×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tune In: The Beatles: All These Years
     

Tune In: The Beatles: All These Years

4.5 10
by Mark Lewisohn
 

See All Formats & Editions

Tune In is the first volume of All These Years—a highly-anticipated, groundbreaking biographical trilogy by the world's leading Beatles historian. Mark Lewisohn uses his unprecedented archival access and hundreds of new interviews to construct the full story of the lives and work of John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison, and Ringo Starr.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tune In: The Beatles--All These Years 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
DavefromBuffalo More than 1 year ago
I have read countless books on the Beatles. This is the most in depth ever. It was full of information I have never encountered before. This is the new standard! Excellent book...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A nicely written book, with a lot of personal information regarding the life of the Fab four. I learned a lot of the lads families and their lives in young age.
SallyPinkReviews More than 1 year ago
Lewisohn pens a raw, candid, comprehensive book about one of the world's greatest rock groups, the Beatles.  Over 932 pages, Lewisohn examines the early, formative years of John, Paul, George, and Ringo. He reveals how their parents' heritage, the world around the boys, and American music shaped the Beatles' lives and influenced their choices.   "Tune In" shows the Beatles as young men struggling to find their way in life, determined to stay true to themselves and honest to the music that embodied the core of who they were.   Lewisohn's writing style is straight-forward and direct, which can bog down the reader at times, but considering the fascinating depth of the material, his style is never cumbersome.   Lewisohn's examination of the Beatles' character is revealing. John is wounded at an early age due to his parents' distance. Paul is encouraged, George is firm in his convictions, and Ringo is determined to make a better path for himself, especially when he discovers the drums.   The influence of the supporting cast is important and Lewisohn has devoted much time to Stu Sutcliffe, Brian Epstein, George Martin, and Pete Best, discussing their influence on the Beatles' lives. A revealing point is how the Beatles avoid conflict – a trait that haunts them throughout their life.   "Tune In" offers tantalizing tidbits into the Beatles' musical influences and development while taking a comprehensive look at outside influences, family, and friends. It's a must read for any diehard Beatles fan.
AppleEE10Pie More than 1 year ago
Not many documentaries that are page turners. New Beatles fsn.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written. When does second book come ou
Beetlejuice More than 1 year ago
Very interesting but wish the nook shows the pictures I am sure are in the book.
BookwormMama2014 7 months ago
If you don't know by now, I am a huge fan of the Beatles. Both of my children have their own Beatles song (Hey Jude and Help), however my general knowledge of their history is not so great. So when I saw Tune In, I didn't hesitate at the opportunity to read it. Being born in the late 80s I can only imagine what it was like to live in the world of Beatlemania, endure the sorrow of their breakup, and all the years in between. Which is why I am so excited about this book. Something else about me, is that I value history, learning the facts and details about people and time periods. Tune In is an extremely in depth look at the men that changed music forever. Beginning with their family histories, we learn everything there is to know about the background, the life, the creation of the Beatles. Each chapter covers a few years to a few months, and a single day in some cases, beginning in 1845-1945 with the histories of their families, going through their childhood years in the next chapter (1945-1954), and taking us through to the end of 1962. I have only begun to scratch the surface of this book and I think it is safe to say...Mind...Blown. So much detail, so much history. I love it! With about 80 pages of Notes and another 10 for Credits Mark Lewisohn has definitely done his research to give us such an in depth account of Beatles history. If you are a fan of the Beatles, you are sure to love reading Tune In. Now to wait for volume two... I received a free copy of Tune In (The Beatles: All These Years) Volume 1, from the publisher through Blogging for Books. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are mine alone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's very long-- about a thousand pages. Very chronological and detail-driven. Very full of facts, like a book you'd read for school. Sometimes it takes itself a little too seriously.