×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Twenty Boy Summer
  • Alternative view 1 of Twenty Boy Summer
  • Alternative view 2 of Twenty Boy Summer
     

Twenty Boy Summer

4.5 615
by Sarah Ockler
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Don't worry, Anna. I'll tell her, okay? Just let me think about the best way to do it."
"Okay."
"Promise me? Promise you won't say anything?"
"Don't worry." I laughed. "It's our secret, right?"

According to her best friend Frankie, twenty days in Zanzibar Bay is the perfect opportunity to have a summer fling, and if they meet

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Twenty Boy Summer 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 615 reviews.
pineapples11 More than 1 year ago
I read a lot of books and this is my favorite book I have ever read. I never re-read books no matter how good they were, but this one was just so amazing that I will definitely read it again soon. I gave it to a few friends to read and they loved it. Favorite book ever. Since I read this, nothing can compare. It is truly amazing. You should really read this.
MicheleLeesBookLove More than 1 year ago
I was given this book to review. Twenty Boy Summer, a YA novel about two girls struggling to come to terms with the death of their best friend, hits like a most beautifully wrapped ton of bricks. Frankie and Anna are best friends, journeying on a spectacular trip to California. Last year Frankie's older brother Matt spend a dazzling month secretly dating their best friend Anna before Matt died of an undiagnosed heart problem. The book starts out describing how lucky the girls were to have survived the accident (Matt was driving when his heart gave), then proceeds to reveal what a misnomer "survival" is. Even a year later Frankie's family is torn apart by their loss, and Anna, having sworn to keep her relationship with Matt a secret, is devastated at not being allowed to properly morn her own loss (or even understand what exactly she's lost). So the girls make a plan to meet twenty boys in their quest to lose their virginity and leave their heartache behind. But their search only triggers all the fears and emotions left behind, particularly as Anna is terrified that moving on will make what she had with Matt less special. Twenty Boy Summer is beautiful, heartbreaking and a raw read through and through. While there are very few surprises here, and the plot is all character and angst driven, it speaks, very strongly, to anyone who has lost someone they love and has gone through the mourning process. This is not a fluffy, light-hearted fictional read, or even a fiction tale with serious, dark undertones. Twenty Boy Summer bears a resemblance the nineties film My Girl and the Katherine Paterson book The Bridge to Terabithia, set after the landmark character deaths and in a teen setting. Soulful and beautiful it's a must, but difficult, read.
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this wonderful book. Very well written with good plot.
Jari_T More than 1 year ago
I can honestly say that twenty boy summer was one of the best books ive ever read. The story behind twenty boy summer was touching and anna's point of view made it all the better. I recommend this book to anybody who wants to read a book that is truly about dealing with grief, loss, friendship and finding yourself.
asamum More than 1 year ago
hearted girl, the type of friend everyone wishes they had. She falls in love with her best friends brother, Matt, the three of them have been friends all of their lives, neighbours and practically inseparable. On her birthday all her dreams come true when Matt kisses her. They meet in secret afraid of Frankie's reaction to the development of their relationship. Before they are able to tell Frankie, Matt tragically dies from an undetected heart defect, Anna is left to hold the pieces together and unable to tell Frankie that she was in love with her brother. The story unfolds directly into the action with some points of reminiscing by Anna to give the background details to the plot. In some respects Anna seems far more mature than her age would give her credit for. Anna takes on the role of holding people together has to hide the depth of her own loss. The emotions within the narrative were poignant and tangible. However, I did find myself comparing the story to The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson which also deals with loss, grief and first love. The main difference between the two books was the way in which people grieve was depicted. A good point to compare and contrast. The one thing I can honestly say I preferred in The Sky is Everywhere is how the issue of losing your virginity was dealt with, with emotion and the whole ideal of making it special. While in Twenty Boy Summer it is treated as an affliction to be cast off as soon as possible. I did sympathise with Anna as in her mind Matt was the one and that was taken away from her, anyone else would always be second best. The whole idea that she was afraid to move on as if it would be an act of betrayal to Matt was touching. The story was an emotional journey of self-discovery for Anna. The thing I liked most about Twenty Boy Summer was the way in which each persons grief was depicted. For Frankie she acts out, pretends to be a completely different person to the one she was when her brother was alive. She doesn't take anyone else's feelings into consideration and that annoyed me at times. For Matt & Frankie's parents, they shut themselves off completely, not talking about Matt or even allowing anyone into his room. They are so wrapped up in their own grief that they hand responsibility of Frankie over to Anna, who is obviously far too young to be put in that position. While Anna is hiding the depth of her emotions. The descriptions and imagery are fantastically sensory, you really feel as if you are on the beach with the waves lapping and the sand between your toes. The beach has always been one of my favourite places and never fails to make me feel at peace. So this aspect of the narrative really brought it to life for me. All aspects of the plot tie together beautifully in the end, offering a bitter-sweet resolution. A great book giving a different view of grief and loss. You may need tissues.
babycakes83 More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. I could not stop reading it from beginning to end. It was surprising and just an excellent book. It had me wondering what was going to happen next at all times. I could read this book over and over and still feel like I am reading it for the first time. I absolutely love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Twenty Boy Summer isn't my favorite boook , but I thought it was a really good book and I thought it was pretty sad in the beginning and I started to cry. This is book is really good if you want to read about a heart thrilling summer romance book with a little twist of shocking ! My opinion is that I wish Matt never died , I thought him and Anna would've really worked out .
book_nerd0606 More than 1 year ago
Anna has been in love with her best friend's brother for five years. Now it's her fifteenth birthday and they finally get to be a couple. But this relationship is short-lived when Matt dies in a car accident just a short month later. Now she's got a secret that Matt told her not to tell anybody, a journal that she writes all her secrets in, and a summer in Zanzibar Bay, California with her best friend. This Summer Frankie and Anna make a plan to meet up to 20 boys in California, but what they didn't expect was for Anna to fall in love with her boy #1 and find her thoughts of Matt slowly slipping away. This book kept me on the edge of my seat the whole book, trying to read faster and faster to finish the book. I just couldn't wait. This is BY FAR the absolute BESTTTTTTTTTTTT book i've ever read. Better than Twilight even ;) most definitely worth reading and i would recommend it to everyone that doesn't mind tearing up, major surprises, and finding what life is about. I literally almost cried a bunch of times in this book. READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
TheButler More than 1 year ago
The title and cover of the book make it look like another teenybopper romance, but it is a very emotional book that I think any age can read! The plot is well written and I always check for the authors next book just because this one was so amazing. If you cry easily there might be some tears, but you need a good cry every once in a while! It has friendship, romance, heartbreak of more than one kind, family, and angst and fluffy moments!
BHarvey More than 1 year ago
When this book came out I was shopping at the boulevard mall and she had signed the novel for me! I could not believe how quick I read the book and I could not put it down! Amazing writer and always had you intrigued to find out what was on the next page and what turn of events would pursue! I do currently have all of her books! Keep writing :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a book you will never get bored of. Its amazing. It keeps you entertained. I recommmend this book ages 13 and up. But im 11.. so idk lol.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this down! It really displayed Anna's confusion about whether or not she should pursue a boy she likes when she loved Matt so much; the author described it as "cheating on a ghost." Humor, romance, loss, forgiveness, and guilt are main themes throughout the book. I became connected to each character. I was laughing, crying, and smiling while reading. Two thumbs up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a great book, very interesting! The beginning and end were the best and most interesting parts of the book. The middle was very good, but some parts got a little bit boring, but overall very good! You can even feel the exact same emotions the character is feeling!!! I highly recommend it!
BooksObsession More than 1 year ago
This novel is the perfect summer read! Not only is it cute and fun, but also it's deep and meaningful. It's such a realistic and detailed story of loss and breakthrough. This book was so hard to put down, and I was begging for more even after the last page. I could understand each character perfectly and relate to them easily. It was interesting seeing how Anna and Frankie changed throughout the story - especially from the car crash. Sarah Ockler has amazed me with this story and I can't wait to read what she comes up with next! I absolutely love this cover, too. It's so beachy and symbolic and ties in with the novel greatly. Just looking at this book makes me want to pick it up and see what adventures are inside. A must-read for all ages!
RoundtableReviews More than 1 year ago
Every now and then a book comes along that truly touches the heart. 20 BOY SUMMER is that book! I picked it up. By the end of the third chapter, my face was covered in tears and my throat had a lump the size of a grapefruit stuck in it. Yet, I felt compelled to keep reading. I needed to know that Anna would be okay. Neighbors and best friends, Anna, Francesca (aka Frankie) and Frankie's older brother Matt have been involved in each others lives from the day they were born. At her fifteenth birthday party, the one thing Anna wants most happens. Her family celebrates with their neighbors just like every year, but this is the year Matt kisses her. Soon, Anna and Matt are becoming an item, but he wants to be the one to tell Frankie. Neither of them are sure how Frankie will react. Until she's told, Anna and Matt share stolen kisses, midnight rendezvous and fleeting touches. And then, everything is ripped apart. On the way home from ice cream, Matt, Anna and Frankie are in a car accident. An undiagnosed hole in Matt's heart lets go. Matt is dead and Anna and Frankie are left to piece together their lives. One year passes and Frankie's family opts to take Anna on their yearly trip to California's coast. Though she's still mourning Matt, Anna agrees to join Frankie on a mission. During their vacation, they will hook up with 20 different guys and see where these romances take them. So summing this up--20 BOY SUMMER is compelling, emotional and one of the best teen girl romances-of-sorts I think I've ever read. It is a romance, but so much more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book my junior year of high school (i graduated in 2012). This book has been stuck in my head and stored into tha library part of my brain that reads 'good reads'. I reccommend this to teens. It's realistic and not full of alotta fake fairy tale love crap. It has real emotion, real loss. Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is honestly the best book I have ever read. And I read a lot of books! I love Sarah Dessen and this book looked like it would be kind of like what she writes but it is a thousand times better! I got all my friends to read it and they all love it too. I could read it over and over again and not get tired of it. If you are considering buying this do not hesitate!!!! You wont regret it! I would give it more stars if I could.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Best Book EVER
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was desperate for a new book, my friend recommended this book to me. I read the whole book in about three days. Yeah sure, it had its good points. Sure, it was written well. But the same point the book is written around is repeated over and over. I can say I did not thoroughly enjoy this book. If you don't mind reading the same paragraph over and over every other page. Then by all means, jump right in.
EllenRozek More than 1 year ago
TWENTY BOY SUMMER is one of those books I'm surprised I haven't read until now. It's a beach read with an initially light-hearted premise--two best friends strive to meet twenty different boys on vacation, in search of a summer romance--with a lot of somber undertones. Anna and Frankie and Frankie's brother Matt were best friends growing up, but their relationship has changed because of a short-lived romance that Anna had with Matt right before his unexpected death. Because they never had the chance to reveal their relationship of sorts to Frankie, Anna is stuck with a secret that she doesn't want to keep but doesn't know how to reveal. Sarah Ockler is kind of an expert at writing relationships in the wake of tragedy, and Anna's tentative feelings for a boy who she finds herself falling for are deftly and beautifully handled. All the right emotional beats are present and subtle, making it easy to understand Anna's conflicting desires to preserve her memories of Matt and move on with her life. However, the most painful parts of the story for me centered around Anna and Frankie's friendship. The girls are closer than sisters in a lot of ways, but there's a lot of unresolved hurt between them too. And when things erupt, as you know they will, you find yourself wondering whether their friendship is worth repairing. Or at least I did. This is a quintessential summer book, and the descriptions of the tourist town and the ocean and the beautiful beach houses stacked up against its shores is bound to ring true. I'm so glad I finally got around to reading this, but more than that, I'm glad I chose to read it in summer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kiss you hand three times and post this on three other books. If you do you will get a free ipad
NikGodwin More than 1 year ago
Twenty Boy Summer holds a very special place in my heart. I saw this book in Books-A-Million when it first hit the shelves. I love this cover. It's one of my favorite covers of all time. I picked it up each time I was in a bookstore. I read the summary (which is super short and doesn't even come close to describing how deep this book is). I hesitated with Sarah being a debut at the time. What if I hated it? What if it wasted my time? I'm a terribly picky reader. Then one day, it was on sale in a buy 2 get one free, so I got it, after my sister all but cursed me out to "just buy the damn thing already!" I read it in one night. I cried through the first 100 pages. I laughed through the next 100. Then I laughed and cried through the past part. I LOVE THIS BOOK. It does have a romantic element, but it's more of a subplot. The real struggle/conflict in this book is the one Anna has with herself, dealing with Matt's death, keeping secrets from Frankie, and trying to learn how to let go and move on without forgetting/losing what she had with Matt. It's absolutely beautiful. And Sarah's writing... OMG. Her descriptions are SO vivid. I felt like I'd spent the day on the beach instead of cold Mississippi autumn weather. The writer in me will forever envy this book because it's everything I'd want as a reader and everything I expect of myself as a writer. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone...forever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is an amazing read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a really great read. If you have read any of the "Summer I turned Pretty" books or any other Sarah Ockler books and loved them, you will love this book. I read this book right after I finished "The Summer I turned Pretty" series, and the two both worked quite well together. I read it in maybe a day or two, and I was kept at suspense as to what happens next, and the book isn't too predictable. But, this book can be a little inappropriate. (I'd recommend it for 12/13+)  Anyways, this is definitely a summer must read.