BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ttyl: Talk to You Later (Internet Girls Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 349 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

!!!

Ok so, when i first picked out this book, i just looked at he cover, and i thought it was a cute cover, so i bought it. I though Laurens idea of text messaging was very creative, even if you et confused sometimes, it was very cool. So, this book suprised me because the ...
Ok so, when i first picked out this book, i just looked at he cover, and i thought it was a cute cover, so i bought it. I though Laurens idea of text messaging was very creative, even if you et confused sometimes, it was very cool. So, this book suprised me because the plot of this book was very diffent than i thought. She was facing things that were...what can i say, kind of innaprorite, but it was a good book! Lauren really let you get the feeling that the 3 best friends were actually talking to each other. I reccomned this book to people who want to read something fun and different, and i reccomend this book, its worth buying!

posted by tHeBo0kWOrM on July 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good but not Great

This book involves 3 great friends and the problems they face. This bookis shown in a text message form, which for me is a quite interesting. The problems that the 3 girls face are difficult and the 2 other books (ttfn and l8r g8r) will have more problems that will have...
This book involves 3 great friends and the problems they face. This bookis shown in a text message form, which for me is a quite interesting. The problems that the 3 girls face are difficult and the 2 other books (ttfn and l8r g8r) will have more problems that will have more grown up problems. But over all, its an ok book. I wouln't buy it, I'd borrow it form the library.
-A girl who likes to read

posted by computer on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 349 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    !!!

    Ok so, when i first picked out this book, i just looked at he cover, and i thought it was a cute cover, so i bought it. I though Laurens idea of text messaging was very creative, even if you et confused sometimes, it was very cool. So, this book suprised me because the plot of this book was very diffent than i thought. She was facing things that were...what can i say, kind of innaprorite, but it was a good book! Lauren really let you get the feeling that the 3 best friends were actually talking to each other. I reccomned this book to people who want to read something fun and different, and i reccomend this book, its worth buying!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    Awesome

    If you can deal with adult-like remarks, then you won't have a problem with this book. Personally, I think it's really good. It's written in IM format, if you didn't already know. I hope that you like it too, and read the last two because those are even better. It's really suprising at the end of each book, how they cope with everything that goes on in their lives. Basically, the whole seris is about the these three best friends, Zoegirl, SnowAngel, and Madmaddie that are all going to High school to find that their sophmore year was not the year they thought it up to be. It doesn't sound like a lot, but when you read it, it's more than you thought it would be in the first place. I totally reccomend this book to anyone!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but not Great

    This book involves 3 great friends and the problems they face. This bookis shown in a text message form, which for me is a quite interesting. The problems that the 3 girls face are difficult and the 2 other books (ttfn and l8r g8r) will have more problems that will have more grown up problems. But over all, its an ok book. I wouln't buy it, I'd borrow it form the library.<BR/>-A girl who likes to read

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    TTYL

    This book is soooooo good. It just shows some normal teenage activity and that's what the book is sort of all about from my point of veiw.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    I didn't like it.

    My answer to this is somple, I am not a girly girl so i didn't enjoy it at all.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    TTYL is a great book that you'd wanna read!!

    After reading this thrilling book, i had to go review it everywhere. it is by far my favorite book i've ever read. I cannot believe how carried away i got with Myracle's writing technique and storyline! I was kept up all night turning page, after page, after page. What was i thinking ? GREAt. finally a book that i can go back to and READ again. Just the fact that I wanna go read it again is a miracle. Great storyline, great emotional factors and originality.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Confusing and annoying at times.

    I didn't get the point. It's almost like there's parts of the story taken out, and it's all in-betweens. It's humorous at times, but I was confused with the entire book. I wouldn't recommend this to someone else, nor read any of the other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2014

    Follows best friends Zoe, Angela and Maddie as they talk through

    Follows best friends Zoe, Angela and Maddie as they talk through IM messages. These books are more for teens 14 and up. It's funny, witty and a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    I read this book when I was like twelve. I just finished reading

    I read this book when I was like twelve. I just finished reading it last night, now nineteen. Still love it. It's still a page turner. The author's truly impressive form of writing made this book new and exciting. A total new concept to read. Loved it and it's great for teenagers of all ages. Good morals and meaning, love this whole series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    I just didn't like it. At first I really liked the book but then

    I just didn't like it. At first I really liked the book but then I realized it wouldn't get any better.
    First of all, Angela is A WHINY ANNOYING brat!!!!!! LITERALLY. She is constantly whining stupid things about her dumb boyfriend. Like, &quot;OMG Tonnie saw rob and he ACTUALLY asked her if she liked his SHIRT!!!!!!!!! OMG I FEEL SO BAD WHAT DO I DO?&quot; Also, it's missing the vital details! When there's a party, you don't see what happens! The characters simply REFLECT on it. I expected something huge to happen and you always think a plot will develop but it never does. Books like this were not made to be written. Another turn off was that the words were a second grade level and the cover is super cute but the word choice and things they say is appalling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    It was ok. -Try it out.

    This book was pretty good. I didn't think it was the best book I've read, but lots of teens, especially girls in high school can relate to it. It's also about friendship, and how in any situations, friends need to stick together. Some of the things/events in this book are overexaggerdated because not all teens act this way. The three girls however, demonstrate the life of a teenager in high school and how to handle certain situations. Overall, this book was okay and I don't highly recommend it, but if you're into this type of book, then try it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Love this book! Really funny

    Love this book! Really funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book and the 2 sequels were incredible! You are really able to relate to the three best friends and there roadblocks throughout high school! If you didn't already know, this book is written in instant message format. You would think that it would be very hard to understand the story and you wouldn't be able to imagine it, but you completely can because of the detail given by Lauren Myracle. One of the best series I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Entertaining Tween Read

    Perfect light read for elementary/tween readers. My daughter described this book as "a fun read."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    cotton candy for the mind: too much sugar, not enough substance

    Ttyl, by Lauren Myracle, is the kind of book that can be found on the book shelves of many pre-teen girls, even those who don't normally like to read. I remember seeing this book a lot during 6th and 7th grade, but by then, I was already an avid action/adventure reader and my favorite color was blue. But four years later, when I spotted the bright pink cover on my cousin's bookshelf, I picked it up thinking, "Eh, what the hell," and got busy.
    Ttyl follows BFFs Zoey, Angela, and Madigan as they go through their sophomore year. The book is a catalog of all their online conversations: cat fights, interesting student-teacher relationships, and puppy love turned sour. It's not the kind of book I would've chosen back then or now, but over the years I've been pretty open to other genres and I found the writing style of ttyl interesting.
    Two days later, I realized that this book definitely challenges the claim that reading makes you smarter. In all fairness, a book written in an IM format can't have the widest vocabulary range, but this was ridiculous. It wasn't so much of a lack of vocabulary as a lack of depth in the book as a whole. Angela, Zoey, and Maddie were nothing more than cutouts: the boy-crazed romantic, the goody-two-shoes, and the tough girl. The plot was as shallow as a kiddie pool (Angela's boyfriend is cheating swine-boohoo; Janice is a manipulative witch-waah!).
    Also, the book is simply not fit for a particular audience. The cover of the book is pink with cute emoticons on the front. This, and the writing style give me the impression that this book is targeted at pre-teen readers. However, there should be a PG-13 sticker in the inside cover. Twelve-year-old girls should not be reading about pedophile-teachers, alcoholic catastrophes, or even Angela's unhealthy attraction to guys. Are these really the kind of things you'd want your (hopefully) still innocent daughter to be reading about?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing book!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book!!!!!!!!!! Lauren Myracle wrote the book ih instent message which I like and, I love how the girls (Maddie, Angela, Zoe) talk like real teenagers. I truely recommend this book for any highschool girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Well...

    It wasn't one that held my interest and didn't make me WANT to read more. It was okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Different type of read, but good!

    I loved the text-internet style of writing in this book, it was interesting and something I'd never saw before. I enjoyed the book as a whole, you couldn't really have thick plots with it all being on the internet but it was good. The biggest perk to it though was that I constantly found myself laughing through it. It had a decent amount of humor and for anyone who needs a good laugh I'd recommend this book, it's funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Alright

    This is one of those books that don't really move you, touch you, and it didn't even make me laugh that much. While it started off alright, as I got more into it I was just reading to finish it. There are about 3 problems in the book, all that get solved simple, without any suspense. If your looking for a time waster, read this book, if your looking for a book that has a plot, read something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    Awesome, but somewhat inappropriate.

    I can definitely see why this book was banned from my middle school's library. I loved it anyways, but it was a little on the raunchy side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 349 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18