×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tweak
     

Tweak

4.4 309
by Nic Sheff
 

See All Formats & Editions

Nic was drunk for the first time at age 11. He used pot, cocaine, Ecstasy, meth, and heroin and thought he would always be able to quit. A violent relapse convinced him otherwise. Nic tells the compelling true story of the road to recovery.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tweak 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 309 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed tweak. It was my first time reading a memoir based book and I thought it was very well written. Almost like you were right there by Nic sides experiencing everything he was experiencing. In was first was introduced to this in book in my Popular Literature class. I was drawn into, because it seemed like one of those books you had to read. One of those books that was juicy and just plain bad. I don¿t mean bad because of the way it was written but bad because it was about drugs and the party lifestyle. Come on what high school kid doesn¿t want to know about drugs and there influences. But when I started reading the book I realized there was more to it then just meth. It was about Nic recovery and his constant battle with crystal meth. How hard it was for him to live his life like a normal twenty one year old and how his past reflected upon his future. I mean how he grew up so fast and instead of confronting his problems he turned to drug abuse. I mean putting anything into his body that he could. It made me realize how hard it is to just stop using drugs and moving on. Like they say once you have tried the drug and experience the high it offers you will be craving for it for the rest of your life. Personally I really enjoyed this book and it opened my eyes to how bad it could be, if you chose drugs instead of a normal life. It was interesting reading this book because it was written uniquely and shared every aspect of Nic life. I really could not put the book down till I finish. Defiantly, one of those tear jerking books without the sappy love story behind it. There is a little bit of something for every type of reader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the novel ¿Tweak: Growing up on methamphetamines¿ the author, Nic Sheff, takes the reader on a journey through an addiction to crystal meth, heroin, cocaine and a number of many other substances. Throughout Nic¿s whole childhood and years as a young adult, Nic always felt he could quit whenever he felt he wanted too. Though after a violent relapse in California, Nic shortly realized that it wasn¿t the case, and that help was most defiantly needed. The message the reader is supposed get from this book is that drugs are extremely scary and dangerous. Any substance can ruin the relationship between family and friends, and Nic does a good job showing the reader just what can happen to a relationship. Some of the pros on the novel are that it can give all non- drug users a reason not to use, and it can scare a drug user and convince a person not to smoke, drink, or shoot up. Throughout the whole novel the reader is watching Nic try and beat the physical and mental depths of an addiction; an extremely heartbreaking thing to watch, scaring the reader with a mental picture that is quite difficult to imagine. The cons about ¿Tweak¿, is that after awhile it is no surprise that Nic has relapsed, or that Nic has lost yet another job. It is simply just a life story about Nic¿s addiction, meaning, whenever a new conflict comes up, there is no surprise on how it is resolved. This novel is very informational, and shows the reader just what life is like as a homeless, drug addict, and a struggling young adult trying desperately to get back on track. Also, if the book ¿Tweak¿ was appealing, try the Novel ¿Beautiful Boy¿, a novel about addiction through a parent¿s eye. Overall, out of five, ¿Tweak¿ deserves four and a half ¿hits¿.
JoniF More than 1 year ago
An incredible story of addiction, healing and relapse. Tweak is painfully graphic, taking the reader through the darkest back alleys of drug addiction. This book should raise awareness that addiction is a powerful disease, and that addicts who fight it are brave, brave souls.
Guest More than 1 year ago
if you read his dad's book, then you have to read this!! i truly enjoyed this it just filled in the peices perfectly to 'a beautiful boy'
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book really did change my life. I read it when i was a sophomore in high school and was starting down this path. Reading what i could turn into and what was in store for me really made me turn my life around. I reccomend this book to ANYONE, even my grandparents. He paints such a vivid picture that everyone should experience.
hollymarie1 More than 1 year ago
This book focuses on the life of Nic Sheff who has experimented with many drugs throughout his life and his road to recovery. He started abusing alcohol and smoking weed when he was just eleven years old. His use soon moved on to drugs like cocaine and ecstasy. Later in his life he becomes a heavy user of heroin and crystal meth. He has this thought in his head that his life is better when using and he can get clean to get more money for drugs whenever he wants. One summer he has his worst relapse ever and almost ends up dead. He gets to the point where even very large doses of meth mixed with heroin won't get him high anymore. One morning he wakes up sick, sweaty, shaking, and puking on the floor of his girlfriends parent's house. He calls up and old friend and seeks help. This time things are different and he managed to stay clean and follow through with his twelve step program and keep a job. Drug abuse is obviously a major theme in this book and Nic talks about all the bad experiences he had while on meth and heroin. His message is to show the world the truth about the life of a tweaker and also that it is possible to recover and start a better life although it is extremely hard. I think this is a great book to read if you're interested in learning about the life of a heavy drug user. He doesn't hold back on anything and is very blunt an honest about the things that happened to him and the horrible things he would do just to get high. He talks about everything from selling drugs himself to prostituting himself to other men in exchange for drugs. I love his style of writing -- slightly like a diary, easy to read, and very in depth and honest. There is not one part of the book that I didn't like. If you like this book then I would recommend Crank or any other book by Ellen Hopkins. Although Her books are fiction and Nic's story is non-fiction, they both write about similar topics and similar styles.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am completely serious when I say that. This book is so real and powerful and heartwrenching. I started crying when I was reading it. This book is so moving and good. I recommend it to everyon. Guys and Girls.
People need to be aware of how bad drugs are and how they affect your life negatively and perminately in most cases.

Read this!
It is worth every bit of your time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is incredible. I am a twenty year old recovering addict who always sees failure of sobriety. Finally someone leys it all make sense and how you can fight the disease. I want every addict to read this and understand that there is more to life than getting high
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had no idea what to expect from this book, but I never was able to put it down. Following Nic in his struggles and journeys was utterly fascinating and strengthening. I found myself addicted to Nic Sheff and his words.
Anwar Kharral More than 1 year ago
this book is mostly told in a conversational tone, but it is very well written and he gets the point across. i loved it. he has another book coming out sometime in april '11, We All Fall Down. i am looking forward to reading that a lot!
AndreaRedling More than 1 year ago
The book 'Tweak' takes you on Nic Sheff's journey through addiction, recovery, and relapses. Nic started doing drugs at a pretty young age which led him to his crystal meth addiction later on. By the end of the book Nick came to the realization that no matter what, his addiction would always be a struggle. He finally understands who he is and feels like he is a new person once he became clean again, hopefully for the last time. This book was full of his personal stories and was a hard book to put down. It was very engaging. It painted a vivid picture of addiction through the eyes of the addict. One thing I didn't like about the book was how it jumped around. It seemed like he told the story as he remembered it but not always in the order it occurred. Also the ending of the book seemed to be abrupt. He had such an impactful story, and it seemed he could have given more time to his final conclusion. I would recommend this book to 'young adults' because it gives you the image of what an addiction really looks like.There are several people who said the book helped them get through their addiction. Nick Sheff's dad wrote a book called 'Beautiful Boy' which is the story of his dad's journey through his son's addiction. I haven't read it but it has great reviews and is said to be a good book to read before reading 'Tweak'. Overall, I think this book was great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In this gut wrenching memoir Nick Sheff, a young confused boy tells with brutal honesty the very dark journey of his methamphetamine addiction. After drinking for the first time when he was a child, Nick knew there was something different about him. This story tells about the dramatic lengths Nick went to, to support this addiction and his almost impossible road to recovery. This is one of the better books I've read for many reasons one being the way Nick is a very relatable person. Nick grew up the way many of us do with divorced parents, but parents who really loved and cared for him. His constant need for approval from his family and friends show his lack of self esteem and how that was the main cause of his downfall. From prostitution, to stealing from his own younger siblings Nick tells about the harsh reality of being a drug addict. Nick gives a great insight to what it's like to be homeless and hopeless to the point where you have nowhere else to go but up. I believe this book could help anyone through a tough time drugs or no drugs.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. I thought he did a good job of detailing his life as a meth junkie. I also his dad's book after this one and it was interesting to see the different perspectives of the same events. His dad's book contains not only his struggle, but a lot of information about meth. I learned a lot and also felt an array of emotion. It is a good read.
TaylorTodd More than 1 year ago
Tweak is an extremely well written account on a drug addicts life. Nic Sheff takes you on a journey of his life and his drug addictions. Nic started off smoking pot in high school and that let to a much more serious addiction,crystal meth, heroin, cocaine and a number of many other substances. The book shows you things much more deeper than addiction such as depression, love, loyalty, and conquering your fears. From this book, what I took away was that no matter how bad your life may seem, drugs can never make it better, in fact it will only make it much worse. Perseverance was a very strong theme in this book as Nic sobered up, and had to help his recovered drug addict best friend, stay sober after his near death illness. I really enjoyed Nic succeed in staying sober, even if it was just for a little while. It showed me that anything is possible if you want it to be so. For anyone deciding whether to read this book or not, it's more than a drug story and contains an underlying love story as well. In my opinion this book should not be made into a movie, it was day to day action and very repetitive. The writing style was very casual, as it was written by the main character, trying to explain his twisted life. This writing was very informational as it showed a true drug addicts logic and reasoning, along with a detailed experience on what happens when someone is on drugs.
amak More than 1 year ago
Tweak, by Nic Sheff, is a memoir about the life from methamphetamine addiction to a sober life. Sheff’s writings about his lifestyle during using, to withdrawals, all the way to staying sober demonstrate the cultures of each different lifestyles. The memoir demonstrates these different experiences like ethnographies aim to portray. Even though ethnographies show customs and cultures in a scientific value, Tweak shows the separation of cultures of addicts to non addicts through Nic Sheff’s point of view and first handed experiences.  This book grabs the reader through the darkness of being addicted to meth with vivid and disturbing memories. Tweak takes place throughout a period of a year starting with one of Sheff’s biggest relapses. Nic brings us through days of being high, to girlfriends, keeping his habits, and his journey to sobriety. I won’t lie in saying that his druggie life is significantly more interesting to read than his sober life. I know that is not a great thing to say, knowing that this is a real story about Sheff, but it is more intriguing to read about the crazy sex he would have and the many daily problems he would encounter. Situations like when his girlfriend overdoses on heroine is fast pace and immerses the reader, “I feel her ribs and breastbone plate crack some under my weight as I push down. Her belly fills as I blow the air in. Her chest heaves.” His writing through the relapse is always fast paced and never beats around the bush. None the less when Nic starts writing about his sober days it is fascinating to watch him start to understand his soul and find himself. He constantly asks himself deep questions like, “Why do I always want to become this unfeeling monster, fueled by whatever chemicals I can find to put in my body?” that show how far his mind has matured through his battle. Tweak is fantastic memoir that shows the gruesome transition from addiction to living sober.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hard to believe some of this stuff, because most of us are thankfully never exposed to this sort of thing. It goes on everyday everywhere and is a real eye opener. There are members of my family and many other families who just won't believe their family could be touched by this sort of thing. Well reality is - most familes have a family member or know of someone with similar situation.-just hopefully not as drastic as this was. Anyone with any chemicsl dependency in their family, please, please, please go to Alanon. It is a family disease whether you believe it or not.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is truly inspiring listening to his story. He is such an amazing author and his books are truly addicting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Blackhawks88 More than 1 year ago
This book really is amazing. I read Tweak before I read his fathers book, Beautiful Boy. It provides so much insight into Nic's life and it is truly one of my favorite books. I could not put it down and I finished his book and Beautiful Boy very quickly. But then I did not want to be done reading it. I would recommend it to anyone over 15 years old. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so good. I got it like a year or two ago and it was so frikin real. I was like daaaaang thats cray but it was very fast paced and a lil cringe worthy andvraw. Finaly a reall friggin great book!
Kbennita24 More than 1 year ago
I bought this book on my nook after seeing the hardcopy in the store. It looked interesting and I had heard good reviews on it but it didn't turn out good at all. I felt it dragged on. I like drug abuse stories and this one just wasn't what I thought it would be. I don't recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cant wait to read the next!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tweak in my opinion was not only a book about a heroin addict but a book about way more than that. Nic went through a ton in his life and also lost a lot throughout these hard times for him. I would reccomend this book to anyone over the age of 17 and looking for a true story. This is an unbelievable true story about the author himself. It will definitely make you question the life you are living today for the better. From the lowest lows to the highest highs, Tweak really draws in the reader and makes you question what you would do in Nic's shoes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought Tweak, by Nic Sheff was different, but I really liked it. I've never read anything like it before and I wasn't expecting it to be so brutally honest. He doesn't sugar coat anything; exactly what happened to him is what he writes, and I really liked that. It really opened my eyes to what some peoples lives are like. There are so many things that I didn't know about addiction that I know now. It really describes the life of an addict and how messed up it can get. The things addicts will do to get high shocks me, and he talks all about that in this book. I thought it was definitely educational and just an awesome read. It reads super fast; there were several times when I couldn't put the book down, and I think that really shows how well the book is. It keeps you intrigued and you always want to know what's going to happen to him next. Throughout the book I found myself making connections with Nic and I found myself really wanting him to get help and get better on a personal level, and that's never happened to me in a book before. Overall, the book was well written and really pulls the reader in and allows for a really good connection between reader and Nic.