BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ttyl: Talk to You Later (Internet Girls Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 346 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

!!!

Ok so, when i first picked out this book, i just looked at he cover, and i thought it was a cute cover, so i bought it. I though Laurens idea of text messaging was very creative, even if you et confused sometimes, it was very cool. So, this book suprised me because the ...
Ok so, when i first picked out this book, i just looked at he cover, and i thought it was a cute cover, so i bought it. I though Laurens idea of text messaging was very creative, even if you et confused sometimes, it was very cool. So, this book suprised me because the plot of this book was very diffent than i thought. She was facing things that were...what can i say, kind of innaprorite, but it was a good book! Lauren really let you get the feeling that the 3 best friends were actually talking to each other. I reccomned this book to people who want to read something fun and different, and i reccomend this book, its worth buying!

posted by tHeBo0kWOrM on July 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good but not Great

This book involves 3 great friends and the problems they face. This bookis shown in a text message form, which for me is a quite interesting. The problems that the 3 girls face are difficult and the 2 other books (ttfn and l8r g8r) will have more problems that will have...
This book involves 3 great friends and the problems they face. This bookis shown in a text message form, which for me is a quite interesting. The problems that the 3 girls face are difficult and the 2 other books (ttfn and l8r g8r) will have more problems that will have more grown up problems. But over all, its an ok book. I wouln't buy it, I'd borrow it form the library.
-A girl who likes to read

posted by computer on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 217 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ttyl

    This is a great book. Girls would love to read this. It's funny, interesting, and a bit realist. Any girl would love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing book

    ttyl is an amazing book that helps if you are having problems with self-discovery. It is unforgettable! Lauren Myracle's writing skills really show through in ttyl. I definently recommend this book, as well as ttfn and l8r, g8r!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The power of friendship is great beyond belief

    This book is definitely a book that grabbed my attention when I opened it. Why? Well because the format that it is set up in. This whole entire is told through IMs (instant messages). The three girls who are sending the messages are the best of friends who have just started their junior year in high school but ahead faces challenges that threaten to hurt/end their friendship. But the power that they had inside them found a way to get through the problems and also found a way to bring together after tough and difficult times. This book will definitely have you question your own friendship and how friends can come through for you when you need them the most. The main point/concept, so to say, of this book that the author is trying to get across to the readers (or at least the concept I pick up from reading the book) is that the power of friendship is great beyond belief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    the greatest book for teen girls!!!! :D

    TTYL is an awesome read! A friend of mine recommended it to me, and I started reading right away, because she knows all the good books. Lauren Myracle had me at the first page. Maddie, Zoe, and Angela are fantastic characters!! This book was hilarious!! There was so much funny in all those ims! It was great!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    This is good!

    I will most definitely read the other two! This book is very good my least favorite person is maddie because she is o so moody but i love her anyways! I LOVE ANGELA! she always has something going on i love it reminds me of some of my friends! this book is good i suggest that teenage girls read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cana Rensberger for TeensReadToo.com

    TTYL by Lauren Myracle is a young adult book written entirely in computer IM language. The change in colors and fonts for each of the three girls make it easy to read, and the presentation and voice are both highly appealing to the teen reader. <BR/><BR/>Snow Angel, Mad Maddie, and Zoegirl have been best friends for, like, four years. This is the story of their friendship and their commitment to be there for one another, no matter what. Like when Snow Angel finds her true love (not the same one from a couple of weeks earlier), and falls apart when he cruelly dumps her. Like when Mad Maddie, in an effort to try to be in the "it" crowd, goes to a party, gets drunk, and finds herself in the middle of an Internet scandal as a result. Like when Zoegirl trusts the wrong teacher and finds herself in hot water. <BR/><BR/>Over and over, the girls come through for one another, even if they are in the middle of a fight. The emotions and relationships are real and the dialogue is cutting edge. The reader will most likely identify with at least one of the girls. You'll care for them so much you'll feel great relief when they bail each other out of one predicament after another. <BR/><BR/>This was a fun read and I can't wait to read the next books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    TTYL ROX!:D

    OMG!BRB!G2G!TTYL!L8R!TTFN! All the Langauge of Tenth Grade!Hands down a terrific book!See The twists and turns ups and downs of Tenth Grade through the eyes of Angela(SnowAngel), Madigan(MadMaddie),and Zoe(Zoegirl)!Terrific Tale of Tenth Grade the changes,the pressures,the love,and the loss.A truly awesome start to a series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    TTYL!!! :]

    TTYL, by Lauren Myracle is a great realistic fiction. I really found it amusing reading about the three teenage girls-Angela, Maddie, and Zoe-and all the conflicts they faced. It was so easy to relate to, and I honestly couldn¿t even put the book down once I started it. The story is told through instant messaging over the computer, which I thought gave the story a little something extra, but the events that are described mainly take place at the girl¿s high school in their small town. The three are really just trying to survive the drama of high school in their senior year. They all wanted as little drama as possible, but they mainly wanted to be able to remain bestfriends. To bad that¿s easier said then done.<BR/> Out of the three, Zoe, has always been known as the ¿good girl,¿ but shes tired of always being looked at as good. She ends up getting herself into an awkward situation with one of her teachers after refusing to take her two bestfriends advice. This causes some tension between the three. Then Maddie and Angela start having some problems when Maddie starts hanging out with Jana, who she¿s hated for a really long time, and begins to ditch Angela. Then Maddie won¿t talk to Zoe and Angela after Jana does something really mean to her. So at this point their friendship is really hanging by a thread. I really like Myracle¿s writing style. I think she did a really good job giving each girl a unique personality. All the characters were so different but they went together so well. I would defiantly say this book would be good for any girl in middle school or high school. You really see how teenage girls think, and it¿s really easy to relate to the characters and situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    A book review on TTYL

    TTYL<BR/>Lauren Myracle<BR/>Amulet Books<BR/>Realistic Fiction<BR/><BR/> Did you ever want to know how the first day and year of tenth grade is? Well if you do then read the book TTYL.While the three wild and bold primary characters Angela/Snowangel, Zoe/Zoegirl, and Maddie/Madmaddie go through many IM memories, Frat boy parties, trips to Cumberland Island, backstabbing boys, creepy teachers, clothes obsessions, and plain old dumb things. This book, that is written by Lauren Myracle, is a roller coaster ride for anyone because of all the drama and different personalities put together in a story. As Maddie makes some mistakes, Zoe is hit on by a teacher, and Angela obsesses over one boy, the three friends always stick together no matter what. To find out all the details you will have to read the book!!!<BR/><BR/> Angela, the girl that definitely does not change, but does not usually cause problems, is fashionable and bold. Iming as Snowangel or just being Angela, this blond haired beauty queen loves any jewelry or accessories. She is one of the three primary characters that goes through the rough and tough times in tenth grade. Maddie, also known as Madmaddie [only on online], is the one out of the three primary characters that does cause problems and changes quite awkwardly throughout the book. She is the feisty, black haired teenager, that is wild and keeps her feelings inside. She makes some bad and dangerous decisions throughout the book, but her friends are always there for her. Zoe, the sweet, natural red haired teenager does not change and does NOT cause problems. She can keep her feelings bottled up, but is really smart. She goes through teacher problems in tenth grade but Maddie and Angela, again, are always there. What three great friends!<BR/><BR/> This book, written by Lauren Myracle, is a book that any one should read and should recommend. These three girls go through lots of times they will always remember. A few exciting, funny, sad, and creepy things are how they planned their Cumberland Island trip, did speed rages on the interstate, went to frat boy parties, got caught up to boys, and had 26 year old teachers hit on them. As you read this book you will laugh and be so surprised with some of the stuff these girls do. This is a book that you can put yourself inside of and never want to come out. It's almost adventurous and it is so cool. What happens at the end with Made I can't tell but if you want to know then read the book, because I strongly recommend it. For ages 12 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    TTYL!!

    This is definitely a book I would recommend to every girl who is close to or in high school. This book really helped me find myself while finding the characters in it. I saw a little bit of myself in Angela, Maddie and Zoe. It's truly amazing how you watch such different characters harmonize to brilliantly. Two thumbs up for Lauren Myracle- she's most definitely on her way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    OMG!

    Ttly! by:lauren Myracle is the bom! i thout it would be dum but SnowAngel=Angela and mad Maddie=maddie and ZoeGirl=Zoe made this book what it is. tenagers just like us can relate so much to this book.The drma of school.The home. Friends and other things.thes three friends voud to be toghter till the end. yes life dues get in the way sometimes but theses buds are forever. Im on the seciond book wich is ttfn Lauren Myracle is one of my fave authers shes so into what she dues any way i cant what to make my next revew TTFN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    omg.

    This is a wonderful book. I am 15 years old and i absolutly 100% loved it. it was so much like me and i cant wait to read the next 2 books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    LOL

    This book is genious. Some of my friends were talking about it, so I read it. I love how its written entirely in IM!!!! Young Adults can really relate to that kind of writing. The girls in this book really go through some tough times, but in the end, they are there for each other. That message is one that everyone, not ONLY teens, need to learn. High praise for TTYL!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Amazing book

    This books is terrific. It was always suprising and made me want to read it over and over again! Even my cousin who doesn't read books loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    A LOVER OF LAUREN'S BOOKS!

    I love this book. Whoever hates it doesnt understand it! i thought it was just amazing how i can connect to the book! i love how they used text writing cause it makes more interesting. I give it a two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    LOVED THIS BOOK

    I loved this book it has heart I read all three books of ttyl,ttfn,l8r g8r. I love all these books.OMG cant wait to read more books this great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    love it!!

    this book is my favorite book ever! i also looove ttfn! maddie made googlewhacking sound fun so i tried it and found one!!! its....pranking wazookas! its part of an inside joke between me and my friends and it actually worked! anyway i'm off to bye l8r, g8r! ttyl!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    It's Hilarious and I can't wait to buy the second!!!!

    I loved this book! It was awesome!!!! It was really funny and totally awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    big IMing fan!!!

    This book is great i IM a whole lot!!!And me and my friends talk about this kind of stuf so it's really easey to relate to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    ttyl(talk to you later) As i read this book it made me realize that all books teach you something.After I finished i realized all that Lauren Myracle wrote was true,it all happens in life.It may happen to you or mabe even your friend but this book is what you need to know of what happens with cliques and miss popular and all the other stuff that happens in between

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 217 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11