×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Urban Shaman (Walker Papers Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Urban Shaman (Walker Papers Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Urban Shaman (Walker Papers Series #1)
     

Urban Shaman (Walker Papers Series #1)

4.0 150
by C. E. Murphy
 

See All Formats & Editions

Joanne Walker has three days to learn to use her shamanic powers and save the world from the unleashed Wild Hunt.

No worries. No pressure. Never mind the lack of sleep, the perplexing new talent for healing herself from fatal wounds, or the cryptic, talking coyote who appears in her dreams.

And if all that's not bad enough, in the three years Joanne's been a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Urban Shaman (Walker Papers Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 150 reviews.
JMac31 More than 1 year ago
Urban Shaman is an easy read along the same line as Jim Butcher's Dresden files. The characters are easy to relate to and interesting to follow as the story develops. I also like the sense of humor Murphy gives the main character. This is a great read if you are into detective stories or sci-fi and supernatural. I must admit that I am partial to books that are a part of an on going series. This allows you to watch as the author develops the characters over a series of books and allows you to see the characters in different situations. Urban Shaman is the first in a series of books, which to me increases the appeal.
AmorDeLibros More than 1 year ago
This book is fantastic, and I can't even tell you why! It's everything! I wouldn't do Jo justice if I attempted to describe her, she's just so brash and in-your-face. This is also a great opening book to an even better series (Thunderbird Falls and Coyote Dreams are even better!) which is great for when you get attached to a character and want to read more. (And trust me, you will get attached to Jo, and Gary, and even Mortison, for that matter!) Do not miss this!!
dalnewt More than 1 year ago
This book awkwardly intermingles Celtic myth with Native American legend to solve a rather slow moving supernatural murder mystery set in a rather mundane urban world. For me, the book just didn't work. The imagery of the demigod Cernunnos leading the Wild Hunt is extremely vivid, but the heroine's woo-woo shamanic (out-of-body) experiences combined with her exaggerated klutziness is close to unpalatable. Further, the murder/mystery solving is secondary to the whole woo-woo shamanic factor. The pace and plot are erratic, sometimes slowing down or racing during the heroine's spirit journeys, and, then, perversely launching into a real 'world' event at an inapposite pace. Resolution of the murders/mystery is also marred by a somewhat unsatisfactory climax in which the bad guy is partially healed. (I'm not a fan of 'healing' rather than destroying the bad guy.) The only good action occurs in a scanty two (maybe two and one-half) confrontations between the heroine and Cernunnos. Taken as a whole, I cannot recommend this book.
KarenJG More than 1 year ago
OH, goodie! A new-to-me favorite author with a large back list for weeks of reading pleasure! C.E. Murphy hits all my requirements for a "five star" favorite - her plotting, pacing and characterization skills suit my readerly preferences to a "t". By that I mean, the plotting is intricate, but not to the point that I feel lost or can't follow what's going on. The pacing is brisk, but not so breakneck that I don't have time to grasp one situation before rushing headlong in to the next, and the characters are multi-dimensional, with quirks, flaws and strengths both present on the page (well, screen) and implied in the spaces between words. I like that the violence is present, but not graphic or overdone. There is only a potential for future romance in this book, but I suspect that if and when it occurs, it will also suit my tastes (like the violence is - present, but not graphic or overdone). I'll be finishing the "shaman series," then moving on to some of her other series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm not going to summarize what the book was about because it's written all over the review page already. However, this book was phenomenal!! I became so submerged in Murphy's world that I literally finished the book in 5 hours. It's a non stop read. Once you pick it up, you can't put it down. The characters are well rounded, and her unique perspective is wondrous. Murphy has quickly jumped to one of my favorite authors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There is an underlying inevitability to the story progression that is obfuscated by the character's inability to see it. This book makes it feel like fate and yet retains free will. Siobhan is constantly checking her moral compass and making choices. I look forward to seeing where this series leads.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mountain Echoes a much better!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A female heroine who is not so lost. She fights her way to do good without too much angst.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Wild Hunt is loose, an old celtic go is trying to kill her, someone is murdering people and Joanne just got suspended from the police force before her first day on the street. I found lots of humor, real and sarcastic, in this book. I really enjoy the way Jo is written and how she tries to deny her destiny. I'm eager to read more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The problem with this book is the oafish, not terribly heroic protagonist, Joanne. Another mechanic, like Mercedes Thompson, but entirely without the charm. And we are supposed to believe that scores of line cops would prisk their jobs to save hers? Please. She's just not likeable enough. That said, I enjoyed the story well enough, even though little here is new. I'd probably give it a 3.5 over all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Joanne's story and her spunky personality. Her love/hate relationship with her boss has me riveted. Joanne's struggle to accept her magic and unique situations will have you following her down a path of enlightenment.
RGD68 More than 1 year ago
very good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
terri56 More than 1 year ago
the book isn't too bad. it tends to vere off on a tangent with all the Babylon stuff going on. a little hard to keep track of who is who. otherwise quite interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago