×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Valkyrie Rising
     

Valkyrie Rising

4.0 292
by Ingrid Paulson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Nothing ever happens in Norway. But at least Ellie knows what to expect when she visits her grandmother: a tranquil fishing village and long, slow summer days. And maybe she'll finally get out from under the shadow of her way-too-perfect big brother, Graham, while she's there.

What Ellie doesn't anticipate is Graham's infuriating best friend, Tuck,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Valkyrie Rising 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 292 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book held my attention all the way through and I would be excited if I found out that the author decided to turn it into volume one of a series. Great if you are into Norse mythology.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To the person that only gave this book one star because of someone elses ridiculously long review, YOU ARE JUST AS BAD! You bring the rating down on what could have been a 4.5/5 star rating and could potentially damage the books reputation! If you see that the review is a freaking half page DON'T READ IT!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept my interest from beginning to end..hope there is a 2nd book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good. As an avid reader i would highly recomend it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really grew to like these characters a lot,despite the books slow start.looking forward to the prequel novellas release
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love all this fantasy stuff.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Slow start I will admit, but by chapter 6 I was hooked! Great mystery/romance novel with some fun ghostly encounters! No sleezy sex scenes which I loved. I look forward to reading this again and again. I will also be checking out other books by this author!
TurningThePagesBlog More than 1 year ago
FINALLY! A book with Valkyries set in NORWAY! I cannot tell you how happy those two things made me while I read Valkyrie Rising. Seriously. I'm sick of mythological being appearing out of the blue in the U.S.A. I don't know why but it really irks me. So the fact that Ingrid Paulson wrote a young adult novel about the Valkyries that took place in Norway was a huge deal for me. Plus the fact that she made some attempts to talk about places in Norway showed she did a bit of research on the country which I totally appreciated since the book was read for my Around the World Reading Challenge. I've always loved Norse mythology so when I found out about this book months ago I couldn't wait to read it but like always when I got the book from the library I didn't get around to reading it until the night before it's due back...which was last night. However, the book had me hooked from the first page so it worked out remarkably well since the writing was so addictive I could not put the book down at all. Ingrid Paulson brought a fantastic debut novel to the table that has a lot of action, Norse mythology, a wee bit of romance and a kick ass heroine that comes into her own. I absolutely loved Elsa (Ellie)'s character. She started off very unsure of herself and very shy but by the end of the novel she matured, and became a lot stronger sand more self confident which was great to see because I hate characters who are pushovers. I loved how much she cared about not only rescuing her older brother Graham but also rescuing all the other boys Astrid the leader of the Valkyries kidnapped for use in Odin's army. The other characters in the novel were great too. Graham, Ellie's brother was the typical annoying big brother. He was always butting his head into her business and trying to make decisions for her completely ignoring the fact that she is her own person. Tucker was a great love interest for Ellie because of his teasing nature he balanced out her more serious nature and he added a lot of humour to the book which was needed and I thought he was really endearing despite the fact that he was a little annoying in the beginning. Hilda, who is Ellie and Graham's grandmother on their father's side was unlike any grandmother I've ever read about and if you read the book you'll find out why that is. I thought she was a wonderful chsaracter and you csn tell that Ellie gets a lot of her strength from her Grandmother. Overall all other characters were great. I was a little bit worried that there wouldnt be very much attention paid to the side characters but they were wonderfully created and they had just the right amount of depth to make the interesting and to make me want to read more about them in the next book in the series. The plot was also wonderfully written. There was a lot of action that was interwoven with the mythology and romance themes which were not over done or cheesy but were just right. I liked how the story was mainly focused on Ellie's search for her brother and learning about who and what she is as well as a bit of the mythology behind the Valkyries. The romance between her and Tucker thankfully too a backseat for most of the novel and I am so glad that their relationship wasn't another dreaded case of the wretched insta-love fad that's been plaguing young adult novels as of late. The pace of the novel was great and it kept me reading late into the night and I couldn't put it down until I finished it because I couldn't wait to see how it ended. The story will draw you in and you'll be thinking about it long after you finish it. Ingrid Paulson wrote a great debut novel and I highly recommend this novel to everyone especially if you're a fan of young adult novels that deal with mythology especially Norse mythology. I think she's a talented author and I can't wait to read the next book in the series and this is definetly one of the best books I've read in 2012.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed this book, and I really hope the author will turn this into a series! I cant believe this was free, but would have paid for it! Loved all the characters, especially Tuck! This is my first review! I'm an avid reader but felt very strongly about how great this book was. I hope the author gives us more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was very written, had a wonderful flow, a great storyline, was perfectly edited, had mystery, a dab of violence and no sex, but romance. There was no cursing. It was a perfect YA book. I even enjoyed it. I will recommend it to my students. It was a nice free Friday selection. I only have one question, which prevented this book from being 5 star, the father died early from a heart attack, so the genetics were not his, the mother did not seem to have the genetics or be aware of the them, soooooo, which parent passed the genes on and who was the grand mother the parent of, the mother or the father? An important but unanswered question. We hope there is a sequal. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I realy love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Paulson introduces a fast paced story that incorporates elements of Norse mythology. The author spends little time in world building, but makes up for the lack of detail with a plot that unfolds with a brisk pace. The main character is a young woman who becomes entangled in a centuries old conflict that involves mythological entities, of which she is kin to. Written in a first person narrative, the reader experiences the inner conflicts of a young woman's coming of age and the challenges of her Nordic ancestry. Sadly, the other characters are not fleshed out or developed, and the tone is condescending when she refers to the young men as 'boys' throughout the book. Tweens and young teens will enjoy this book because it is NOT another spin on Greek Mythology. Hopefully the second book will have greater depth and character development.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice to see a female who is going, strong and not traumatized to get the a way
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
More please!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this novel. I really enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago