the first of 5 books in the Hellions of Hallstead Hall. Each book is about a different sibling. This is Oliver's story. The story was fun and very easy to read. I would recommend getting these books...you won't be disappointed!
Chris Hodum More than 1 year ago
l have always enjoyed books from this author. this book was just as good as all her others
COHickchick More than 1 year ago
I have just became a Sabrina Jefferies fan in the last few months. I have read her 2 other series, and I have to say they just get better! I liked the first book of the Hellions of Halstead! Good book, and a must read!
streetmouse More than 1 year ago
Lovely story! I especially enjoyed the family dynamics and I know this will be a GREAT series.
shadow_of_happyness More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. Loved the characters. I can not wait for the next one.
Love2Read-N-Texas More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy all of Sabrina Jeffries novels and her latest was truly an enjoyable read! The story is how love finds Oliver (an Englishman) & Maria (an American) but also deals with redemption in the early 1900's England. Oliver's grandmother is a treat as well-can't wait to read the next novel that Sabrina Jeffries has to offer in this series!
curlyloulou More than 1 year ago
I gave this three stars mainly because I liked the characters. The story wasn't overly exciting but it was a fun, easy book.
DanielleDuBois More than 1 year ago
Having read all of Sabrina's previous books I can safely say that this was one of her best. Readers first meet Oliver, Lord Stoneville as a minor character in the series "The School for Heiresses". Now, the intriguing and dark gentleman and his eccentric siblings have a series of their own. This first book focuses on Stoneville himself; his battle with the demons that have haunted him for almost 20 years and the love he finds that could release him from his guilt. As a hero Stoneville is definitely a little troubled and enigmatic but a force to be reckoned with all the same. You can't help but feel sorry for him even though he comes across as a bit of a dissolute rogue. Maria, our heroine, is one of my favorite women written into one of Sabina's books. She even pulls a sword on our hero. you go girl! Her strength and resolve pit her against our hero in some creative ways but their attraction proves too much for them both in the end. Their love story has its ups and downs, as to be expected, but the ending is satisfying and prepares the readers for some interesting twists and turns in the books to come. I can't review this book without briefly mentioning Oliver's siblings - Jarrett, Gabriel, Minerva and Celia make up a dynamic family with an unbreakable bond and loyalty to each other. You will enjoy the little "detours" they set for Oliver in his pursuit of Maria. Jarrett's story is the next in line, with a release date of Fall 2010. I hate waiting! The love scenes are steamy and fast-paced but add to the vibrant colour of this book rather than take away from it - unlike so many other books I have read where the love scenes are so graphic that they ruin the tone of the book. I would give this book a 9 out of 10 on my Sexy Scale. (10 being very graphic in sexy content - 1 being so tame there isn't even a real kiss. ok, well maybe a chaste one) I loved this book. I simply can't wait for the release of the next 4 books in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book....couldn't put it down, very funny!!! Will read again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great start to the series..a must read.