×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Van Halen
     

Van Halen

4.5 12
by Van Halen
 

See All Formats & Editions

Any band that has the audacity to begin its debut album with the bass player plucking quarter notes on an open E-string had better deliver, and Van Halen do -- with a vengeance. Honing their craft on the club scene for years, Van Halen emerged in 1978 with an instant classic that featured the blistering guitar work of Eddie Van Halen, the madcap histrionics of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Van Halen 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Robert_P More than 1 year ago
One of the best debuts of all-time. Tons of energy, fun songs, sing/shout along choruses and guitar work that revolutionized the instrument. Come for the massive radio hits ("Running with the Devil", "You Really Got Me", "Ain't Talking Bout Love") and stay for the jaw-dropping, electric deep cuts ("I'm the One", "On Fire", "Atomic Punk")
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This album is AMAZING. With tracks like: Eruption, Runnin' With The Devil, You Really Got Me, and Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love, HOW CAN THIS ALBUM BE BAD? I really like "Ice Cream Man", its transition from acoustic to electric guitar is really cool. Eddie Van Halen's talent on the guitar really shows on this album. If you really like hard rock guitar then you must buy this album, as my old guitar teacher would say: "You can't go wrong with Eddie Van Halen".
Guest More than 1 year ago
1978, when VH first made their self-titled album, eruption, i think on this album was probably one of the most influential %#!@in' solos ever made. I mean come on man, a f***** minute forty two, hammer on hammer off tapping, two handed finger tapping, this song was the reason that made me start playing the f***** guitar. And start my own band. EVH is my mother f***** hero.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This album probably re-defined guitar playing forever. Eddie took some of Jimmy Page/Tony Iommi and took it to another level. Eruption started a new era in guitar. Probably the best hard rock album in the late 70's, when Van Halen was at its peak. Too bad it was a time bomb fueled by an ego-maniac singer.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have to tell you that this is one of my favorite albums ever. Every song on this album is excellent. Erupton with a frantic, fast-paced, two handed-tapping mayhem guitar solo. Ain't Talkin' Bout Love's excellent guitar riff. On Fire's crazy screaming and nice rythmic beat. Ice Cream Man's excellent transitioning from acoustic (David Lee Roth) to the elictrifying electric guitar (Eddie) and the solo. Runnin' with the Devil's excellent chorus, guitar riffs, and background screaming. Jamies Cryin' fun to listen to song (hard to explain this one). Little Dreamers good guitar riff and chorus and alot of other things that makes this album awesome. Eddie Van Halen is one of my rock guitar idols. So far I have learned how to play every single song that involved Van Halen. all and all, if you are a Van Halen fan like me this should be your number 1 choice. Also look out for me, I have formed my band called Black Pheonix and my group is going to bring an onsluaght of old-school rock 'n roll. Featuring me: lead guitars, keyborads Kenny Louis: bass, vocals John Daichi Todokoro: drums. Our group is going to be similar to Rush, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, and definetly Van Halen.
AudiophileBrian More than 1 year ago
What a shame. This is one of the releases from the 70s that deserves a top notch remastering job and pressing. It got neither from Warner and Kevin Grey. I compared my 30+ year old original vinyl to this supposedly better 180 gram pressing and I could not have been more dissappointed. Roth's vocals all but dissappeared on the reissue. E-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g is muddy. Low end has no punch or definition, mids are a jumbled mess and the high end has no air or detail whatsoever. Granted these original master tapes are over 30 years old so I would imagine only so much information can be derived from them but come on, this job isn't even close to being good. If you can find a copy of the original vinyl pressing.....grab it. I'm keeping my original and giving it a good disc doctor treatment. I'm givig this reissue away....as soon as I can.
dauschielover More than 1 year ago
If you don't have this CD, you've got to get it. It's more like a "best of" than a debut. All the songs are hits. I first heard Van Halen in the 70s with "You Really Got Me" and have been a fan ever since (and that was when I was in middle school-really!) David Lee Roth is the ultimate VH lead man. This CD is the best.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This album is awesome from start to finish, and it features the hits &quot Runnin' With The Devil&quot , a cover of The Kinks' &quot You Really Got Me&quot , &quot Jamie's Cryin'&quot , and &quot Eruption&quot , which is definately for the guitar enthusiasts to learn, and for keyboardists too, because not only you could do the piano, but you can use the guitar sound on the electric keyboards too. This album is way before Wolfgang Van Halen's birth, whom he would replace Michael Anthony on bass, who in fact was the founding bassist, but features the debut of David Lee Roth who would help launch one of the greatest bands, who would one day be, Rock and Roll Hall of Famers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago