×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Twilight of the Elites: America after Meritocracy
     

Twilight of the Elites: America after Meritocracy

4.2 32
by Christopher Hayes
 

See All Formats & Editions

  Over the past decade, Americans watched in bafflement and rage as one institution after anotherfrom Wall Street to Congress, the Catholic Church to Major League Baseballimploded under the weight of corruption and incompetence. In the wake of the Fail Decade, the social contract between ordinary citizens and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Twilight of the Elites: America After Meritocracy 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Patrick58 More than 1 year ago
Hayes has written a brilliant book. He articulates our class concept of meritocracy better than any author I've read. In short, we THINK we are living under a social contract where no matter what our ethnicity, race or gender, if we work hard and do the right things, we'll advance. Right? Hayes points out how this is not true to nearly the extent it was, say, a couple of decades ago. It seems those at the top have pulled many of the ladders up after them. If you wonder why you're working so hard, and nothing ever seems to materialize from it, then this book might answer a few questions. Many authors who deconstruct what is wrong with our society in various ways are not so great at telling us how the problems they advance can be solved, or at least mitigated. Not so Hayes. His last chapter is a pretty sensible call to action from the very middle class that has been increasingly disinfranchised by a meritocracy gone awry.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is THE wide scope, big picture conversation we must have in this country at this time!
warren96 More than 1 year ago
Chris Hayes is very smart and also does a great job of analysis. If you think you know what is going on around you, you might be mistaken. Things are not as they seem. Little people are losing and will continue to lose unless something changes radically. Very upsetting for those of us who like to seem some fairness in our institutions.
kabussey More than 1 year ago
Chris Hayes does a wonderful job articulating the ails of our now meritocratic society and what that means for each and every American. I feel that is book was honest, straightforward, and very informative. Anyone with a serious interest in understanding why the elites and decision makers in America behaved the way that they have in the past decade should read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A stunningly frank look at America and how "we the people" have accepted the fact that the elite somehow DESERVE to be above the law, have more political influence, and more control over our lives than we do our selves. A book that transcends partisanship and should be read by everyone.
frappe More than 1 year ago
If what you want is a deeper understanding of the political dynamics that are shaping American political experience that goes far beyond the usual superficial treatment given by the mainstream media, then look no further.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book made me upset about the state of affairs these days. I mean that in a good way Mr. Hayes.
RayBenson More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Chris's book and it was very interesting although maybe a bit above me in manyof the words being used as he is sp much more highly educated than am I. Having said that some of it was a bit rough to wade through but was very good and had may good points in it.. Way to go Chris
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A "must read" for anyone who is truly concerned about our government, our society and our world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chris Hayes has done an excellent job of explaining his premise. His book is educational and informative while still managing to be interesting and entertaining.
TomGTG More than 1 year ago
how the "do-right" Christians, extreme right, and moneyed elitist members of out society have rigged most everything economical and political. For his age I think Christopher Hayes has insight beyond his years. Especially evident as his research and personal experiences are spilled on his telling and educating pages. I seriously doubt he left any or very few stones unturned. I really enjoyed reading the book.
Lufbra More than 1 year ago
Christopher Hayes tackles a big subject and does it with concise precision and a love of the English language unmatched by his fellow cable news blow-hards. Wall Street, the catholic church and even MLB all get a thorough analytic eye to prove the overall theme that meritocracy doesn't work. Hayes present each chapter/segment as he does his cable news program choosing a seemingly obscure human story before bring it all together later in the chapter to support his point. This can get tiring but with Hayes masterful ise of language and strong eye for detail the reader can help but listen to his ideas and maybe even learn something. Hayes speaks in a voice that needs to be heard despite the readers point-of-view and he present his arguments well. Looking forward to his next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
carterj98 More than 1 year ago
Essential reading for anyone who wants to know why we all distrust Congress, Obama, or any of the pundits. It's time for "insurrection."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book this summer. Lots of great detail about our society and what a mess we are in. Chris has thoroughly researched this topic and knows the subject well. If you watch Chris on MSNBC you already know what a thoughtful thinker he is with a sense of humor. This book is a must read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A brilliant book by Chris Hayes. The only thing better might be hearing him read chapters on UP to the viewing audience then having his panel discuss afterwards.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago