×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Using Nook
     

Using Nook

3.2 504
by Jim Cheshire
 

Using nook is a unique resource that goes beyond the manual and includes comprehensive information on locating third-party books and other specialty topics. It provides tutorials for doing basic tasks and is comprised of valuable tips on how to get the most from the device rather than focusing purely on basic usability. The author, Jim Cheshire, has been

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Using nook 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 504 reviews.
bluedaze More than 1 year ago
I don't see any reason for anyone to need this book. If you haven't discovered the user's manual that's already loaded on your nook, just go to My Library and tap View My Documents. There's a quick Nook Tour there if you're just looking to get acquainted with the nook's basic operations, and the Nook User Guide, which is a 163 page manual that covers everything and is excellent. If you do decide to try things like rooting your nook, there is much better and thorough information about it on the net for free.
FrogAlum More than 1 year ago
I read the last two chapters, the one on hacking and the one after that about the Nook web browser on my Nook while I was in the store. I only checked out the last chapter because it was "there" since I'm very familiar with the Nook and how it operates. This book might be worth it if you want to root your nook and you are a little nervous about doing so. It has nice step by step instructions about everything, including how to use the "Command Window" and the command lines. As we all know, many of those that didn't grow up with DOS or aren't in the IT field have never touched those areas of their computers. It gets into what is available after you root it a LITTLE bit, not a lot of detail on anything other than trook or nooklauncher quite frankly. Nothing at all on how to organize your libraries, though he does mention you can do so. I found the web browser chapter was interesting, not in a good way, and it made me think less of the book in general... The browser chapter had all the "this button does this and that button does that" information but really nothing you can't get out of the manual. I would have at least expected that he would recommend using mobile web sites for browsing if they are available, instead he warned readers the margins on Google are off (his example) when using the browser and hopefully B&N would fix this in a future update. So, in general, this appears to be the manual, rewritten, except for the hacking section.
pplayerp More than 1 year ago
This book is(was) a distinct dissappointment!! It covers literally nothing of use that is not already in the Nook Gude that you can download free from B & N. I would never reccoment this to anyone now that I have been stuck with it.
Beverooni More than 1 year ago
Even though I have had my nook for quite a while, I did find this book extremely helpful and very well written. It's definitely worth the very reasonable price to have as a handy-dandy reference book.
duckypoo More than 1 year ago
As agreed with others on their comments, it should come with purchase of your nook. I'll just stick with the manual I have only one purpose with my nookie and that's to download good enjoyable books to read. Even though everyone is saying there's not much difference in this Using Nook book oppose to the manual that comes with your very own nook so why not find another good read for that price. It's your choice "I've made mine. Enjoy your nook and read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has been helpful to me. I was afraid to do anything on my nook, using this book I can do things without any fear. It's helped me LOVE my nook even more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As someone who is very familiar with all of the inner workings of the Nook, I am warning anyone who comes across this ebook to run screaming in the opposite direction. I have read this book and while there is some good information, there are also quite a few major errors. The only information that is needed is the Quick Guide and the User's Manual. So find something else to spend your $5 on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As others have stated before me, the manual has pretty much anything you need so the only reason to have this would be to hack your own Nook. But one important thought would be to realize that anyone who hacks their NOOK and starts messing with the programs also negates any warranty you might have. This would definitely fall outside the "normal use" category. So if you want to play with the guts of your electronic, do so at your own risk!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not much new here. Had hopes that chapter on hacking and apps would be of use - it wasn't.
ciszaczytam More than 1 year ago
Most info in this book can be found in the BN users guide.
harryeyeball More than 1 year ago
just sayin' :-\
tomthered123 More than 1 year ago
Good solid information, He goes slow and is clear The Screen saver chapter is excellent
Deetsy More than 1 year ago
This might have been useful to a new "nookie" 6 months ago or more but not anymore. Almost everything in here is included in the manual, or is unnecessary information. The items he suggests to "hack" for are already fixed in the updated software for the nook. Waste of time & money now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an out dated guide there is newer stuff on the market
BxVictor More than 1 year ago
this book is very useful if u have a nook that is hacked
Anonymous 12 days ago
FOR AMILLION BUCKS!!!!!!!!!! LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous 22 days ago
Just saw pepole naked in the titanic movie wow wow wow bow wow sorry bisuet is just stuck in my head did u hear the super bunny series search shop now
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want a refund :( . How come there is no glowlight? I say EVERY NOOK SHOULD HAVE A GLOWLIGHT!!! Am I supposed to pay 30 to 40 extra bucks to install a light in my Nook?? What the heck. And if I can't return my nook becuase of their "one year warranty" then I'll have to have a long word with them D:
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tap on it in shop then u tap archive You can not delete books from nook unless on website
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have it execpt you. Too true.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want to delete some of my books--tanx
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How do you delet books off of my nook?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anybody want to talk i am in school and so board
Anonymous More than 1 year ago