×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Unsung Hero (Troubleshooters Series #1)
     

The Unsung Hero (Troubleshooters Series #1)

4.2 137
by Suzanne Brockmann
 

See All Formats & Editions

Suzanne Brockmann’s wildly popular Troubleshooters series showcases this master storyteller’s rare gift for blending intense adventure with sensuous romance. And it all begins with The Unsung Hero, a heart-pounding tale of love that reveals hidden truths and brings two solitary people together against all odds.
 
BONUS: This edition

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Unsung Hero (Troubleshooters Series #1) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 137 reviews.
beckymmoe More than 1 year ago
Wow, just wow. The first in Brockmann's Troubleshooter series, The Unsung Hero was a fantastic read. It had it all--action, drama, romance, human relationships, history--and was a whole lot of fun to read. If I'd had the time to read this all in one sitting, I'd have loved to; as it was, when I wasn't reading this book I was thinking about it and figuring out how soon I could finish what I HAD to do to get back to it. I loved all the characters--they were well written, believable people who you'd want to know in real life. The main characters are Lt. Tom Paoletti and pediatrician Kelly Ashton, but the secondary ones--Kelly's father Charles and Tom's uncle Joe, World War II veterans; Tom's niece Mallory and her geeky friend David; and the makeshift members of Tom's thrown-together anti-terrorist team--are just as solidly written. The main storyline: Tom, on convalescent leave from the Navy, has thirty days to prove he's healthy enough to keep his leadership position, but believes he sees a presumed-dead terrorist on his first day back in his uncle's small New England town. Suffering from headaches and dizziness, he is torn between his fear that it's all in his head and his need to act on his instincts. This book had me laughing and crying--multiple times--and really caring what happened to each and every one of them. The storylines were all well-crafted, and came together nicely in the end. This series was begun before 9/11--significant both because it follows a Navy SEAL special ops unit and its terrorist theme--so it will be interesting to see what the author does with the books that take place after that time. I will definitely be looking for more books in the series.
Lisa_RR_H More than 1 year ago
After reading several wretched novels on a romance book recommendation list, this contemporary novel of "romantic suspense" set in the Boston area was a relief. The novel features some of the usual overwriting found in the romance genre about the gorgeousness of the lead characters, but not quite as incessant as in most. Likable leading characters at that: both over 30 for once and both career professionals--Tom Paoletti, a Navy SEAL officer, and Kelly Ashton, a divorced doctor. There were even memorable and appealing supporting players! I liked the secondary geek-love romance between Mallory, Tom's niece, and David, an artist even more--it's what raises this book to a four star for me. (And David *gasp* is Asian--I can't tell you how rare it is in the romance genre to have a romantic protagonist to be anything but Caucasian.) And behold a real plot along thriller lines. I did have some style issues, and I wouldn't call the novel a keeper: not a prose style to savor or quotable lines, and it never elicited tears or laughter or a gasp of surprise. But it was entertaining--a good beach/airplane read. This is the first of a series and since some have told me the novels get much better, I intend to try the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The one thing I would suggest to anyone wanting to read this series is write character names down. She refers to them as their first name, last name & call sign. Once you get further into the series it can be "Wait, who is that?". To be honest, I quit reading the series at the end of book #10. I wasn't sure how deep she would go into the homosexual love scene. I have been told that if you want to skip book #11 and go to #12 that you wouldn't realy miss anything character wise. I read the "Tall, Dark & Dangerous series first and LOVED them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was simply OK, it was missing the intensity of the others that I read first. She's improved a lot in the four years since she wrote this book. If this is your first Suzanne Brockman book, don't be discouraged the ones that come after are significantly better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story was very romantic and very hard to put down!!! I recommend it to all Romance Readers!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I actually tripped across the third book in this series first. After reading the third and fourth books I bought them all! I love her mix of history, military, and current events. The characters and story lines flow seamlessly. The Troubleshooter series is a Must Read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a powerful story. Wonderful writing. Keeps you enthralled through all the different segments. Loved all the characters except Brandon. What a twit. Will definetly resd more of her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am reading these books in order. The flashbacks to WWII are amazing. We must never forget that part of our History!!! The characters are addicting can't wait to see what happens next!!
Laynesfavs More than 1 year ago
This book had me laughing, sighing, crying and all things in-between! Love Suzanne Brockman's books. Don't miss this one!!
Keridwen More than 1 year ago
The strengths of this author include her ability to advance the linked the story lines of three disparate couples, without losing the momentum created by her plot. Her deft characterizations coax the reader into accepting both male and female protagonists with a range of ethnicities, ages, occupations, and socio-economic backgrounds. The attraction comes as much from the content of their character as the carnal appeal of toned abs. Brockmann manages to credibly ratchet up the tension and suspense elements of her story while remaining true to the beating heart of romance - omnia vincit amor.
nana1947 More than 1 year ago
Really gets the series off to an exciting start. Found the whole series to be excellent and will reread this many times.
sunfire114 More than 1 year ago
Suzanne Brockmann does it again! Tom is a great character himself, but when you put the sexy seal with his highschool crush...wow the sparks fly. Then the side stories with Toms Uncle and Kelly's Dad pull at the heart strings. Suzanne makes you believe in that one special love. A great first book for a great new series!
exes_and_ohs More than 1 year ago
This is the first book in Brockmann's Troubleshooter Series. Unsung Hero is Tom's story, which is the best place to start because Tom is the leader of the eclectic group of men and women that... save the world, to put it simply. They later form the Troubleshooters, but for now they're SEALs. -- I'm not going to put a synopsis because the "Details" tab explains the story line perfectly. What it doesn't mention is that Brockmann tells her stories in the perspective of three different couples. The first couple is Tom and Kelly; the second is Tom's niece and her new friend; the third is Tom's uncle and Kelly's dad. -- Brockmann has an amazing ability to make you love all of these characters. Her gift is in the way she creates characters that are believable. They have fears, they have ambition; and because of that they stick with you. -- The WWII segment of this book was informative without making it feel like a history lesson. (FYI: The first stories include flashbacks from WWII, from the perspective of one or more of the characters). -- I hope this review makes sense. This is a great book and a great series. If you remember anything from this review, I hope it's that.
footballrockz786 More than 1 year ago
I really recommend this book!!! It was great! And I love how there is two love stories going on, a teenager love story and an adult love story!!!
Carra69 More than 1 year ago
Tom an Kelly are romantic.Great start to the trouble shooters series. Hope she continues with the series. It would be ashame to end it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Tom and kelly's romance did not do it for me. This is not one of Brockman's best. TOm was a great guy but kelly came of emotionally cold. Not my favorite heroine. I liked the side story with David and Mel.But the other story about uncle Joe and charles could have been shorter, there was too much going on.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was so terrific. I couldn't put it down. I love romance novels but often I am disappointed by the lack of an exciting plot, lack of action, or lack of well developed characters. This book has it all and has none of the ridiculous silliness that goes with so many romance novels.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Navy SEAL Lieutenant Tom Paolitti is injured during a rescue mission, which leads to a hospital stay. When Tom learns that Rear Admiral Turner plans to eliminate his troubleshooting team, he loudly complains. The doctors claim that his outrageous behavior is a normal reaction to the head injury he suffered. Thus, he is sent home for 30-days of convalescent leave.

At Logan Airport, Tom spots a person with the mannerisms of international terrorist The Merchant. He calls it in even as the brass wonders if he is being paranoid due to the recent trauma. Tom stays with his Uncle Joe while next door is Dr. Kelly Ashton who is temporarily residing with her dying father. For fifteen years, Tom has carried the torch for Kelly. As they reacquaint themselves, Tom and Kelly fall in love. However, can a Navy SEAL find lasting happiness with a pediatrician especially when he keeps seeing a terrorist who, if it is him, apparently is targeting the VIPs at the upcoming WW II anniversary celebration.

THE UNSUNG HERO is an entertaining romantic suspense novel that centers on various relationships. The story line is enjoyable because the different types of relationships ring genuine even that between Tom and The Merchant. The intrigue elements provide additional excitement, but Suzanne Brockmann's tale works because of the interplay between several members of the cast.

Harriet Klausner

Anonymous 18 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheBookNerd5 More than 1 year ago
5 Stars! Okay, this book is a suspenseful romance right? WRONG, well it is but it's so much more than that. Yes, it has some steamy scences that will make you blush but it also has a beautiful story of two best friends being in love with th same woman. In the story, we have three main sets of characters. First is obviously the main couple, Kelly and Tom. Next we have David and Mallory. Finally, there is Joe, Charles, and Cybele. Each of these sets have their own story and they really seem to jive well with each other. Spoilers may be included.....brace yourselves. Tom and Kelly have known each other since their teenage years. They both care madly about each other but aren't sure where to take it from there. David and Mallory have just bumped into each other through pure coincidence. I LOVE how Mallory falls for David instead of Brandon. Brandon is the typical hot guy with muscles for days and has girls falling for him everywhere. David is the camera/computer guy with average looks and a big heart. So I'm super happy she saw that looks don't mean everything. Lastly, we have Joe/Charles/Cybele they met under war times. Cybele protected Joe and Charles and in turn they both fell for her. It just so happens, Joe and Charles are the best of friends. Their story was the most beautiful to me, don't get me wrong I loved the passion with Tom and Kelly but as far as a sweet, beautiful love story I have to go with Cybele's bunch. I won't spoil (or have I already?) too much about each relationship and the story but the ending definitely brought tears to my eyes. I think this is a series of Suzanne's so I hope we hear more from Tom and Kelly in the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago