×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Under the Boardwalk (Costas Sisters Series #1)
     

Under the Boardwalk (Costas Sisters Series #1)

3.7 25
by Carly Phillips
 

See All Formats & Editions

riana Costas may be a college professor in Vermont, but she's still a Jersey girl at heart-at least according to her lovable, eccentric Greek family. Then her twin sister, Zoe disappears an dher Jersey roots tug hard. Soon Ari is back home, ducking bullets and, to her chagrin, getting rescued by a hunk in a black leather jacket. Detective Quinn Donovan takes one

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Under the Boardwalk 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BookChick79 More than 1 year ago
I have read The Bachelor series and they were OK but I was hoping that this was better because of the mystery behind the story. The characters, especially the main two, were really interesting and Ari's family was an interesting group. However, there were two characters who I didn't understand - their story line was cute but I didn't understand their point in the story. It seemed really out of place. I thought the mystery part of the story was interesting at the beginning but I thought the ending to that part was weak. It was a fast read but I was glad when it was over.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I hate reading and this is the first book other than school related i've actually finished. Ariana and Quinn have quite the love relationship. It is a fast paced novel about sisters who were apart for so long and one disappears and they realize how much they mean to eachother. Carly Pillips is a great author and I can't wait to read another one of her books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It wasn't bad but I never got completely sucked in. I would have like the story to be more focused on the main characters. There were so many other side stories going on I felt like I was backtracking. I do have to say though that the moments that included Spank the Monkey had me laughing out loud and made the book worth the read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I started reading Carly Phillips with 'The Bachelor'. Those books were a fun read and I have enjoyed her books since. 'Under the Boardwalk' did not strike a cord with me. It was slow moving with little plot development. This book was 300 pages long when it could have been told in 100 pages and it would have been more interesting. It felt like it started as a novella and someone decided it should be a book, so they went back in and put fillers to make it longer. I didn't feel the click between Quinn and Ari. The hang ups that Ari had were ridiculous for a psychology professor, especially for an almost 30 year old. Talk about 'physician, heal thy self.' Sam at 13 is more mature and understands more. And I still haven't figured out why Conner and Maria were in there and got their own sections. The funniest parts dealt with Spank and that isn't saying much. This book was a mix of My Big Fat Greek Wedding (without the comedy) and Meet the Parent/Fockers (without the comedy). Sprinkle in Friends moments and some junior detective work that doesn't lead anywhere and you have a recipe for disaster. Save your money for a different book. I gave this book two stars because I was able to get through it eventually even though it was painful. This books had an abundance of potential but still managed to fall short.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Carly Phillips does it again! This book was very funny, suspenseful, and quick-paced. A great page-turner!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book u just want to keep on reading . so great!!!!!!!!!! great for reading in bed with a cup of tea. (for real)
Guest More than 1 year ago
Phillips does a great job of keeping her charachters fresh and different. Ariana and Quinn immediately get you hooked with their sex appeal. The Costas family keep you wondering what trouble they'll get into next. All in all, 'Under the Boardwalk' Fun and Sexy a great summer read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When Ariana Costas returns to her family in New Jersey from a five year absence, little does she expect to be involved in murder, mayhem, and romance. Ari's taken a leave of absence from her teaching job in Vermont hoping she'll find out what's happened to her missing twin, Zoe. Ari has never felt connected to her wildly wacky family, but coming home at this point in time leads to some eye-opening revelations. In a case of mistaken identity, Ari is shot at and then rescued by hunky detective Quinn Donovan. It doesn't take long for Ari and Quinn to become romantically involved, but each is a constant thorn in the other's side. Ari has difficulty letting go of some of her hang-ups, while Quinn has secrets that may be the key to Zoe's mysterious disappearance. Ari's amateur detective skills and Quinn's protective instincts are a constant conflict between the two. Hopefully, they can stay alive while trying to stay out of the bedroom! xxxxxxxx UNDER THE BOARDWALK is filled with delightful characters, a fast-paced and intriguing storyline, and edge-of-your-seat suspense. New York Times bestselling author Carly Phillips is a master at her craft, engaging the reader's emotions from first page to last. xxxxxxxx I highly recommend UNDER THE BOARDWALK as one of Ms. Phillips best books to date, and personally can't wait to read Zoe's story!
Guest More than 1 year ago
When Vermont based psychology college professor Ariana Costas learns that her twin Zoe is missing and probably dead, she takes a leave of absence and returns to her family home in Ocean Isle, New Jersey. She does not believe Zoe is dead because she has a certain affinity for her sister though they have been estranged for five years since Ariana fled her family of con artists............................................ Quinn Donovan is stunned to see Zoe¿s sister walking on the beach as Zoe promised that Ariana would never come home. Someone fires a shot at Ariana, but Quinn reacts and knocks her down. After he reluctantly gets off her, they talk. He tells her he worked with her mother and her sister at Damon¿s Casino, but hides his instant attraction to her and that Special Agent Zoe is safe. Ariana informs him she will stay until Zoe comes home. Quinn worries she will destroy his undercover work at the casino trying to prove illegal happenings. As Ariana and Quinn fall in love, he breaks the rules of undercover work for her while worrying about her safety and their future together................................. This exciting police procedural romance works on several levels but readers will especially feel the attraction between the two lead protagonists as well as that of a secondary couple. The vast cast adds depth as Ariana learns what family means through the reactions of a street teen to her likable con artist kin though her constant insistence that she does not belong amongst loved ones becomes irritating. Romantic suspense readers will take immense pleasure with this fine suspense laden tale starring a lovable You Can¿t take It With You cast......................... Harriet Klausner
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read a few of her books and won't be reading any more.....I tried. After reading reviews by other readers, I keep thinking optimistically, but I can't seem to ever relate to her characters. Her stories would make great short stories but seem to drag on and on with no real content.