×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions
  • Alternative view 1 of Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions
  • Alternative view 2 of Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions
     

Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions

4.3 69
by Lysa TerKeurst
 

See All Formats & Editions

God gave us emotions to experience life, not destroy it! Lysa TerKeurst admits that she, like most women, has had experiences where others bump into her happy and she comes emotionally unglued. We stuff, we explode, or we react somewhere in between. What do we do with these raw emotions? Is it really possible to make emotions work for us instead of against us? Yes,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. Terkeurst is a best-selling author who wrote this Christian self-help book without making it seem like an overtly self-help guide. She is the first to admit her flaws, chief among them is an occasional inability to filter the words that come out of her mouth. We all say things at times, in the heat of anger or frustration, that we later regret. Terkeurst tells many stories, some embarrassing, some painfully raw, that depict how she used her faith to help her keep her emotions in check and make the right choices. It gives simple steps to help improve our lives. I really enjoy reading books where the author reveals his or her faults and insecurities. I find it especially refreshing when the author incorporates his or her faith in the steps of improving our lives. For this reason, if you enjoy Terkeurst's book, I suggest you try Anthony Youn's engaging "In Stitches." It is the enormously entertaining, funny, and touching story of a young man who struggled through many insecurities to find his true self, his love, and even God. I highly recommend it.
JamieBMe More than 1 year ago
It's helpful to have someone who is able to write on a subject that is applicable to us all with simple steps to move forward and walk in confidence and faith. Lysa is such a talented writer, I've really enjoyed reading her books and cannot wait to get my hands on this one!
KeikiHendrix More than 1 year ago
Why did I choose this book? Because I needed some wisdom about surviving a chaotic life. And, I wasn't disappointed. In Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions by Lysa Terkeurst, you'll read the authors personal time of coming 'unglued' as well as stories she witnessed. She takes these chaotic times, pulls wisdom from the Bible and offers sound advice on trusting God. Lysa Terkeurst writes to her reader in a genuine, conversational style. You will connect with her immediately and discover that we are all imperfect. It's very easy to connect with the struggles she mentions, very easy to identify that we all come unglued from time to time. The personal experiences and events were some of the most enjoyable parts of the book. Stories range from funny to heartbreaking and everything in between. If you are looking for some sound, biblical advice on dealing with a chaotic time and doing some self examination as a means to manage them, you'll enjoy this book. Use it as your next small group study. It's a great resource for women with hectic lives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little disappointed that it was only 155 pages, when the actual book is 192 pages. That's a lot pages missing. Why is this ??? I purchased this one on here so that I'd have a choice to take my Nook to Bible study or the actual book. Glad that I have the book with all the pages, cause will have to use it since the ebook is not complete. Otherwise, I love Lysa's books and would recommend them to everyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My bible study group is going through this book right now, and while we haven't finished it yet, I can already say it is a great read. Lysa shares real life experiences that make it feel like you're sitting with a girlfriend, but she also shares biblical truths that open your eyes to the importance.....and possibility.....of controlling emotions when everything around you may be chaotic and stressful. I have enjoyed it very much and would recooment this book to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well worth getting. Be ready to mark all the helpful pithy truths. The author doesn't hesitate to use the funny and not so pretty stories from her life to illustrate the times when she has stuffed her emotions as well as when she has let them explode. Her methods of dealing with them are practical and Biblical.
kali75 More than 1 year ago
I am not a self-help reader in general but her humor and frank self assessment was a breath of fresh air. I feel I can work on my imperfect self with the guidance of this book :)
Navymom55 More than 1 year ago
Lysa is honest. She lays her junk out there for the world to see. I enjoy her writing style because it helps you see that you are not alone in the things that are happening in your head and in your world. Our Christian community needs to lay down those glued on smiles and everything is grand exteriors so we can be real people helping and supporting other real people. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As we all live these crazy busy lives, we so often find ourselves 'reacting' to lifes crazy moments rather than taking a moment to process what just happened and why. That and so many of us do not have good christian friends to help us get through life. I thank the author for her candid portrayal of life and for sharing some of the experiences we all have.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a definite read for me, feeling often the way she states she felt! I have definitely already started putting her suggestions to practice!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must buy if your looking to truly work on your emotions and dive deep into spiritual truths related to it. I do both this book and the companion devotional. There's times they repeat themselves but I have no regret buying them both because the concepts are so big and I am fully committed to changing I don't mind rereading it to make sure I'm really learning to the level of daily application.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent read for any mom! Thank you for being real with where you are at great practical applications.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always, Lysa shows you that you are not alone in your struggles and presents a light hearted but powerful tool to help you grow both personally and spiritually. An awesome tool to aid in my "imperfect progress."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Flying through this book. Very easy to read. I have already noticed a difference with my reactions.
gbautista72 More than 1 year ago
This is my 2nd time reading Unglued. I needed the reminders & refreshers. How you react, how you act, what you say - these are all choices. You can come UNGLUED or you can turn to GOD for help & guidance. He will see you through those stormy moments if you choose Him & allow Him to help you. God gave us emotions & feelings to experience life, not destroy it! Seek Him for help. He'll give it generously & without reproach!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book helped me out so much with the way I viewed things and how I reacted to situations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
brewerja More than 1 year ago
Tough because of what happened in the book but a great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Do you ever wonder if anyone is experiencing the same things you do, feeling the same emotions, and trying to "keep all the balls in the air at the same time"? If so, this book is for you. It is well written and you have an almost instant identity with the author. She shares some common circumstances of women and "glue" to encourage progress dealing with them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago