×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Untied: A Memoir of Family, Fame, and Floundering
     

Untied: A Memoir of Family, Fame, and Floundering

3.2 97
by Meredith Baxter
 

See All Formats & Editions

“I remember Sarah asking me, when I’d just begun therapy with her, what I looked for in a man.  After a few moments of silent, tense deliberation I had it.  ‘Hair,’ I blurted. ‘He has to have hair.’”
 
Meredith Baxter is a beloved and iconic television actress, most well-known for her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Untied 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 97 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have never read a celebrity tell-all, and only picked up Untied because I have enjoyed watching Ms Baxter's work over the years. Her story is brutally honest, at times heartbreaking and frustrating, and ultimately triumphant. I did not expect it to be quite so captivating. The book is easy to read, hard to put down, and when I finished, I felt like I was saying goodbye to a friend. (Strange, I know, but true!). Definitely worth reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was very impressed with how open and honest this book is. It's good to see someone take responsibility for their actions. I felt like she was in the room telling me these stories. It says something for her acting skills - I always thought Elyse Keaton was a very strong and confident woman. Turns out that the woman playing her was anything but!
bk85 More than 1 year ago
I put this book down once or twice to read and sleep. Meredith is an honest, down to earth person who admits her faults. She outlines her career over the years and adds in great details of her personal life. She doesn't hide from the embarrassing or pretend that she is or was the perfect wife or mother. Since I recently read the new Rob Lowe autobiography, I can say that Meredith's book is 100 times better. Lowe wrote a resume that was about 300 pages and Meredith wrote a story with meaning, morals and messages.
gayle hall More than 1 year ago
i purchased this book on my Nook Color. i didnt expect to find myself so enthralled with this book but I was. when i had to put it down it was to sleep, work or shower. i feel like reading it again. i most likely will. I laughed frequently at Meredith's humor and honesty. I loved the book and am sorry it had to end.
TeNNiSMoMAZ More than 1 year ago
Fascinating story of AMeRiCaS FaVoRiTe TV MoM. Meredith's courage and grace revealed throughout. I found impossible to put down, it was so easy to relate to her style, wit, and perspective. Writing style engages the reader from the outset. Her ability to open up about the most intimate details of her life with great candor and authenticity is rare in Hollywood these days. Thanks for sharing your story, I highly recommend this book!!! <3
tatler More than 1 year ago
i must have read a different book. i have loved Merideth since she played Nancy Maitland on Family along with James Broderick Kristy McNichol and Gary Ftank back in the late 70's. Through the years she has handled herself with grace and dignity through so much pain and abuse and seems to have raised amazing children and come out the other side intact. I admire the woman she has evolved into and her bravery in sharing her story
yellowroseNC More than 1 year ago
I was amazed at the way Ms Baxter put her most intimate life in a book for all to read. I found it to be honest....funny...sad...and very engrossing. I enjoyed reading and..found it hard to put down. The sweet TV Mom gave me an insight to her typical Hollywood upbringing...her parenting...her life in drugs and her wine days. I admire Ms Baxter and wish her all the happiness she so richly deserves.
dilsgranny54 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book even though I'm not gay! Meredith puts her life on the line and taught me to be a better woman in the face of my past abusive relationships!! Kudos to you Meredith!!!! EMPOWERING!!!! Jody Schlecht
Cisley More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed Meredith Baxter's book. I read it some time ago and have been puzzled by the low ratings of her book. I have enjoyed her acting since Bridget Loves Birney and really enjoyed her on Family. An easy, interesting read and well worth the money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jeterino More than 1 year ago
A very well written and come from the heart book. A keeper to read over again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Suprisingly the whole lesbian switch was a bit glanced over. I did enjoy the overall biography though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
That fact is definitely clear throughout Meredith Baxter's memoir. And what a journey it has been for her. At times the book is a bit stream of consciousness and the time shifts in it, which was a bit confusing, but overall it's a well-written chronicle of Baxter's journey to herself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, when i started reading i couldnt put it down. She is an inpiration to woman who are afraid to come out of the closet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Angela Maylin More than 1 year ago
Loved this read more than I thought possible. I was curious about her, thus the initial start, but became captivated. I appreciated her honesty and openess and ponder a lot about how the circumstances we are brought up in and our own subsequent choices really do shape our lives for years to come! Great reminder to watch the choices we make for our children and ourselves! I could have done without the occasional swearing and the name dropping with resumes for each, but overall something that will leave a lasting impression!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago