×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Turn Coat (Dresden Files Series #11)
     

Turn Coat (Dresden Files Series #11)

4.7 568
by Jim Butcher
 

See All Formats & Editions

The new novel in the hit New York Times bestselling Dresden Files series. The Warden Morgan has been accused of treason against the Wizards of the White Council—and there's only one, final punishment for that crime. He's on the run, wants his name cleared, and needs someone with a knack for backing the underdog. Someone like Harry Dresden... Now, Harry must

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Turn Coat (Dresden Files Series #11) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 567 reviews.
DaveCA More than 1 year ago
Having just finished the book, I'm still a little stunned, wow. This is one of the best or perhaps the very best that we've seen from Butcher. Really an amazing book that signifies large things to come for Dresden. Being the sly tease that he is, Butcher has me eagerly waiting for the next installment. If you're a Dresden fan, you are really going to feel for Harry after this one. Did I already say wow? Not to go off topic, but Harriet, you are yet again posting inaccurate reviews (though this one is slightly less misleading). Knock it off. And for others reviewing before reading, please stop as well.
BookloverSD More than 1 year ago
I began reading Jim Butcher with his other series--Codes Alera--and fell into this one because there were no more Alera books to read. I love fantasy books but not usually ones in contemporary settings--HOWEVER--I fell in love with Harry Dresden. He's a human who happens to do magic. He has worries and fears and gets scared and gets pissed off and reacts without thinking and honors his commitments. He's very believeable. And his adventures keep getting better--which I didn't think was possible as I've enjoyed each book so much. I wrote my son (we share a love for Jim Butcher) after the last book that I didn't think Butcher could top himself. Well, he did with this one. I love that Thomas and Harry's brotherly relationship keeps developing and is a challenging relationship for both of them. I love Harry's apprentice, Molly, and how she grows in each book. I love his realtionship with the Chicago PD. In short, I love these books. I did not want to put this book down and ended up bringing it to work with me so I could read there. I cannot wait for the next Dresden book--and will preorder it as soon as it's available.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Harry Dresden = awesome squared
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Dresden series is incredible
Caseymyhorse More than 1 year ago
I got book one to read on the airplane to Ireland and was immediately hooked on the series. Jim has weaved a great tale that flows all through out the series. It gets better and better... Turn Coat had me pretty much speed reading to see how it ends! Love Harry's snark... Definitely makes me bust out loud, laughing. As I said, read them... They are great!
Jason Selling More than 1 year ago
the novel and plot were good. However, the plot was a little dull and morgan was kind of annoying.
T3njin More than 1 year ago
Jim Butcher never misses a chance to make the Wizard Dresden shine. Backmail at one of the highest levels of the White Council, the Senior Wardens. Hold on tight while Harry trys his best to clear the name of his old enemy Warden Morgan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Turn Coat taught us more about the inner workings of the Senior Council than ever before. As always Harry is up against enemies he can't possibly defeat. Don't let this be your first Dresden Files book or you will be spoiled. Fantastic
MechTech More than 1 year ago
Jim Butcher knocks another one out of the park. His character development continues to be among the best. The plot outstanding.. The series has me hooked. I literally cannot stop reading until I finish. The I reread it to make sure I caught everything. Excellent writer, excellent book.
Darkhunter17 More than 1 year ago
I have all of the audio books of the Dresden Files. (and all of the actual books.) James Marsters is by far the best audio book actor I have ever heard. He brings all of Jim Butcher's characters to life. The book is wonderful, the characters are strong and interesting, and after following them all through the series, they seem like old friends. Jim Butcher has done a wonderful job creating an exciting and believable world to take us on a journey of action, magic, sarcasm, and betrayal. James Marsters brings this all across beautifully. Hahzaa! I can't wait until the next one! Buy it, you won't be sorry!
WintermuteNight More than 1 year ago
Once again, Jim Butcher's writing is fast paced yet poignant, especially in this particular book of the series. Butcher delves into the workings of the White Council more then he ever has in previous books due to a situation concerning, of all people, Morgan. This book will probably be the one that will make long time fans grieve a little near the end. This one is still full of humor, and still gritty, but this has an added sense of depth that I haven't seen in the Dresden series since Death Masks. This is not the one to start with, but its a great piece to see Dresden's progress over the arc of the story.
T.Fungo More than 1 year ago
What a ride! I haven't enjoyed a Harry Dresden book this much since "Dead Beat". Harry always seems to get into major trouble and it starts early in this book. Morgan, a Warden of the White Court who's been on Harry's back for years, shows up bleeding to death at Harry's doorstep, asking for Harry's help escaping the White Court's justice. Things go downhill from there. With the usual colorful gallery of supporting characters, a few new ones popping in, plus a new vicious enemy that will challenge Harry like none before, this book is chock-full of everything that makes the Harry Dresden books great. Butcher's wonderful wit is ever-present. The entertaining/life-threatening situations in which our friend Harry finds himself will keep you glued to the page. Harry's own attitude is as darkly humorous as ever. And there are developments in this story that foretell of rough times ahead. If you haven't read any of the Harry Dresden files, I recommend going back and starting with Storm Front. If you're a fan this one will not disappoint. It is a gem among gems.
DarkKitty More than 1 year ago
Harry is back big time! These books are always awesome, and I wasn't disappointed. It was kinda hard core (LOVE IT!) But Harry is still Harry, Murph didn't get to kick much azz but that's okay...and gotta say it, I'm lovin' Lara! Also, as a Chicagian, I have to say "Thanx" to Jim Butcher for getting better with some of the Chicago locations that was the only thing that used to annoy me. Awesome job!
SailorAT2 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy reading this series of books from Jim Butcher. It was definately a page turner. If you have started this series....you will have to read this one!
delcobooklover More than 1 year ago
Harry Dresden continues his hunt to ferret out the Black Council, when called upon to prove the innocence of one of his long time foes. Insight into the growth of Harry's power, and turmoil in Harry's relationships are byproducts of the machinations of the unknown Black Council members and their allies... Keeps the series fresh, and makes Dresden fans wish book 12 would arrive before 2010...Another great outing in the series.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Harry Dresden is a wizard working as a private investigator in Chicago. As an innocent youngster he broke one of the most sacred cardinal rules of the White Council of Wizards and was going to be executed but he got taught right from wrong by a kind mentor who convinced the council to give him probation. Warden Chief Morgan has watched Harry for years waiting to pounce when the lad makes that inevitable mistake; they have tangled several times since and their animosity remains stratospheric.

Morgan comes to Harry¿s home looking ill and injured as the Wardens are after their former leader. The weary Morgan explains he was seen over the corpse of Aleron La Fortier holding the murder weapon. Additionally a bank account in his name was found containing millions; phone records show Morgan talking with someone inside the Vampire Red Court. The wizards knew that one of them was selling information to the enemy and that the wardens were investigating, but now all the evidence hangs Morgan. The unknown adversary sends a Skinwalker, a semi-divine god to start a war between the wizards and the White Court Vampires who feed on human essence. Harry knows Morgan is not the traitor so he sets up a scheme to uncover the betrayer and hopefully prevent hostilities.

This is a great Dresden tale as the hero has come a long way from his days as a rebel with a cause though he still defends the underdog with a passion. The story line is entertaining as Morgan turns to his detestable enemy Harry because of the reasons he loathes Dresden; the wizard¿s known rebellious nature to defend the downtrodden. Fans will relish this entry as Harry tries to out the real TURN COAT before a war of magic ignites Chicago and beyond while trying to keep an anxious Morgan from charging into the fight like a cow kicking over an oil lamp to Dresden plan and the city.

Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great story that I engoy to read. I like the concept of the magic, also.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago