×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tyrell
  • Alternative view 1 of Tyrell
  • Alternative view 2 of Tyrell
     

Tyrell

4.7 70
by Coe Booth
 

See All Formats & Editions


An astonishing new voice in teen literature, writing what is sure to be one of the most talked-about debuts of the year.

Tyrell is a young African-American teen who can't get a break. He's living (for now) with his spaced-out mother and little brother in a homeless shelter. His father's in jail. His girlfriend supports him, but he doesn't feel good enough for

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tyrell 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 70 reviews.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Coe Booth's first novel, TYRELL, is a masterfully written, gritty reality check of urban life through the eyes of a heavily burdened fifteen-year-old. After his father is sentenced to prison (for the third time), it is up to Tyrell Green to take care of both his deranged mother and his seven-year-old brother, Troy. But Tyrell is only fifteen! Not only is he living in a completely run-down shelter, but he is broke, out of school, and struggling for some way to earn money to get his mom and brother out of shelter care and into an apartment of their own.

In a place like the Bronx, it is easy for young adults to get caught up in a life of crime. Tyrell knows this, but is also a man of principle (for the most part, at least). Refusing to earn his quick buck through such shady sources as drug dealing, he originates a plan to get the money he needs to get things back to the way they were. The question of whether it will work, or whether it will blow up in his face....you'll have to read TYRELL to find out (but it's worth it!)

The great thing about TYRELL is that Coe Booth keeps the pressure on at all times. Real life drama is quilted into the novel until the very end, and it is both humbling and very entertaining to read. She also incorporates real urban vernacular (e.g. "slang") to create an extremely real and convincing narrative.

Coe Booth creates an atmosphere so believable it's impossible not to walk away after reading the novel and not have taken something with you. The characters experience the lowest of lows, the highest of highs, and everything in-between throughout the course of the story--and it doesn't stop until the very end. Dripping from head to toe with sharp turns and very surprising climaxes, it's sure to keep you consumed until the last page.

It's a lot to pack into a story, but Booth does it gracefully and with extraordinary skill. I praise Ms. Booth's first novel and am waiting anxiously for the next.

Plus, she's a PUSH novelist, and it doesn't get much better than PUSH!
Shundra Bell More than 1 year ago
I read this book at my middle school with my reading teacher and i loved it it was so wonderful great story i want to read more stories from this author people you should get this book you would love it to although it is sad it is a good read and a page turner for me
Dessyjo More than 1 year ago
This+was+an+extremely+good+book..+i+ened+up+talking+like+him+for+a+week+after+i+read+it+but+it+was+worth+it+lol.+His+other+book+kendra+is+just+as+good+if+not+better.+I+reccomend+both%21
Pooney216 More than 1 year ago
Tyrell by Coe Booth is a very sad, and awesome book. IT is a very good book. I would recommend it to a friend and i would also recommend it to young adults and other teenagers like me as well and kids like twelve or eleven years old i would recommend it to. Tyrell talks about how tyrell has to become the man of the house. His mother and his little brother has to live in the shelter. IN the book, it seems like everybody is putting pressure on tyrell ,especially his own mother because his father is locked up. so I love the book i fell in love with it when i first read the first chapter and it is also very interesting. BUT the only bad thing is that the book has very short chapters. but i still recommend it to other people who would love to read the book... S SO PICK UP THE BOOK PEOPLE!! it is worth your money people!! if you fall in love with the book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i really loved the book it really felt like i was in it and it got drama in it that some kids are dealing with right now. and how tyrell and jasmine is together wow if that was me it would have be realllllllllllllllllly hard for me to sleep with tyrell it feels like i already seen/know him all ready in real life. But anywayz the book was really good and i hope it has a part 2 in the book and i will share it out to everyone i know including in my teachers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I LOVED this book! i am 15 and i really dont like to read, unless i have to...but i went to a local library were i live and i saw 'Tyrell' on the shelf...once i opened it i could not put it down! I finished that book in 1 1/2 days! I am really looking forward to reading more of Coe Booths book. I really enjoyed the book very much!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I recommend this book to anyone who likes to read about real life drama. It was a really really really good book. I found myself rooting for Tyrell all the way through.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is my fav amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so good that i hope he make a part three i read part one and two for thoes who dont know the name of part two it is call bronxwood are you can just go to related titles and press more by this arthour and then look for bronx wood i wish he will make a part three already!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Relly liked it eveyone should read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I must say that this is the best book that I have ever read! Trust me when i say that I have over 900 books. This book does give you hope and it is funny. But overall this book is worth the money and then some, Devotion143
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I ? This Book . It's Just A Real African American Getting Around Like We Do . That's Why You Can Feel It .It's A Great Book So Far AnyMore Like It ?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it coe booth is an excellent author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story, however if u wish to have your child read this book, i recomend that they be over the age of 13. I read it when I was in 6th grade, and it didn't really bother me at all. I grew up around drug dealing and foul language, so I was really able to relate to the story (even though i'm from Inglewood).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best book cause you can picture it and its like real life and things people would do!!!!!!!! Love it!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is such a great book. I'm a kid myself and this is so relatable,and real. It keeps you wanting more and more. Its also a rude awaking because this happens to kids all across america, its made me way waymore aware
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You have to read this book its awsome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TYRELL is an amazing book. This is my first time reading a book on a boys perspective of the world, life, girls, and his feelings. The cute things his little brother said made me smile, and the stuff Tyrell thought to himself made me laugh! In the book you got to fight through the sad parts, and just laugh at the funny parts. My favorite part of the book was Jasmine & Tyrell. From the start I had a funny feeling bout Novisha. I just did not like that girl. So me and my friends would always say "TEAM JASMINE" or "Team Novisha" lol talking about wich girl was better for him. But this wasa goodI recomend to anyone who loves drama, and likes to laugh!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I read the book cover to cover, I wished that it would never end. I loved it SO much. I wish that I could know what happened to Troy and his mother though.