×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tucker's Way
     

Tucker's Way

4.1 17
by David Johnson
 

See All Formats & Editions

After enduring a childhood of horrific abuse and crushing poverty, Tucker seeks refuge in her rural Tennessee home. The three grandchildren she is raising are her only connection to the outside, and her demeanor is purposefully rough. But her world is turned upside down when a new neighbor, Ella, moves into the old McDaniel place next door.

Ella seeks solace on

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tucker's Way 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
kimbre15 More than 1 year ago
Tucker's Way was an exceptionally well written story. The bond between Tucker and the judge's ex-wife was heart warming. The way Tucker showed love for her grandchildren, especially April made me cry. I will definitely read any books in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story but ends abrubtly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely worth a read. Good storyline,realistic characters. This book has soul.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have  read the entire series about Tucker family!  Johnson does NOT leave you hanging without finishing the story as some of the other reviewers mentioned!  In fact he is publishing the last in the series very soon.  
BooksforDays More than 1 year ago
In a word.... WOW. This gritty, raw, and heartfelt novel had me glued to my Kindle for two days. I walked into walls at work as I read it coming and going to break and lunch. So engrossed in the charachter of Tucker I was that I skipped going to the gym to finish this book. In Tucker's Way we meet Tucker and Ellie. Tucker is a tough women who may not be book smart but she is a survivor and nobody'd fool. The trauma she from childhood abuse haunts her in her day to day life and beware to ANYONE that crosses her or those she loves. Tucker is raising her grandchildren in a dilapated home that has been passed down from her parents. We learn a lot about Tucker and get to watch this hard as nails women soften, even if it's just a bit, as she befriends her new neighbor Ellie. David Johnson's writing is flawless and the inner and verbal dialogue he gives these characters shows his understanding of the different cadences of different social classes of the South. There are some graphic scenes in this story and it may be hard to read for some but every word is relevant to this story and to explaining the complex character of Tucker. I have to cut this review short, only because I am itching to dive into An Unexpected Frost. Thank you Netgalley and Lake Union Publishing for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review.
bobbybRB More than 1 year ago
Best book l've read in a long time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this was a most interesting story highly recommended
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This could have been a good book, but the author gave too much detail to some parts and skipped over other details that seemed important. Was this just a part of a bigger book?
McKamie More than 1 year ago
Thanks for the warnings.  I hate to get a book that leaves you hanging without a resolution. That seems to be the trend  these days.  When I get books let this I never read anything else by this Author..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series ,great books about love and friendship , but i can not find the forth book april's rain??
andonsgrandma More than 1 year ago
Once I started I couldn't put it down. I read all three books about Tucker and can't wait for the next book. Loved her story. Tucker is a very strong woman.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fair story, except there was no real ending. No resolution, the story was going along then quit, like the author forgot what happens next. I hate that. Only 244 pgs. Couldnt he have written a few more pages and wrapped up the story???? Wont read anything else by this authir and dont recommend this story either.