×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

V is for Vengeance
     

V is for Vengeance

4.0 387
by Sue Grafton
 

See All Formats & Editions

A spiderweb of dangerous relationships lies at the heart of V is for Vengeance, Sue Grafton's daring new Kinsey Millhone novel.

A woman with a murky past who kills herself-or was it murder? A spoiled kid awash in gambling debt who thinks he can beat the system. A lovely woman whose life is about to splinter into a thousand fragments. A professional

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

V is for Vengeance 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 387 reviews.
booksonmynook More than 1 year ago
really liked this book. different than the other books I've read, but great nonetheless.
Elizabeth Allen More than 1 year ago
WE DON'T CARE THAT YOU THINK THE NOOK BOOKS ARE TOO EXPENSIVE! If that's the case, don't buy them. We're on here to find out about books...not nooks!
Laced More than 1 year ago
I have read them all beginning with "A is for Alibi," and enjoyed them. I agree with the reviewer who said we look to reviews to learn about books. However, I must weigh in here to say that I did not buy my Nook to get cheaper books. I bought mine because I love being able to carry around all of these books at one time. I never worry that I will finish a book and not have another to read. It is great in so many ways. So, if you want to pay a few cents more for a "real" book, do it. If you want the convenience of carrying around a virtual library in one e-book, get one. I LOVE MY NOOK COLOR!!
harstan More than 1 year ago
On May 5 1988, Kinsey Millhone of Millhone Investigations in Santa Teresa turns thirty eight. However, her birthday turns ugly when a virtual stranger punches her in the nose. The assault leaves her shnoz broken (for the third time), her eyes looking like that of a raccoon, and a need for plastic surgery; thankfully paid by her health insurance. Financier Lorenzo Dante sends his goons to collect from deadbeat Phillip; they send him airborne for failing to pay a loan on time. Just before her battering, Kinsey is in Nordstrom when she notices a woman shoplifting. She informs security who busts the culprit. However, Kinsey failed to realize the thief had a partner until the other felon tried to run her over; she battered her leg avoiding a hit and run. Not long after coming home from Canada, Dante is shocked to learn that Audrey is dead after being caught shoplifting; his ambitious out of control goon Cappi killed her. Soon all this and other events will collide at Kinsey's nose. Aptly titled, the V Millhone thriller is an exhilarating tale as the heroine works several cases. The birthday driven story line is fast-paced with much more than just the above as all roads lead to and from Dante. Fans will enjoy this fun tale as the protagonist takes a beating but keeps on ticking. Harriet Klausner
wyogal More than 1 year ago
I have read each one of the alphabet series and evidently Sue Grafton has decided to become more verbose in her twilight years. I am 100 pages in and Kinsey (I would assume she is to be the main character still?) has yet to make much of an appearance. I still have no idea what the book is about or why I should care. Anytime the introduction contains far more description about trivial details than dialogue designed to engage the reader, it drags down the story. I'm hoping to make it through the whole book but it may take a while.
StephenBerkley More than 1 year ago
Vengeance indeed is sweeter when you come to watch it and that's what this book is all about. Two thumbs up! Characters are very dynamic and so is the plot
SusanSKY More than 1 year ago
Like all the Sue Grafton alphabet series, it keeps you entertained and in suspense. Characters are brought to life as the reader continues through the mystery.
Iluvaroadtrip More than 1 year ago
The thing I like about these books is that each is educational with respect to a different sort of crime - insurance scams, elder abuse, cold cases and in this particular case, high level shoplifting. However, I got very impatient with this book. Whether the editors wanted it 30 pages longer or Ms. Grafton just didn't have enough material, way way WAY too much of this book is useless description, i.e, I got in my car, I turned the key, I started down State Street, I turned left, I turned right, I got out, I knocked on the door, I DON'T CARE. I think Grafton described every strip mall in the Santa "Teresa" area. It got extremely frustrating - just get to the point already. Nobody cares how Kinsey got to the mall. It would have been more interesting to pursue the Nora/Chandler/Thelma repercussions after Nora's "robbery" of her own closet. Anything but the endless to and from that wastes too many pages of an otherwise interesting read. I will keep buying the books because I've come this far and there's no turning back but I hope the next one seems a little more like true detective fiction and a lot less like a chore to write.
Little_Grey_Cells More than 1 year ago
I've read all of the Kinsey Millhone books (in order) and this time the letter is V but it probably should be a double-V because the book is very, very good. Always entertaining, this twenty-two book series can be a bit inconsistent in quality. V, however, shows that Sue Grafton is at the top of her game with lots of separate threads for the reader to follow in addition to the main storyline. Also, Kinsey is thankfully spunkier and has more volition than she's had in some of Grafton's later books.
SharonRedfern More than 1 year ago
V is for Vengeance starts off with the story of a young man who meets a bad end at the hands of a loan shark and his brother. The book then moves to the present day of the book (1988) and starts off with Kinsey Millhone witnessing a shoplifting incident with two women. One gets caught and the other literally drives over Kinsey in the parking lot making her escape. Two days later, the woman who was arrested ends up dead in the same spot as the young man in the beginning of the book. Kinsey is hired by the man who was engaged to the dead woman to find out what really happened because he does not believe she committed suicide. Kinsey is soon involved in uncovering a ring of professional thieves, a police conspiracy, blackmail, and a man with interesting family connections known as ¿Dante¿. All the while she has an obnoxious reporter dogging her investigation and causing trouble. Also weaving through the book is the story of an unhappy wife named Nora, who realizes her husband is cheating and takes steps to protect herself. In the course of covering her bases financially, she meets Dante and begins an unlikely relationship with him. There is an interesting twist in the book that involves both of these people and ties into the modern day activities. One of the things I enjoy about this series is the fact that it is set in the 80¿s. Kinsey has to rely on research, hard work, and legwork to get her job done. She has no internet or cell phone to do work for her. I love it when she needs to get to a pay phone to call someone when she is out working on a case or making a carbon copy of something. I find myself thinking ¿If she only had a ¿¿¿¿ Kinsey is a solitary person who has very few real relationships in her life. She can only rely on herself this book reinforces that fact. Her ex-boyfriend Cheney is working with a cop who hates Kinsey so she feels cut off from one of her resources. Her neighbor and best friend Henry is gone to visit an ailing relative so Kinsey doesn¿t have him to run things by. She works and lives alone with the occasional acquaintance that comes into her life. Her solitary nature is a running theme through all 22 books in the series and I felt she was particularly alone in this book. It is a common theme for a male detective to be a ¿loner¿ but not so common for female sleuths. It is possible the lack of people distracting her contributes to her strong intuition about cases and her excellent observation skills. This book has plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader interested. The continuity of the story from earlier books makes it enjoyable for long time readers but it can be enjoyed by a new reader as well. I wonder what we will all do when Ms. Grafton reaches the end of the alphabet!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of the letter series but this one was slow and hard to read for the first half, almost put it down. Ended good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. This is my very favorite Kinsey Thank you Sue Grafton! Great characters, great plot, all the story lines tie in and fit together so well. I especially liked Dante. The end of the book is perfect. I am sad now though, two more years until the next book. I will really miss Kinsey. Not to mention we are getting very close to Z.
pyzahn More than 1 year ago
Sorry, but I really did not enjoy this new format. Bouncing around to all those assorted characters story lines felt like reading a Jackie Collins novel. The detail on banal subjects was snooze material -- had to flip through all those pages detailing the shop lifting. Ugh. Bring back the hard boiled Kinsey focus I love without the excess baggage.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Sue Grafton's character Kinsey, I have read every single alphabet mystery. I also like the detail she includes in her stories. She continues to write interesting plots. I just wish there were more than 26 letters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not sure what I didn't particularly like or dislike about this book. I liked the beginning of the alphabet books better.
StevePatterson More than 1 year ago
V for victory perhaps? This book surely tickled my fancy in every way. A must read and an interesting story for all of you who wants a tinge of mystery in every way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not my favorite of the Kinsey series, but still a good story. I think the the main reason I did not like it was you knew who did it at the beginning. The story was mainly about finding how they were all connected and that was pretty much the same too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book for a rainy afternoon. Typical of the Kinsey Millhone Series. Look forward to "W".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series and "V" measures up to the rest. Look forward to reading "W"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVE this series!! Can't wait until W comes out now! Thanks to my friend Christie who got me hooked on these books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I it was a very good beginning andto emosional for me i almosr cried!
Anonymous 7 days ago
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not all of the previous plots were as fun. Really enjoyed this one.