×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Up Close and Dangerous
     

Up Close and Dangerous

3.6 87
by Linda Howard
 

See All Formats & Editions

A mysterious plane crash . . . a dangerous trek through the Idaho wilderness . . . a smoldering attraction . . . and a deadly game of cat and mouse. In her latest tour de force of romantic suspense, New York Times bestselling author Linda Howard blends these elements into a gripping story that will keep readers breathless–and leave them begging for more. For in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 87 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was the first time I had read Linda Howard, I've read Beverly Barton and thought I would give Linda a try. The story was fast pase and easy to read. The characters were likable and pulled you in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book! It is very enjoyable!
Pippink More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed this book from cover to cover. It took me no time to finish it because the story kept me intrigued. It's and excellent book for a one to two hour flight. Enjoy!
bravewarrior More than 1 year ago
CD/abridged: Romantic Suspense? No really. I did not like the first part of the book; too formula. After the plane crash and learning about pine needle tea, it warmed up to me. There struggle for survival was palatable and interesting. There was no real sense of danger, like the plane falling on them. However, the romance isn't going to be long-lasting (I'd give it two years, tops); they got together after being stranded on a mountain via a plane crash. I didn't get why the heroine didn't just give the money to her step-kids. And if her dead husband was such a good man, why did he have not one, but two shallow, money grubbing children. This book was abridged and read more like a Harlequin Romance. If I would have had it in paperback, I would have never finished it.
NancyChase More than 1 year ago
When I bought Up Close and Dangerous there were mixed reviews, but since I have enjoyed a number of Linda Howard's earlier novels, and I'm a big fan of Ms. Howard I purchased this book. Overall, I thought that Up Close and Dangerous was very entertaining. It may not be one of her best works and her creative mind just didn't thrill me as much as other books, still the story kept my interest, plus it was very educational. Cam is the pilot of a small plane and his passenger is Bailey. The planes crashes and now these two must learn survival skills if they are to get off the mountain alive. Romance blossoms between these characters. The story was a little slow toward the ending, but I read it over a three day period and I was thrilled with the book.
CharlieParks More than 1 year ago
I have read a majority of Linda Howard's books over the years and like many authors that create a number of works I have my favorites. Up Close and Dangerous would fall somewhere in the upper middle category. Maybe it was time spent on "how to survive the wilderness", and which gave less pages that were devoted to flushing out the characters and the romantic scenes. Overall, I still enjoyed the book.
PUKUS More than 1 year ago
Skilled flying kept their plane from crashing head-long into a mountain. The one part that was really fictional was two people living six days on a couple of candy bars and drinking a tiny bit of snow-melted water. I'm not too sure who didn't like each other would fall madly in love under any circumstances. It seems to me that survival would be much more important than love-making. Part of the book was believeable and part of it was not. This is my first Linda Howard novel, and I would give her another try.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bailey Wingate was both married and widowed within one year and left in charge of a multi million-dollar trust fund for her two stepchildren who whose sole priority is to make her life miserable. In an attempt to escape the drama, Bailey embarks from Washington on a two-week river-rafting trip to Denver Colorado. She is paired with Cam Justice as her pilot to ferry her across the air. Cam had made it clear that he dislikes Bailey and she returns the sentiment. While crossing the mountains the plane experiences some serious problems and both Cam and Bailey crash on top of a snow covered mountain. Left with little options Bailey drags an injured Cam from the destroyed aircraft and aids to his serious head injury. Stuck on the top of a mountain with the realization of sabotage and no hope of rescue, Cam and Bailey work together to help themselves and along the way Bailey gives more of herself to Cam than she ever has to anyone else before. Set in snow, Linda Howard provides some hot and steamy scenes between the two leading characters and strings along a minor mystery. Up Close and Dangerous is a good read, the main characters are highly developed and intense and the minor characters are very interesting but do not play an important to the story. The book lacks a strong mystery and would be better classified as a romance. Valerie Jones
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was one of my favorite Linda Howard books I loved the plot and the the pace was just right I loved.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of Linda Howard, have read all of her books, but this is a very disappointing effort. It was very boxed, no imagination, no character development, no chemistry between the main characters-almost as if her staff put something together very quickly before a deadline and she just had to go with it. It was so boring that if I could take it back to the store for a refund I would.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVED IT! Linda Howard always delivers!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Greengirl86 More than 1 year ago
Good book overall. Not as good as Prey or Kiss Me While I Sleep. Nevertheless, I am huge Linda Howard because of writing. I like the "outdoor survival" education. Sort of concerned that the cut wasn't address quicker, but yet he makes. Ending was a surprise! Can't wait to read more from Howard!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago