×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Unwind (Unwind Dystology Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Unwind (Unwind Dystology Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Unwind (Unwind Dystology Series #1)
     

Unwind (Unwind Dystology Series #1)

4.6 1195
by Neal Shusterman
 

See All Formats & Editions

The first twisted and futuristic novel in the perennially popular New York Times bestselling Unwind dystology by Neal Shusterman.

In America after the Second Civil War, the Pro-Choice and Pro-Life armies came to an agreement: The Bill of Life states that human life may not be touched from the moment of conception until a child reaches the age of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Unwind 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1195 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Imagine life in the future. The Second Civil War, also known as ¿The Heartland War¿ has been fought and eventually resolved by certain constitutional amendments known as ¿The Bill of Life.¿ So while human life may not be touched from conception until the age of thirteen, a child may be retroactively aborted between the ages of thirteen and eighteen. This process, known as ¿unwinding¿ doesn¿t technically end life, but separates all the body parts to be used for medical transplants. In this futuristic society, unwinding alters the meaning of life. Unwinding is the fate set for three teens that meet by chance. Connor has always been a troublemaker, and his parents have finally had enough. Risa is a ward of the state, and budget cuts have forced Risa into this situation. Lev is the only one of the three who doesn¿t see unwinding as a terrible thing rather, as a tithe, he accepts that being unwound is his purpose in life. In a deadly car crash, these teens escape the fate that awaits them at harvest camps and flee for their lives (although Lev is more of a kidnappee). In this incredible and thought-provoking novel, Neal Shusterman questions what it means to be human and the value of life. Unwind may see like just a unique action novel, but it is so much more. The desperation, danger, and running-for-your-life sequences may thrill the action lover, but the story is more profound than that. It was actually quite difficult for me to read this novel because of the horrible atrocity called unwinding. Half the time, I couldn¿t even believe how inhuman some of the characters were to commit these morally wrong acts. What relieved me, though, was that for every bad thing, there was something good the random acts of kindness strangers performed for the fugitives sometimes brought tears to my eyes. This novel revolves around the controversial topic of the pro-life/pro-choice debate, because it focuses on the sacredness of life. However, Shusterman does not take the topic from a religious or scientific perspective, but bases this book around moral everyone should have: everyone deserves the right to live and not just in the scientific sense that all your body parts are functioning, but living as a whole. All this was channeled into the lives of runaways who were slated to be unwound in this unforgettable story. I can¿t really explain how amazing this novel was you¿ll just have to read it for yourself to understand. Just know that although most of the novel was pretty depressing, the story ends on a hopeful note. Fans of The Host by Stephenie Meyer, the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld, and Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer will also enjoy this novel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
some people might find the plot to be a bit disturbing but i really liked how neal shusterman weaved the story together and made it all flow, unlike most nowaday authors who seem to drag forever!! and kind of lose the flow of the story, but in Unwind every single information has a significance and the book is very fast paced, everything happens so much in just 300+ pages... READ IT!
mnblack More than 1 year ago
I dont think I expected much out of this book when I bought it. Buy it. Right now. This is a book for all ages, and I highly encourage everyone to read it. It's a tale of dispair, anger, and unlikely friends as well as enemies entertwining. It metamorphasizes into an epic journey of strength, courage, and hope. I don't believe I will find a more wonderful and truly touching book in the span of my lifetime.
bookholiday More than 1 year ago
This was a great sci-fiction book. I finished it in half a day. would recommend
Sandra027 More than 1 year ago
An amazing dystopian book about a society that has problem children "unwound" and re-used for spare parts. I was leaning toward four stars for the fist 2/3 of this book, but the last third bumped it up to five without question as all the characters grew to their potential and story lines merged in an unexpected and disturbing way. This book poses but doesn't answer questions like "when does a person have a soul?" and "if every part of you still alive, than are you really dead?" It follows the journey of 3 teens all to be unwound for varying reasons (as well as glimpses into other perspectives) and their struggle to prove they have the right to live. Despite the logic and rational that led to this society and the benefits to be gained from constant available donors, it poses the question "but what if it was you?"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Many middle schoolers have been turned on to reading when we used this book in class! They have absolutely loved it, and usually don't want to stop reading when the bell rings :0)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you haven't read this book than you should read it already. Don't let the cover scare you either. It was amazing.It takes place after the second civil war, the Heartland war, which ended to conclude that once a child is 13-18 they could be unwound, which doesn't technically kill you but you are taken apart.Connor, Lev, and Risa are three kids who have been signed over to be unwound but brought together by chance they escape Juvey cops and embark on a journey to make sure they don't get unwound. This book has twist and turns that keep you reading and you won't be able to put it down. This book was great.
Jessi-21 More than 1 year ago
The only thing that could surpass the surprises held within Neal Shusterman's UNWIND, will be those we undoubtedly will find in its sequel, which is in the works! Two generations from now parents will have a way of dealing with unwanted or troublesome teens. The potential reality of being ''unwound'' is starteling. The question is this: Does being unwound mean death or does it mean continued life in another form? Adults will want to take Shusterman's characters home, but kids (appropriate for ages 12 and older) will cheer the choices made by three teens: Conner, Lev and Risa, as they run for their lives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved everything about this book. The writer is fantastic and I could see the entire book playing out like a movie in my mind!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book suprised me. I picked it up because I was in search of a book similiar to Stephanie Meyer's "The Host", and let me tell you, this is much more than I bargained for. If you liked the Hunger Games or The Host by Stephanie Meyer, then this is the book for you. Gripping details and non stop action will have you awake all night reading. This book jumps from character to character so if you don't like that style of writing you may because irritated with the story line. Definitely a must read!! Five stars!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In a world where abortion has been made illegal, parents can still choose to undo their mistakes once the child is of age to be unwound. Three teens form an unlikely team as they fight for their right to live, rather than be harvested for their organs. This adventure is a chilling tale with action, politics, and a touch of horror done the way only Neil Schisterman can do it. I loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a geat book, if you enjoy suspenseful stories. The story follows three main characters who each show a different personality and point of view, the characters stories are intertwined to form this thrilling tale. The story depicts a distorted furturistic society where the three teens much run for their... collective being. This book has everything, suspence, romance, murder, humor, babies, sarcasm, betrayal, and shocking turns. I loved it and you will too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best book I have ever read. EVER! I have read a lot of 'best sellers' like the hunger game trilogy, the twilight saga and every other book that seems good. BUT THIS BOOK IS FAR BETTER THEN ANY OTHER BOOK OUT THERE. Seriously. This book literally blew my mind into pieces! Haha if you have read the book you know what I'm talking about =) I have always found a place in any book where I could stop reading because it was lagging a bit in excitment. BUT IN THIS BOOK? I could not find one spot where I was content with stopping at because this book is full of excitment in every page! I literally read this book in a day (not because it was short but because I just couldn't put the darn book down!) And when I wasn't reading it (which was not very often) I COULDN'T STOP THINKING ABOUT THIS BOOK! And to top it all off, its only four bucks! What a steal! I woould reccomend this to anyone looking for good book to be captivated by! This book is good enough to be UNWOND for =)!!!!!
happygirl123 More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book. It was a refreshing good book with a good story line. I really like how the story turned out. It was so refreshing to find a book that was not about a vampire romance. One you get to like chapter 6 you won't be able to put the book down. The story turned out better than I expected and each time I turned the page I got more engrossed in it. I really loved the twists in the story it got me saying WHAT!! like throughout the whole book. I recommend this book 100%. Don't let the plot of people getting unwinded make you not read the book because it was really good. It should be made into a movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written, creepy, suspenseful, funny, thought provoking. If you read the Giver or the Shadow children series you need to read this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Normally i dont write reviews, but this book was so good. It lures you in from the very beginning. I was trying to explain how wrong the story itself was, the whole unwinding thing, to my sister and I ended up saying "Its just as or more twisted than the hunger games." At first I thought this book wasnt going to good, just a hunger games mock, but my friend showed me an amazing fan made video from youtube. It made me have to read the book. But didi anyone else wonder if they ever went back for their letters? Overall highly recommended. Check out the video! This needs to become a movie!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Unwind is well written. I love Neil Shusterman's work. This book is amazing. The characters are so realistic sometimes when they feel something, you feel it too! Personally I love disturbing and violent books and this book has it! I love this book and there is something for everybody in this book, romance, survival, violence, etc... The idea of cutting of body parts and selling them is a good story idea an Neil broght it all the way. Your money is not wasted on this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this last month. I liked it. The multiple narrators gave it some spunk. It wasnt as good as every one is claiming though. The ending was the best part.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had some unusual thoughts and ideas but they were constructed very well. I am not a big reader but could actually get into this book. The whole idea that teens were to be "harvested" was a little odd but this was absolutely a fiction book so that is to be expected. This book keeps you guessing what will happen next and it is not always be what you expected which is good for somebody, like myself, who is not a very big fan of reading novels. I was however not a fan of the ending on this book. It was obviously left open for a book to take off of this one but it seemed very rushed and almost as the author ran out of ideas. Hopefully the next book will have a good explanation for this ending along with a good take off to a new adventure for the friends to avoid being "unwound".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was beautifully written. i love the way the author made everything fall together. The chapters are told in alternating points of view, and its amazing how he makes the charactors thaughts sort of dance around each other. The only thing i could think when i got done was "the mans a genius". this story is set in the future where you can have your child "unwound". unwinding was brought about to please both the pro-life and pro-choice people. It is an act where, once a child is between 13-18, their parents can sign an order to have them, basically, taken apart. The doctors take all the organs and apentages from the bodies, and reuse them in other people. so basically, the life of the unwind (which is what they call children who are unwound) doesnt technically end. One thing is inevitable: you will fall in love with the charactors. They are so real that it will actually make you want to cry when you remember that they are fictional charactors. Its a great book, and shusgterman leaves no questions unanswered. Ever bit of information given in this book is part of a greater plan, and in the end it all makes sense. I cant get over it. If there were more authors in the world as brilant as Neil Shusterman then we would have a better planet :) haha. I cant even put into words how much i loved this book!! I wish i could whipe out my memory, and read this book for the first time again, and again, and again. Thats how much i love it (and i dont even like to read).
Ash_Knight More than 1 year ago
This is one of the first books by Neal Shusterman that I have read, and I thought it was unbelievable. The story was interesting, in the fact of how real and lifelike the characters were made out to be, as well as the depth of the story and the journey that the characters embark on for their lives. Unwind is without a doubt one of my favorite books that I have personally read multiple times and would recommend to anyone that has an interest in coming of age/science-fiction novels. It is a timeless book that people can look at and think, "This looks interesting".
aratnoid More than 1 year ago
Consider me completely wound up in this story… Unwind is the first book in the Unwind Dystology Series by Neal Shusterman. The series takes place in a dystopian society where after a 2nd Civil War, there is a new Bill of Life stating that parents have the option to “unwind” their children between the ages of 13-18. The unwinding process consists of the subject being unwound and divided up for organ/part donations. The theory is that they are not being killed, yet still live on in this divided state within those who received their “donated” parts. The medical society no longer performs all the life-saving techniques of today, yet more often than not, chooses to just perform the surgical replacement of whatever ails you. This has led to parents unwinding their children for different reasons and society accepting this new way of life and health. The first book consists of the central characters Conner, Risa and Lev. They ended up in a harvest camp for different reasons, but their strength and strong-will ultimately bring them together.  What happens when parents make this decision and change their mind too late? What if the unwound fights too hard? Who can change the way the world views unwinding? All these questions along with some of the most poignant scenes that I have ever read are in this book. I will not hesitate to finish this powerful series, along with picking up the other works by this author. I finished Unwind a few days ago, but still feel this sense of awe- what a fantastic story, it truly stays with you and the intensity of the storyline can’t be beat!  
alexismaejoanna More than 1 year ago
Unwind Unwind is a novel written by author Neal Shusterman. The idea of this novel is to get the pro-life and pro-choice arguments written into a twisted story. A civil war was fought in this futuristic depiction of America, called the “Heartland War”. This war led to the rules on the lives of every individual: Life has meaning from the moment of conception until the age of thirteen. After this, parents can make the decision of rather they want to effectively have their child unwound or keep them. They have this choice until the child turns 18. In the story, this directly affects three teenagers. One running away, a girl having no choice, and another who wants to be unwound. They all wind up together and find their way to survival. They find survival, but also discover they are not alone. Through highway crashes, new friends, underground railroads, and close calls; these three unlikely friends make a difference they never believed they could achieve. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys sci-fi, futuristic novels, or simply wants to be sucked into a story. Keep in mind before reading, this story supports the pro-choice aspect of the argument more than the pro-life. It is easy to read, being at high school junior reading level. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read I would recommend this book to anyone that likes thrillers. It has kids that fight with juvey cops and kids that explode from clapping their hands. Any kid that is a trouble maker or unruly will have an unwind order placed by their parents. When they are unwound their blood and body parts are removed but kept alive somehow so someone can use them if theirs is harmed in some way.
xMANGOSx More than 1 year ago
This book is about and process called unwinding. Unwinding is taking apart a child for spare parts to give to people who need them. Unwinding is an alternative of abortion. this book talks about three kids who escape being unwound. they also save hundreds of children also escaping unwinding i hope in the second novel, it explains how Rolands arm survived the explosion. also i wonder if Blayne was actually able to explode from clapping his hands without a trigger. This was an amazing book, i recommended all my friends and family to read it.