×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Valley of Horses (Earth's Children #2)
     

The Valley of Horses (Earth's Children #2)

4.4 404
by Jean M. Auel
 

See All Formats & Editions

Here is an unforgettable odyssey into a world of awesome mysteries, into a distant past made vividly real, a novel that carries us back to the exotic, primeval world we experienced in The Clan Of The Cave Bear -- and to beautiful Ayla, the bold woman who captivates us with her fierce courage and questing heart. Cruelly cast out by the ancient Clan that adopted

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Valley of Horses (Earth's Children #2) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 405 reviews.
MagiV More than 1 year ago
So sad - I have all of this series in hard copy, but really wanted them on my new Nook, especially with the new Land of the Painted Caves coming out next month! I started reading at the beginning, and was immediately struck by how AWFUL the translation to eBook had been - NEVER occurred to me that B&N didn't get access to the electronic files which the printers use when printing up new books, right? - NEVER occurred to me these books were OCRed, which means that many times the words are incorrect or missing. There are formatting issues like italics where it does not belong, a sentence that runs right off the page of the Nook never wrapping around. Punctuation that was incorrect or completely missing. And, unlike the old classics, we have to PAY for this. I actually needed to use my hard copy to be sure of what I was reading - in each edition! I wrote a letter of disgust to B&N, and was told - in short, that my issues were being sent on to the publisher and when they made corrections, it would automatically be uploaded to my Nook - BUT, that I was not entitled to any kind of refund per B&N blah, blah, blah.... Very sad. I have many other books on my Nook that are 10 & 20 years old yet there are no "typos" in those books. Be warned!
Brigit More than 1 year ago
In this sequel to The Clan Of The Cave Bear, Ayla is forced to make a new home for herself after being forced out of the clan she grew up with. She finds a valley with a cave and starts using all of her skills and wits to survive. This book is as well-written and researched as the first. Ayla has an amazing ability with plants and their food and medicinal uses. She knows how to store food for winter and how to make tools, equipment and clothing. She has an inner strength that keeps her alive when most people would have given up. After all of her training as a medicine woman, she can't help but to nurse to health any ill or injured creature that crosses her path and, so it is the reason she makes some unusual lifelong friends. I love the descriptions in this book of the terrain, weather, animals, plants and how Ayla perceives everything in her new world. A very entertaining and informative book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MagiV's review dated Feb 8, 2011 says that at that time, there were lots of typos, punctuation and formatting errors - enough to ruin the eBook. I stayed away from this nook book until now because of this review, but finally bought it. I have read to page 36 and have found no typos, punctuation errors, or formatting issues, so I guess B & N did get access to the electronic files and has since come out with a clean copy. Don't not buy this book because you're afraid of poor quality text - that problem seems to have been solved. As to the book itself, I've always really liked Auel's Earth's Children series and this is my favorite volume because of the rich descriptions, based on Auel's research, of the way people lived in Paleolithic times.
Peppercat53 More than 1 year ago
As another reviewer has stated: the book is great and you should read it if you like historical fiction, but the copy into ebook format is horrible. There are a lot of punctuation errors, mispellings, and grammatical errors. I expected more from ebooks- this copy is pretty horrible. It's a good thing I've read the book before in paperback...
rockharder81 More than 1 year ago
I love the Earth's Children series. Fantastic detail, rich characters and enjoyable stories. However, I have noticed from one ebook to another, the copy is terrible. There are misspelliings, glaring grammar issues and punctuation problems. I hope they transcribe these books again and fix the problems. I would have bought hard copies if I had known there were so many problems in the electronic versions.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Clan of the Cave Bear was, and still is, my favorite book. Perhaps I expected too much of the sequel, but I felt that it fell short of its predecessor. Ayla was an endearing character in the first book, a person who did things that went against what was expected of her, such as hunting, yet in this book she appeared to be too eager to please. Another dissapointment was the stressing of sex in the book. At times it seemed that it was all Jondalar cared about. I found myself skipping pages because it happened so ofted it became repetitive. However, despite the dissapointment, I did feel that this book was well researched and imaginative. Perhaps the book fell short because my hopes were too high.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The adventurous life of Ayla continues here in The Valley Of The Horses. This time she is no longer a child of 5 but 17 years old, living on her own for three years after being cursed and banished by the Clan who once adopted and accepted her. Here, we read the heart wretching moments of her loneliness, as well as her courage for survival. Although, some parts are a bit repetitive and flimsy, the experiementings, discoverings, trials and errors are an interesting read. I find Ayla's animal companions heart warming, her determination inspiring. In this book, we are also introduce to Jondalar, a handsome & charasmatic Zelandonii, who travelled with his brother Thonolan's, searching for adventure. The brothers story have some appealing moments but it dragged on a little too much for my liking. I find myself skipping pages, anticipating the meeting of Ayla and Jondalar, which unfortunately didn't occur until the chapter 19th of this book (and 10 chapters later, the book ended. Imagine that!). For me, it took too long for both characters to finally meet up. Also, Thonolan's story seemed to distract me, perhaps I just didn't grasp the point of his story in this book. Nevertheless, Jondalar is an exciting character for Ayla. I enjoyed this book more as soon as the two met up. They not only learned about each other but from each other. After breaking the communication barrier, they shared ideas, exchange customs and experiences... then came the acceptance and love. I find their relationship a challenge, as well as intriguing. However, I am sad to admit that this book didn't create a lasting impression on me. Compared to THE CLAN OF THE CAVE BEARS, this one just didn't seem to completely move me nor did it captivated me. It is overall an average read, which I would still recommend especially to those who have started the Earth Childrens Series. I am hoping that the 3rd book of the series,THE MAMMOTH HUNTERS will be more to my liking.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book continues the epic story of the beautiful Alya who is cast out of her clan. She walks the world alone until finding a a majestic valley filled with wild horses. She meets up with a handsom youth who was terribly injured in an attack by a cave lion. Does not understand his language but amazingly quickly learns. Jonolar shows her, her first loves. This book is wonderful on how Ayla survives just by using a sling and her incredible intellegence of the land. Great for people with a good imagination
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
230 pages in and I gave up. Ayla's story continues from Clan of the cave bear. But now i know why I didnt pursue reading the series way back when I read the first... its just too slow moving and tedious. A male characters story parallels alongsside Ayla's-the writer goes back and forth- and clearly they are headed to meet. But these 200 pages of long descriptive details and multiple sex scenes within the males story just lost me. Also Ayla becomes kind of the Forest Gump of the stone age-she disccovers not only the double loaded sling but now the flint spark fire and the travois. She creates the hair braid and a method for single handedly bringing down large game..all the while passing by cave lions but never threaened by them. Uh just too much. If there is a story where she meets the Others and finds a mate well, good for her but I have to let her go it alone. The authors knowledge of land and primitive skills is extensive but the story is bogged down in detail .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this down! It is a little slow in some sections that are highly detailed but a fast skim gets the story moving again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's in my opinion, this one was better then the first, but. ..it's hard to rate it against the first. They were both amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SEX SEX SEX AND SOME MORE SEX. It has lots o sex innit
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The girl Ayla if remarkable howerver the auther descibes things that are unnessary for the story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Entertaining read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago