×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Vanishing Point
     

The Vanishing Point

4.2 26
by Mary Sharratt
 

See All Formats & Editions


In the tradition of Philippa Gregory’s smart, transporting fiction comes this tale of dark suspense, love, and betrayal, featuring two star-crossed sisters, one lost and the other searching.

Bright and inquisitive, Hannah Powers was raised by a father who treated her as if she were his son. While her beautiful and reckless sister, May, pushes the limits of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Vanishing Point 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Two words... Loved it. This book is a page turner, I couldn't put it down. Then, finally the end came and I just sat there wanting more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Keep you wanting more,very powerful in the power of love and faith. Let you guess the end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I read it in 3 days, an utter page turner. Though I am upset about the ending (Dont want to ruin anything) But i would definately recommend this book if you are a Philippa GRegory fan
Guest More than 1 year ago
THE VANISHING POINT is the best novel I have read this year--a literary page turner with complex characters and a fantastically atmospheric setting the wildnerness of colonial Maryland. It's romantic, suspenseful, heartbreaking, and the ending is absolutely transcendent. I loved all the gritty details, such as the lives of the indentured servants, and I especially loved Adele, the shadow catcher's daughter from Martinique. All these historical details woven together made for an unforgettable read. I am recommending this one to my book group and all my friends. A lot novels these days are a chore to read, but this one sweeps you away and you're immediately immersed in its world. It's a beautiful, haunting story that kept me thinking and reflecting after I read the last page. Hannah, May, and Gabriel will stay with me for a long time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Tragic and sweet.....great read. I loved this book. It has been such a long time since I found a book that kept me reading all night and on my breaks at work. This book had it all. I could not wait to find out the next clue to it all. And sooo sad!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This novel is a fantastic blend of thriller, historical fiction, the supernatural, and great storytelling. The characters are vibrant, sympathetic, and unforgetable. I was deeply drawn into their lives. You also learn a lot of history in the colonial American period. The details were so rich, I thought I was there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a tragic tale about love and how lack of faith can destroy all. Very haunting. If you want a happy ending, this book won't give it to you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OHARADN More than 1 year ago
Well written. Intriguing. Heart-breaking, I couldn't help but cry through the last few pages. Great plot & character development. I liked the authors use of first person accounting for all 3 of the main characters, in alternating chapters to see the truth unfold. I look forward to reading more from this author. I devoured this book in 2 days! I was totally invested in what would become of Hannah & Gabriel & what really happened to May.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kenziejb More than 1 year ago
Imagine being a woman in the early American Colonies. Life was hard and finding an identity was next to impossible. This is the story of two very different sisters who attempt to give reason to thier choosen lives and who struggle with the social norms of the time. This is an easy and enjoyable read. I found myself getting attached to characters I normally would not identify with and wondering how I would have fared in this setting. A must read for anyone struggling to find thier identity or for anyone looking for a unique read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bonnie824 More than 1 year ago
The characters are unusual and three dimensional. The plot is not truly original, but it is original for a historical set in the 17th century. It is easy to read, enjoyable, and will stay on my keeper bookshelf.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
crimekitty763 More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed with this book. I thought it dragged in several places. The story skipped around quite often and was somewhat confusing to read. This was a book that I had to force myself to continue reading. I would not recommend this book for true historical fiction readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was ok for the most part...it was filled with little details and descriptions of life that sometimes were redundant, but the end was simply riveting. Don't read this book if you want a simple cookie-cut story that always has a happy ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can this come title out for the Nook, please.