×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Unleashed (Sydney Rye Series #1)
     

Unleashed (Sydney Rye Series #1)

3.7 115
by Emily Kimelman
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Emily Kimelman is witty and insightful,
and writes with a wisdom, care, and diligence beyond her years."

-Mark Bowden, best selling author of "Black Hawk Down"

The Sydney Rye series of vigilante mysteries feature a strong female lead and her rescue dog, Blue. It is recommended for the 18+ who enjoy some violence, don't mind dirty language, and are up for a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Unleashed (Sydney Rye Book One) 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 115 reviews.
booklady6 More than 1 year ago
Loved the beginning of the book when Joy adopts Blue. I was expecting another great cozy pet sitter mystery. That is not what this book is about. I should have heeded the reviews that this is an adult book which it definitely is. Do not buy this if you are offended by strong language, bondage parties and multiple sex partners. This is a sleazy mystery and not a cozy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't mind the profanity and the sex is actually not very explicit but animals get hurt in the book and some of it is not essential to the plot- I avoid books that have animals being hurt I really wish I had avoided this one and its gratuitous dead cats
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can not handle animal abuse. There are some editing errors. Pointless cursing, an over abundance of sex, violence and murder, all pretty graphic. I wish I had read the reviews before I started this book. It is for adults only. I felt like I was torturing myself by reading this book. It was not for me. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book might be a good read, however a 25 year old woman speaking the way she does in the book would find a lot of people pissed off at her. I understand cursing when it would be in context, but she goesout of her way to use the "F" word on every page. Learn to write.
BettyG76 More than 1 year ago
It had a good story line, but way too much sex and bad language for me. It seems some author think they have to load a story up with lots of sex and foul language. I'm not a prude, but too much is too much.
2mnyBooks More than 1 year ago
I nearly didn't read the book based on its horrible reviews but am so glad I did. This book is different, and that's definitely a good thing! I read a lot and I'm not often surprised by a turn of events but this story did it. Yes there is some animal cruelty (not descriptive!) and some language, but by far not in the degree some of the reviewers complained. That is just ridiculous. What are we? A bunch of 5 year olds who get offended by a few bad words? And the dead cat was only mentioned twice... If this is enough to turn someone off the book, by all means. Read Dr. Seuss. But back to the book. Could it have used an editor? Yes! there are several little mistakes but I find them all the times in books? I might have given the book only 4 stars because of that, but I have to counteract the Goody Two Shoes who got offended by the language and by minor animal cruelty (not that animal cruelty itself could ever be minor... I mean that it was neither explicit nor a big part of the book). If you want to try something original, fresh, and surprising, if you want to think "I can't believe she just did that" then go for it. I will definitely read the others in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is probably one of the best books i have ever read! It made me laugh and cry! This would be my definition of a perfect book! And now i'm going to buy the rest of the series... haha! :D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish I had read the other reviews before reading this story. The author seems to enjoy raw language disgusting sexual references and the killing and hurting animals plus having characters killed in an overly descriptive manor including the main charactors brother. Im so sorry I started this book. I will certainly not read another of her books.
Laurie-J More than 1 year ago
After mouthing off to a customer and then compounding the error by making a rude comment to her smarmy boss Joy Humbolt is fired. It's been a tumultuous few days for Joy who had just broken up with her loser boyfriend the night before, then decided to buy companionship in the form of an enormous dog named Blue. When an opportunity is presented to take over a dog-walking business for upper-crust clients, it seems too good to be true. Turns out it really is. Joy gets caught up in a murder investigation that will literally change her life. But when the chips are down, Joy digs in. Someone wants Joy out of the picture, but she and Blue are not going down without a fight. This story was flawlessly constructed; new little snippets of information coming to light as Joy struggled to understand what she had innocently stepped into. I loved Joy. Her quirky, irreverent humor and cheeky sass was refreshing. Yet, for me, she never crossed that line from uniquely personable to obnoxiously unlikeable. The story flowed so smoothly and unfolded at a near perfect pace throughout - there were just a couple of places that I felt an unwelcome slowdown that in my opinion failed to propel the story forward quite quickly enough. Still, I was kept engrossed in the action, and kept guessing about what would happen next. Always, Joy is resourceful, with often brilliant perceptive skills. I also particularly enjoyed the relationship between Joy and her brother, James. The affection the siblings shared was heart-warming. A magnificent mystery that just would not let me out of its grip until the very end; there are plenty of twists, and enough appealing secondary characters to appease even the most discriminating armchair sleuth. Highly entertaining! Reviewed by Laurie-J
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This started out as a good book but quickly turned bad. So much of what the author has included is not essential to the story. Didn't make it half-way through before I added it to my "books I don't want to finish" file.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great fun fast read, with twists and turns ocurring to well develped characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you don't mind constant "F-bombs," you might enjoy this. However after a couple chapters of this, I gave up and dumped it! Can't people get their point across without this disgusting language? People in "real life" don't talk like this, I hope! In any case, skip this if you hate filthy language!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unnecessary horrible, HORRIBLE language!!!!!! I will not be reading her other books!
Jangolf More than 1 year ago
I started reading this book and it looked pretty good. However, the language is just not necessary. I was offended by the bad language. Never got past the first chapter
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I deleted it quickly. I am not a puritan but language was too extreme. The story line was definitely not going to be unique so I didn't even try to continue reading it. I have made myself finish books just on the principle someone took the effort to write it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And the people characters develop but slowly. Good first book in a series, looking forward to reading rhe nexr
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had to stop reading this book. The "F" word was way too much and not needed !! Too bad this author feels the need to include this in her writing. Crazy in a world where so many other words could be used......grow up !!
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
A roller coaster ride that ends up with a few dead, but our heroine on a completely different career path. The twists and turns were fun to follow, while you chase after Joy as she hunts down a killer. Through an undercover NYC S&M club to a few gay and lesbian bars - this story took the reader through every neighborhood in New York City. I loved the peaks and valleys of the story, from high intensity chase scenes in underground tunnels to the slow moments where she is trying to figure out her next step, it was all believeable and a fun ride. At times I was wondering how everyone was connected, but I believe in the end the puzzle pieces all matched. The one change I would make was the chapters - at times choppy and short, I didn't understand the spacing of when a story ended and the next began. At the same time I loved how each chapter had a name - what a fun addition which you rarely see. A great thrill ride for those who are not faint of heart. A little gore and some language may keep few readers at bay - but those who like a fun ride will definitely enjoy this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first in the Sydney Rye series that tells how she came into being a detective
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish I had read the series in order. I apparently read 1 and 3. I will now look for the rest of the Sidney Rye series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You need to read this one
DesignerJen More than 1 year ago
The gross vulgarity and misuse of trust and abuse is appalling in this book and honestly most of it did NOT even need to be in the book as it was not necessary at all on top of all that you throw in this gross fascination the author obviously has for bondage and animal abuse is a gross misuse of time to read... grade is totally a solid F--
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rediculous story line. Skimmed the last 15o pages just to finish it. Total waste of time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While somewhat Darker than my usual fare I, too, am glad that I ignored all the Negative reviews and read this story! (and I was Extremely Unhappy with the reviewer who threw in a Spoiler! If you didn't care for it, fine, but no need to spoil it for the rest of us with unnecessary details!!!) Yes, it was Edgy, with Harsh language, and Death, and Violence, but there was also Fierce Love, Strength, and Protection-- and such is Life!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago