×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Unleashed
     

Unleashed

4.2 71
by Sara Humphreys, Arika Rapson (Narrated by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Samantha Logan's childhood home had always been a haven, but everything changed while she was away. She has a gorgeous new neighbor, Malcolm, who introduces her to the amazing world of the dream-walking, shapeshifting Amoveo clans . . . but what leaves her reeling with disbelief is when he tells her she's one of them. And shock turns to terror as Samantha falls prey

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Unleashed 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 71 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a surprise this was i really enjoyed this one have to say i was getting bored and this one has a new edge. Read this in one day awsome a must read for people like me who read everyday
Janaya Davis More than 1 year ago
I could not put the book down. The leading characters were sexy and hot. A very interesting take on shapeshifters. I will definitely add this series to my list which includes BDB, Anita, and Sookie. If you like those series, you will like this one too. Thank you Sarah for visualizing this world and bringing it alive for us on the pages. Looking forward to Untouched.
KimMeyer More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite books of all time! Unleashed is Amazing! Highly recommended!
LASR_Reviews More than 1 year ago
The characters within this story will be running through my mind indefinitely. Unleashed is the type of story you think about months and even years later and decide you must read it again. Amoveo's are like shape shifters but much more. With the paranormal romance industry booming, it can be difficult to find a story that distinguishes itself from the thousands of others, but this story has done so. I tried to think of other stories to compare it to, and I could not think of one. This attribute alone would have been enough to keep me interested, but that was not the only thing that kept the pages turning. Samantha is unique -- the first human amoveo hybrid -- and that can't be easy. There is something to be said about her composure when so much is thrown at her. Her life is turned upside down when she decided to move back home, but then she finds about a secret race and that she is part of it, yet she still never looses who she truly is. That is one tough woman that anyone might feel threatened by. The subtle strength that she demonstrates throughout this story is what really makes her remarkable. Malcolm is everything you want in a hero of a paranormal romance story. He has brute strength, is drop dead gorgeous, a little arrogant, and has a huge heart. I had to check to see if I was drooling a few times because he was just perfect in all ways that matter. The conflict was another fascinating aspect of this story. It created mystery and excitement. I keep trying to pinpoint who exactly was targeting Malcom and Samantha, but every time I tried to figure it out, I came up with more questions than answers, which I loved. Up until the very end the author kept me on high alert while trying to figure out who the antagonist could be. With all the buildup I was expecting an extremely climatic ending, and that is exactly what I got. Unleashed earned its Best Book rating in spades because I can't wait to reread it and am dying for the sequel. The characters haunted my dreams and I thought about this book constantly. I am recommending this story to everyone I know. Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews
Raonaid More than 1 year ago
New to me author and I got the privilege to read the ARC. The beginning starts out slow but this is to be expected for the first book in any series. Sara does a complete and wonderful job of setting up the background of The Amoveo. Then the story gains it's momentum, drawing you in to read more about Malcolm and Samantha. This book is for anyone who loves animal shape-shifter stories. The history of The Amoveo is important, so do not try to skip or skim those parts. Else you would not get a clear and deep understanding of the characters. Malcolm - In the beginning I was struck by how different he was from the other Heros I read about. Clueless how to interact with Samantha's human side, I like the fact that he was patient with Sam. The way he approached the matter in the beginning of their relationship, the mindset, that though he was impatient and wanted his mate, HER feelings and opinions mattered. This endeared me to the hero BIG time. It was found to see such an arrogant man flounder in our social customs. Sam - Her character I did connect with. She was easy to like. I gave her kudos for how she handled her past relationship before Malcolm. Here we have a heroine that has some self doubts about her appearance. This made her human to me, able to connect. Will I read more in the Amoveo series? Oh yes! Unleash whetted my interest and I'm anticipating the next book. ( Really stink at reviews(
ClaireTaylor More than 1 year ago
Sara Humphreys Unleashed The Amoveo Legend #1 This book is breath taking from start to finish. Incredibly well written, with strong character development, I thoroughly enjoyed every moment. The relationship between Samantha and Malcolm builds at a believable level, and you’ll soon feel connections to not only them but the other characters in the story.
Mirabelle8 More than 1 year ago
Breathless paranormal romance I saw Sara Humphrey' s Amoveo Legend series on a blog and got hooked by the covers of her books and the excerpts that I read. I just love her SHAPE SHIFTERS. First, I read UNDENIED, a short novella, to give me a glimpse and discovered a fast-paced paranormal romance like I love them. Now, I just finished her first book UNLEASHED and discovered a "new-to-me" author that I really love because of her style of writing and the world she created for her Amoveo legend. I could not put it down! Beautiful sexual chemistry between Malcolm and Samantha. I love paranormal when they include shifters and this series has so many amazing ones. I truly recommend Sara Humphreys's books! She is a great writer and her books kept my interest throughout the book. To be added to your TBR list. Next, I need to read her next books UNTOUCHED, UNTAMED and finally UNDONE which will be soon release in May 2013
Jen_Fusco More than 1 year ago
Humphreys dives into the paranormal world with zest and builds engaging characters and an exciting storyline. She is setting herself up for a can't-miss series. The story of Malcom and Samantha leaves the reader wanting to know more about the Amoveo world. A little repetitive at times and a it does start slow, but don't quit, or you'd miss out on a great read.
ahanson5145 More than 1 year ago
Unleashed is Phenomenal! Engaging! Addictive! Ms. Humphrey's talent for bringing characters to life and drawing you into their world with believable settings and enviable talents is unmatched. The depth of feelings the characters experience had me believing they could be real and left me wanting to experience more. I never wanted to put the book down and can not wait to pick the next one up!
DavinciKittie More than 1 year ago
This book is like a Darwinian chameleon... constantly evolving to keep the plot moving and the characters growing. Sometimes the flow of the story felt a little slow, as Ms. Humphreys thoroughly sculpted the world of the Amoveo shapeshifters, and other times it was a frantic, heart-pounding mad rush of action (more than one kind too, if you get my drift) and story progression. The slower parts were, for me, the sections set in Sam's little home town after she moves in with her grandmother. I think the reason these parts of the story didn't resonate with me was strictly personal and not necessarily a reflection of Ms. Humphreys' skill as a writer (I just don't like small towns - grew up in one and they bore me). That said, Malcom's initial personality did grate on me a little. I find it frustrating when authors, especially female authors, write men as "prissy". Not that Malcom was really prissy or feminine, he just used vocabulary and phrasing that felt less than "alpha", "powerful", "masculine" (yes, I know, not all men are "alpha" - that may be just another personal preference). Maybe that's just his personality (although I did notice it with all of the other Amoveo men except Dante and Steven, so maybe it's an age-propriety-stuffiness cultural thing?), but later in the book his character began to feel more organic and grounded. Like he'd finally found his voice. About halfway through is when things started to pick up for me, both with the pacing and the characterization. The mystery in Unleashed is well designed. I wasn't actively trying to figure it out, but I wasn't blindly ignoring clues either, and I didn't "get it" until the very end. I like it when a story surprises me (on multiple levels) and isn't formulaicly predictable. I especially enjoyed the characters of Nonnie, Sam's grandmother, and Tony, the Caedo baddie. Sam's friend Kerry was also a really great contribution to the cast; she had a vibrant personality and I especially liked that she's a plus-size model who is still considered beautiful despite her dress size. Once the story picks up momentum, the connection between Sam and Malcom is intense. Tender, passionate, protective, supportive... they are, to borrow from The Twilight Saga: Eclipse's Jacob, exactly right for each other. I like her personality, Sam. It reminds me a little of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse, except heavier on the smarts and common sense and lighter on the country twang. Sam has country hospitality with determination, spunk, and a great sense of humor. The heat between Malcolm and Sam is steamy without feeling dirty- intense but not explicit. As I approached the end of the book and the action still hadn't wrapped up, with the number of remaining pages quickly dwindling, I worried it was going to be a serious cliff hanger, which really wouldn't have been fun. Instead, Ms. Humphreys wrapped it up wham-bam-thank-you-ma'am style, keeping it relevant, edgy, and a little bit shocking. Unleashed may have had some pacing issues in the first half, but the ending was most definitely a dynamic finish, leading right into the next book in the series. Continued... (truncated for length) Original full available on GraveTells: search for "Unleashed" *ARC provided by Urban Girl Reader. No compensation was received for this review and all opinions expressed are the honest opinion of the reviewer,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book. Well written. Sweet Romance and Interesting plot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the author's writing style. Witty, just the right touch of sex, and a great story line. I have of course read all of her published Amoveo series. If you love books by Gena Showwalter you will love Ms. Humpherys books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The writing didnt flow easily but the story was good enough that I think I'll buy the second in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great series, you won't be disappointed.
NelyCab More than 1 year ago
Samantha is a struggling artist in the Big Apple, waiting for her lucky break. When Sam's thirtieth birthday arrives, she is consumed by the dreams of a man telling her to return to her childhood home. As she settles back into her grandmother's beach house, Malcom, her mysterious neighbor, introduces himself, sparking Sam's flame and ultimately revealing to her the truth of his nature. Passion and mystery dwell within the pages of Sara Taney Humphrey's "Unleashed," magically leading the reader through the rousing and paradox world of The Amoveo Legend. The story that transpires will unleash the animal within you. -Nely Cab, Author of Creatura
Anonymous 3 months ago
It is a awesome plot, Sam & Malcolm are a bit innocent in their way of processing what is going on around them...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Every sine I finished the last shapeshifter series I had read I have been looking for a series to fall in love with again I have found this series hasa lot of twist and turns and really gets you sucked inbut it has its funny momets
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loverofromance More than 1 year ago
This is my first time reading this author. When I saw Unleashed on Audible, I had to pick it up. I have been wanting to read this series for quite some time now. Unleashed is the first installment in the "Amoveo Legend" series. The series is based on a group of paranormal beings, who can shift into a variety of ten different animal forms. I really like that basic for a shifter romance, instead of just one group of the same animal form. This author definitely turns paranormal up a notch. The story begins with Samantha getting reading the leave the big city "New York" and head back to her grandmothers on the coast in a quaint little town, where she grew up. Samantha is a artist, but her luck hasn't been the greatest in the big city. There is a undeniable urge to return to her roots. Samantha never knew her parents and were raised by her grandparents. After she returns home, she meets a breathtaking gorgeous man who for some odd reason, desires her. Samantha, having bad luck with men, just wants to take things slow. But her feelings for Malcolm, are stronger than she has ever experienced. Malcolm has known that Samantha is his mate, and can't wait to complete the bond. But he also knows that their enemy, is hunting her, and he must protect her at all cost. With their race dying, they need to replenish their numbers. Samantha is living proof that the Amoveo can mate with humans, as she is half Amoveo (a wolf), and human. As the danger draws near, only the powerful bond that exists between Malcolm and Samantha will be enough to save their lives. Unleashed was a powerfully written paranormal romance that swept me away completely. I can't express how much I adored this book. I wasn't sure what to expect when I first started listening to this audio book, but I have to say it was way too short to satisfy me. Unleashed only lasted 8 hours, and the time went by way too quickly as I read it. I really loved the way the book turned out. I will warn you it will shock you in the end who is actually behind everything, I know I almost passed out while walking in the snow listening to this. The story begins with hearing a bit of background on Samantha, who has no clue that she is half Amoveo and can turn into a wolf. The moment her mate Malcolm reaches out to her, in dreams at first, is when she first starts noticing small signs that something is different. The first meeting between Malcolm and Samantha is classic, sweet and a bit funny and loved every moment of it. The chemistry between this couple is instantaneous, even though Samantha denies what she feels for Malcolm in the beginning. Then Malcolm does the impossible and takes his mate out on a date. For his kind you just claim your mate and live together right? Well Malcolm is going to have to be more delicate with Samantha and actually court her. Malcolm does quite a tremendable job in courting Samantha, and their relationship escalates pretty quickly. This story is probably covered in less than a week, so them falling in love happens quickly but the story never feels rushed, or too slow, it feels just RIGHT!! The Characters in this story were fantastic and I loved every aspect that they presented. The Main characters Malcolm and Samantha, were so much fun to get to know. There was such a sense of drama at times, but I felt that only added more flair to the story. Malcolm is your typical alpha male, domineering at times, super over protective, and sensual. Samantha was a very unique heroine. I grew to love her pretty quickly, although I think she was over the top when she finds out that she and Malcolm are mates and goes into serious denial. But once she accepts everything, I found her likable and endearing. The side characters were fascinating and I loved how interactive their parts played in the story. The Grandmothers was fun and witty and who couldn't love her? The friends of Malcolm were delicious and I can hardly wait to read their stories. Unleashed is a sensational paranormal romance. A story filled with tender loving, intense danger and mystery, and some serious paranormal kick that is bound to keep you on the edge!! MAGNIFICENT!!! Worth every penny!! Favorite Quote
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago