×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Up in Honey's Room
     

Up in Honey's Room

4.2 11
by Elmore Leonard
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sweet Honey Deal's not sure what compelled her to marry Walter Schoen, possibly the most boring man on Earth. So she quickly rectified the situation by leaving the dour German-born butcher to start a new life. A good thing, too, now that America's at war with Adolf Hitler and Walter's loyalty to his adopted country was always questionable. Even better, now U.S.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Up in Honey's Room 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lollypop99 More than 1 year ago
Honey is a peach! What a character. The story is very noir and it is like reading about Bogie and Slim. A must read. I don't want to give the story away, but it occurs after War World II.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Elmore Leonard really whips up a good tale with Up In Honey's Room. You're brought back to the 1940's where there are good and bad guys and no gray. Of course, Mr. Leonard creates his own gray area with a likeable Nazi who used to drive Panzers in Africa killing British. Funny and sexy and all Elmore Leonard. I'm surprised it hasn't been made into a movie yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've never written a book review so I'll keep this, my first attempt, brief. I purchased in the form of audio book. I typically listen to a book as I go about my errands, to and from work, etc. This book was so much fun that I looked forward to every trip to the grocery store, post office and so on, just to get back to the dry hilarity of the characters and Arliss Howard's voice! No, this isn't a "deep" book, it's light, funny, offbeat, campy and way too short.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
If what draws you to Elmore Leonard is his easy flowing way with characters, you'll love this one. Stay away, though, if you're looking for a tight plot or loads of suspense and action. Most of these characters are audacious to the point of making you laugh out loud, and, while there is risk, danger, and murder, it seems less important than how everyone will work out his relationship with everyone else. I loved it, but I also like his books with more action and thrills.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a quick read for me and it flowed well. It's not Leonard's best, but it's darn good. As usual Leonard has his quirky characters and he has asembled some that won't let you down. This book has suspense, action, sex, and great laugh out loud humor. 'The Hot Kid' federal marshall Carl Webster is back and after a Nazi POW esscapee. Along the way he encounters sexy and smart Honey as well as other characters that compliment each other. I have read most of Elmore Leonard's works and he always entertains.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you've read Leonard before, then you know what to expect: quirky characters, a dialogue-driven story, and one page-turning surprise after another. Honey, briefly married to Walter, a German butcher in Detroit, comes back into his life to help US Marshall Carlos Webster capture two German POW's who escaped from an Oklahoma prison camp. The chase brings them into contact with some of Walter's other pals --- all members of a pro-German spy ring. Of course, the personalities are all in conflict, all a bit bungling, and all out for themselves. An original story, superbly written, with plenty of humor and excitement. A must read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think Elmore Leonard is losing his touch. This was one of the worst books I have read in a long time, and that is sad to say because I usually enjoy Leonard's books. Mr. Paradise was just ok, and now Up In Honey's Room was outrightly bad. I felt like I was reading a mess. All the characters were a bunch of idiots. The plot shouldn't even be called a 'plot' because it was so boringly slow and all over the place. The characters' personalities were inconsistent. Honey was the only slightly interesting one. I just felt like this book was all over the place, with little suspense or substance to the storyline. It was very unrealistic too. I am not even sure if I will purchase any more of Leonard's new books after reading this last one. It is really too bad.