×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tunnels (Tunnels Series #1)
     

Tunnels (Tunnels Series #1)

4.2 180
by Roderick Gordon
 

See All Formats & Editions

Fourteen-year-old Will Burrows has little in common with his strange, dysfunctional family. In fact, the only bond he shares with his eccentric father is a passion for archaeological excavation. So when his dad mysteriously vanishes, Will is compelled to dig up the truth behind his disappearance. He unearths the unbelievable: a subterranean society that time forgot.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tunnels 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 180 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing because it really allowed me to use my imagination. The storyline is so unique and thrilling. Once I started this book I could not stop. I recommend it to anyone who wishes to read a unique, exciting and unbelievable story!
WyluliWolf More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The story was unique and interesting. The characters are interesting. I highly recommend it and the sequel Deeper. Read it!
Patton-Athenae More than 1 year ago
This story really brought something new to the table. However, I couldn't shake the feeling that I was just too old to be reading this book. I love good fiction with a passion...and this wasn't too bad in terms of story and content. It just had a very juvenile approach that I never experienced from other books like Harry Potter or Chronicles of Narnia. And that's not to say that "Tunnels" is comparable to those books...because it's not. It is a very different novel and I can't place what it is that makes it different other than that it is just very conservative. The authors never push any boundaries...every instance of danger is just not dangerous enough, every instance of creepiness is just not creepy enough. It was all very "PG" and I think it would have been better off as a "PG-13" story. In terms of the book itself, I think it had a killer hook. The problem is, the hook doesn't pull you in until a few chapters in. Which is basically the major flaw the book had in my opinion: it was a great concept but it took too long to cut to the chase whenever a major event was going to take place. While reading this book, I got to a really dull section and I ended up putting the book down for a few months until I could get interested in it again. I've never actually had to do that with a book that I was reading for fun, but something brought me back to it and I'm really glad I read it through to the end. The only other problem I had with the book is that the main character never really acted his age. I always found myself wondering, "how old is this kid again?" The characters in general were well described but not well established as people. Overall I think that this is a GOOD book for someone in Junior High School. I also think that this entire book is really only HALF of a story that takes too long to play out. The ending is great and somewhat shocking but was not worthy of being the end to a story like this. It seems as if the authors specifically wrote this book so that it would have a sequel and I didn't appreciate that. Worth the read but definitely not for young adult.
Styx249 More than 1 year ago
This wonderful opening to a best selling series may just be the next Harry Potter. This action packed novel by Brian Williams and Roderick Gordon is a novel that has great characters( my favorites are Bartleby and Rebecca), an amazingly detailed plot, and is great for teens. I would probly recommend this book for ages 12-18. You wont be dissapointed with this series opener! P.S. Cant wait for Closer(Book 4)!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
An outstanding fresh novel with vivid descriptions and wonderful characters.At first, it´s a bit childish but then, as it develops, it gets darker and better. I loved it, and the ending is so good I can barely wait to read the second part. There are several novels that have achieved undeserved fame, I think, like Twilight, but this one definitely deserves it. Fabulous. One of my favorite books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever. Really long though so if just looking for a short read dont buy it. But other then that, amazing
mary5567 More than 1 year ago
Well I just finished the book last night. What a crazy story this Will ha. I think the book is fun for ages 8 and up, not hard reading, very descriptive, but kind of boring till you get to page 100 and up. Then your in for a reading ride.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is really awesome but the rest in the series are WAY better. And yeah,the stories are a bit gory but there still great. How can some of you guys say that it sucked! It was awesome! I just finished Spiral. Oh great, now my Mum is yelling at me to get some sleep because 'its really late' or whatever. Bye fellow readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It takes a while for it to get exciting. That is the good part though. It makes you want to know what will happen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to read Tunnels as a project in school. At first i wasn't happy bcuz of the size. After I read Tunnels i was sooooooo glad we had to read it as an asignment. I STRONGLY recomend this book!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An excellent book that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cant wait to read Deeper.I just finished Tunnels.Wish I would have came across this series earlier
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tunnels was a great book! So was Deeper the second!,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im reading the hard copy and am hooked i love it soooo much thanks for such a great book roderick gordan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great mystery of finding his father, although a strange book, in a good way!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even though I am not in this books reading age range, I find the book a quite interesting and fun read. This book allowed me to use my imagination and the shift of scenes and pace of the book was fantastic. I like how the beginning introduces the characters first and then delves into action/adventure later on. This book had me eagerly reading, turning page by page, to know what would happen next. I would stay up at night just to read this book. Even though there are words that are unknown/not familiar, taking the time to write down the words on a sticky note pad along with pg #'s and then search it up later is really helpful and also, looking up images describing the tunnels. I was able to understand the story a lot better. It was an adventurous and thrilling read. I am looking forward to reading the whole series! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in class it's a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book doesn't exactly start with a bang but it is defenantly worth waiting. It is defenantly on my favorites list.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My 11 year old daughter handed me this book the moment she finished it. Now I'm hooked as well! We are in the third of the series and are looking forward to the 4th.Well written with twists, turns and surprises with each page! I've really enjoyed reading this - and subsequent - books!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very interesting and fun! This book makes me wonder about the underground world! A lot of adventure and action that will make you read it every single day until you finish it! Exciting for all ages!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This, so far has been the best book I have ever read. I still truly can't believe that it was written of bordom.
Tyler Johnson More than 1 year ago
The beggining is boring but its great!
Guest More than 1 year ago
My parents got mad at me for staying up too late on school nights reading this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great for kids looking for something to fill the void left by the conclusion of the Harry Potter series. However, Tunnels is more Science Fiction than Fantasy- so, no magic, dragons, or castles to be found. Will Burrows is an interesting character who will appeal to kids. There were parts that were a little scary, so I would recommend this for children ages 10 and up. Overall, a great read and leaves you waiting for the sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In this adventerous novel written by Roderick Gordon is an upbeat read for anybody ranging from 5th grade to 9th grade. If you are someone reading this book it could change your life, just like if you read, “Eat, Pray, Love.” Throughout this book the reader will go through many interesting and weird adventures. So, the book starts out like this, Will, the main character, is with his father, Dr. Burrows, and they are having there “Father-Son” time at their new excavation site they found and there digging and setting up all the necessary things that you would need to do what they do. Later on Will finds that he has a problem with his excavation site that he needs to fix the problem he has or his site could be gone forever. Throughout the book the characters keep digging and finding new things along the way. This book, Tunnels, could have many different dystopian themes but the one that stick out the most is equality. These people in the book are forced to live underground and they can't try to go back up to the surface.  The characters in this book have some depth. Will, the main character, is interesting. He loves to dig, just like his father, but when he has his own dig site he wouldn't let anybody help him with it until he found a new friend that he trust and that's very rare. Dr. Burrows on the other hand wants people to help him all the time except for his own personal work. So, I guess you could say that are alike in some ways, but in others they're different. Will's sister is pretty interesting too. She is like the housekeeper around their house. She does all the laundry, the dishes, she makes dinner every night, and makes sure that the house is nice and tidy. Will's mom, Mrs. Burrows is kind of weird. She loves to watch movies and TV shows, especially her soap operas, she loves them and can watch them 24/7.  Like I said before the book "Tunnels" has many different dystopian themes. I really enjoyed this book and I would recommend it if  your looking for a fantastic and highly interesting book