×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Two-Minute Drill (Comeback Kids Series)
     

Two-Minute Drill (Comeback Kids Series)

4.2 56
by Mike Lupica
 

See All Formats & Editions

#1 New York Times bestseller Mike Lupica pays tribute to the underdog in his Comeback Kids series for young middle-grade readers

Chris Conlan is the coolest kid in sixth grade–the golden-armed quarterback of the football team, and the boy all the others look up to. Scott Parry is the new kid, the boy with the huge brain, but with feet that

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Two-Minute Drill (Comeback Kids Series) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 58 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this with my nine year old son, and we both really enjoyed it. It is a great story not just about football, but about friendship, as well. The two boys each use their talents to help the other succeed. Fun story and great ending!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an awesome book to read. It has a great message about the meaning of friendship. I connected with Chris Conlans character who has dyslexia because every student struggles in school sometimes. I thought it was great that even though Scott got injured playing football. He stuck stuck with it because of his 'cool' friend Chris. It ended up paying off BIG! I would recommend this book for kids my age.
Bulldogs21 More than 1 year ago
Have you ever been the new kid? Have you ever felt like you are unliked? Scott Parry is the new kid at the school and no one really knows or likes him yet, that's about to change! One day he is at the bus stop when the bully; Jimmy Dolan, comes to pick on Scott. Scott always carries around a picture of his dog. So Jimmy steals the picture from Scott, which upsets him very much. Then, Chris one of the "cool" football players comes to stick up for Scott. He tells Jimmy to give back the picture, and so he does. That is how Chris and Scott become friends. Ever since, they started to hang out and play football together with their dogs in Scott's, backyard. Scott is a very good kicker but he has never tried out for the football team. Scott practices every day on kicking the ball. He even has field goal posts in his backyard. Scott and Chris play in his backyard. Chris found out that Scott is a very good kicker and Chris told Scott to join the team and he decided that he would. But Scott is really bad at playing every position in football besides kicker, and he knows that. He was very ashamed at the end of the first practice because he was not good at anything. But he decided to stay on the team throughout the season even though he was beat down every practice and didn't play in any of his games. Then, during the middle of the season, Chris decided to tell Scott his biggest secret. "Now all you've gotta do is tell me what the problem is," Scott said. "Reading or being on the team?" "Both" Then he tried to explain to Scott about dyslexia. And how it could drag him down from behind better than any tackler in football. But, Scott is very smart and they are best friends. So Scott decides to help Chris in school. They started to study daily so that Chris can stay in football. Scott does a very good job as a tutor gets Chris to start getting good grades and is able to stay in football. When their team is in the game before the championship, they are practicing and Scott gets tackled and breaks his wrist. They all knew that he would be out for the championship game. But on the day of the big game; Chris comes over and tells Scott to get ready to go to the game. Scott was very hurt but he decided to go to the game because he knew that he wouldn't play at all anyway. He was right. He sat on the sidelines the whole game. But then it was down to the last seconds of the game and they were losing. They were going to just throw it to the end zone and hope for a touchdown. But Chris came over to the sideline and told Coach Dolan how Scott is a very good kicker, and to put him in to dropkick it for the win. Coach Dolan listens to Chris and decides to put in Chris to try to win the game for his team. But Scott was very nervous that he wasn't going to make it. But he still walked on the field hoping he will make it and win the game. But you will have to read the book to find out the final ending to the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Comeback Kids By Mike Lupica One of my main characters is Scott Parry, the brainiest person in his school. He is eleven years old. His nickname is the brain. He is a great kicker in football, but everything else like hands and throwing power isn't that good. He is also very clumsy and trips over himself. My other main character is Chris, the best football player in the small town. He is eleven years old too. He is the best QB and can throw at least 30-40 yards. He can't though kick as well as Scott. There's just one problem. He can't read!!!!!! My plot is the brain (Scott) doesn't have a friend. He meets Chris and they hang around. Then Chris finds out Scott's secret. Chris tells Scott to join the football team and he does. Then later in the year something happens to Scott. Then two unexpecting events happen. If you want to know, read the book. The setting of my story is at school, Chris's and Scott's house, and two football fields. It's in the present day. The theme of my story is if you have a talent, then use it. Also if you wait long enough, you'll get your staring moment. Like the movie Rudy. I loved this book!!! It always kept me on my toes wanting to know what's going to happen next. I also love football so all you football fans, you should read this book. I can connect to this book because I have played football just like Scott and Chris and I am good at it just like Chris. I can't kick or throw but I can hit and run and catch. Some other great books are Summer Ball and Travel Team. Other books that sound good are Heat and Million Dollar Throw. They are all by Mike Lupica.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Scott Parry, the new kid, is the clumsiest and smartest boy or girl in the sixth grade. Something not so surprising is that he has no friends, but the surprising thing is that he joins the football team! No one knows why he did it, he can't run, throw, catch, block, or tackle. He has one skill, though, that just might have an impact on the most important game of the season! I was caught on like a fish on a hook from the very first page, and would rate it 5 stars. I felt the descriptions for the characters and their expressions were great. This book is awesome, so read it!
Rachel Landowski More than 1 year ago
One of the best books i have read in my life and i m pretty picky about my books
Guest More than 1 year ago
One will cheer after reading the short, but heartstring pulling, 'Comeback Kids -Two-Minute Drill' by Mike Lupica. With a high recommendations from Heisman Trophy winner, NFL and CFL quarterback and ESPN commentator, Doug Flutie(who makes an appearance in the fictional story), 'Two-Minute Drill' provides a simple life lesson that even the non athlete will comprehend.Centering around the character of young Scott Parry, 'Two-Minute Drill' takes the reader on a journey of the class 'brain' who lacks a lot of confidence in himself as an athlete, the development of his friendship with star athlete, Chris Conlan, and an overpowering secret that both boys share only with each other-until the dramatic moment of change. Ironically, both boys have some tremendous odds to beat to overcome their individual inadequacies. Sitting down on the couch, I found myself full of a variety of emotions with each turn of the page. Without revealing much, I will say in the end, Scott and Chris validate what psychologist William James once said, 'It is our belief in ourselves and actions that will ensure the successful outcome of our venture.'
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Two minute Drill is a book about these two boys Scott and Chris who both have something they can’t do and it isn’t easy, Chris has dyslexia. Nobody knew Chris had dyslexia. Chris is also the quarter back of the Eagles (school mascot). Scott is the brainy kid in the class, this kid Jimmy Dolan calls Scott the “brain.” Scott wants to know how to play football. So Scott helps Chris with school and Chris with football. I think Two Minute Drill is an amazing book for football fans. Mike Lupica did an astounding job writing this book, this shows that you can never be good at something if you don’t try.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldnt stop dreeming about football the night i finished it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Super awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BEST BOOK EVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My dad ( cam newton ) loves this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good book. I loved the ending. I live in new england and i am a HUGE pats fan, so, i love last minute victories with feild goals. It was a little short but i loved it. Go mike lupica!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best book I ever read in my whole live.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a good book for kids who play adports because it has a good message for people that play sports u must read this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why does nobody read these books it's crazy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago