×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Vampire Lestat (Vampire Chronicles Series #2)
     

The Vampire Lestat (Vampire Chronicles Series #2)

4.5 477
by Anne Rice
 

See All Formats & Editions

Once an aristocrat in the heady days of pre-revolutionary France, now Lestat is a rockstar in the demonic, shimmering 1980s. He rushes through the centuries in search of others like him, seeking answers to the mystery of his terrifying exsitence. His story, the second volume in Anne Rice's best-selling Vampire Chronicles, is mesmerizing, passionate, and thrilling.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Vampire Lestat (Vampire Chronicles Series #2) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 464 reviews.
E_Bennet More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this series. I have read the first four novels (Interview, Lestat, Queen, and Body Thief). While "Interview" may not thrill the reader as much as future novels, once you delve into "The Vampire Lestat", you'll be hooked! Of the first four, "The Vampire Lestat" is my favorite. Every word is another heartbeat shared with Lestat. Rice creates a world and a creature so real, I swear one day Lestat will appear in the room while I'm reading. Additionally, in comparison to the "Twilight" series, you'll find Rice's Vampire Chronicles to be written at a more advanced level, for a mature audience.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The story starts off a little slow, but picks up after Lestat starts telling his story. Before he was a vampire, he lived in a castle with his family in an area in France near Paris. Before he went to Paris, he hunted down 8 wolves that were killing sheep. It cost him his horse, his 2 beloved Mastiffs, and it nearly cost him his life. Then, a few months after he moved to Paris with his best friend Nick, a 700 year old vampire, who had never made a vampire before, named Magnus turns him into a vampire against Lestat's will. From there on out there are just too many adventures to go into detail about, but he eventually meets up with Louis and Claudia. This is an excellent book. I reccomend this book for anyone over the age of 13.
David_Bremmerton More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles and The Vampire Lestat is my favorite of the series by far. Wherein the hero of Interview with the Vampire (Louis) is a bit on the "poor me" side, here anti-hero Lestat is a classic narcassist with overflowing ego that fully captures the reader's imagination and attention. Awakened in modern day New Orleans, Lestat goes on a quest to become a famous rock star - all the while relating the tale of his upbringing as a young noble in France and his eventual turn into a vampire. One of the best vampire books I've ever read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
They don't get much better than this. A rockstar vampire. This is one of my all time favorite books and I hope it becomes that for you too. Very interesting and exciting read. The movie Queen of the Damned combined this book and the next book, of the same name, and very much sucked compared to the two.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lestat is my favorite character so I really enjoyed reading about his backstory. In my opinion it's the best one in the series. I recommened this book to anyone who likes vampire books.
Jillsy More than 1 year ago
if you love lestat, then hearing his story will capitavate you. i 100% fell in love with him, for all of his flaws and all of his good qualities.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book mainly because i love Lestat. This was the first book in the series that i read. DO NOT DO THAT, START FROM BOOK 1. I fell in love with it anyway. I liked some of the actors in Queen of the Damned but that movie was one of the worst book recreations ever. Always read the book before you see the movie. READ THIS BOOK!!!
kelkel77 More than 1 year ago
Not as good as the first by far, but worth it. I continued on with the rest of the Chronicles and insist this one would make you loss out on the rest if skipped. A must read as crazy fiction goes. And good to know if you want to stop loathing Lestat.
Rynny More than 1 year ago
From the very first book my fav person was Lestat! This book is one of my favs of all time! The characters seem so real. When I was reading it, I felt like I was in another world!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love Anne Rice Novels!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mistress_Nyte More than 1 year ago
This second book of the Vampire Chronicles is by far superior to Interview. Each character that touches Lestat's life is beautifully fleshed out, and made as real as Lestat himself. It's wonderful to have this book turn your feelings for a character completely around, because in Interview, Lestat is made out to be such the bad guy, or at least someone who is not very nice. This story turns it around, and you learn who Lestat is, and why he did what he did to Louis in Interview. I can only strive to someday have a book written that is as wonderfully descriptive and full of every emotion possible as Anne Rice did with this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. Plain and simple. I frequintly give copies of it as gifts. Highly recomended
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When you read this book it want to be a vampire to with the power that they have
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you read Interview with the Vampire you have to read the second in the series. Lestats story is sooo much more enthralling. I didnt want it to end. Now to see what Queen of the Damned has in store