×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

VB6: Eat Vegan Before 6:00 to Lose Weight and Restore Your Health . . . for Good
     

VB6: Eat Vegan Before 6:00 to Lose Weight and Restore Your Health . . . for Good

4.1 32
by Mark Bittman
 

See All Formats & Editions

If you’re one of the millions who have thought of trying a vegan diet but fear it’s too monotonous or unfamiliar, or simply don’t want to give up the foods you love to eat, VB6 will introduce a new, flexible, and quite simply better way of eating you can really live with for life.

Six years ago, an overweight, pre-diabetic Mark Bittman

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

VB6: Eat Vegan Before 6:00 to Lose Weight and Restore Your Health . . . for Good 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To all the reviewers complaining that the author isn't really a vegan, allow me to point out that he is not claiming to be.  He is suggesting that people incorporate some vegan recipes into their diet in order to cut down on the junk and meat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think the book presents a series of very logical ideas. While the author understands what it means to be a vegan, he doesn't claim to be one. He does make a compelling argument that reducing animal-based foods in favor of unprocessed plant-based foods is good for both personal health and the health of the planet.  The ideas aren't new, but they are succinctly presented along with a strategy for implementation that is feasible for a broad range of people. Is it better to be a true vegan than "VB6"? Probably!  As an individual who does observe a vegan diet, I applaud Bittman's effort to shift toward a more sustainable one, even if it's only before 6! 
AikiPen More than 1 year ago
Absolutely enjoyed this book. He doesn't claim to be a vegan but he does promote that most of your food should be plant based. He is promoting a lifestyle not a diet. The whole point is being flexible. Yeah, he messes up but the next meal is right back on track. It feels highly doable. My biggest gripe is with the nook edition, many of the recipes have places where amounts don't show up just a ? in a box, I suspect they are fractions. It is kind of hard without the measurements. For example the Miso soup recipe calls for ? cups of miso. Guess I'll research other miso soup recipes and try to figure out the right ratio.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cannot believe how stupid these commenters are going on and on about "he has know idea what a vegan is, how can he say he's vegan, blah, blah ,blah. You . morons . are . not . getting . the . point. He's just saying to eat like a vegan for a part of the day so your caloric intake is lower and you can lose weight, he's not saying YOU ARE OFFICIALLY A BONAFIDE VEGAN FROM THE MOMENT YOU WAKE UP UNTIL 6PM. There's nothing wrong with people eating vegan part time. Not everyone is out to save the world with their diet some people just want to lose weight and be healthier Just get over yourselves already.
alwayslearningIA More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. It's a good plan to follow to enable a person to experience the vegan way of eating without giving up meat. It emphasizes giving up sweets, sugars and fats which is good, basic, healthy eating. I eat mostly vegan, but once in a while I do eat meat and dairy, especially when that is the only choices offered when eating out. I recommend this book to anyone interested in healthy eating.
meac More than 1 year ago
Mark Bittman's writing appeals to me: he does meticulous research and then pulls it all together in a succinct and easy to read prose. I always knew that eating fruits, veggies, and whole grains were healthy, but Mr. Bittman explains why this is true by describing how the body digests all foods. Once you know this, you will want to limit your intake of processed foods for good! He quickly but thoroughly explains the science behind his plan, and then lays out the plan (complete with recipes) in a way that's easy to follow. Some people may think VB6 is just another gimmick, but it's actually a fairly easy and healthy way to live. His promise is true: if you follow this plan, you can maintain a healthy weight and lifestyle without having to count calories or points.
SPFL More than 1 year ago
Straight forward helpful and intelligent
BoysRGreat More than 1 year ago
Bittman's approach brings back to the table the color and variety of eating that previous generations of "kitchen garden" eaters experienced. His recipes are simple, adaptable, and tasty, too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book because I had previously bought Mark Bittman's "How to Cook Everything Vegetarian." I also bought it because I liked what I read in the introduction - that Mark Bittman's doctor told him that he should be a vegan because he had a few health problems that could be resolved with a change in his diet. This book is filled with good advice and recipes. However, I'm giving it three stars because I felt it lacked a more personal revelation about Mr. Bittman. I've read many vegetarian/vegan books and Mr. Bittman reveals the same information that I've read countless times. I think I was just looking for more of how making the change affected HIS life rather than boilerplate statistics. It was still a very good read and the recipes aren't filled with crazy ingredients that you have to search high and low to obtain. It's a great read for anyone who is struggling with their eating habits and wants to become healthy. Mr. Bittman certainly isn't the first food author to suggest limiting meat consumption, but the way he lays out his plan certainly makes sense and it simplifies the diet and I think many people could benefit from this advice. It's difficult at first, but with consistency and determination, VB6 is a diet that CAN be followed with little thought.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This sounds like a great idea, I am started the diet today. I was Vegan for about 4 months a couple of years ago, I am also diabetic, when I went for my 4 months check up, my Triglycerides was up to 269, so my doctor said no vegan, I loved eating that way, made me feel good. so I think since its not all the way vegan, I get animal protein at night it may help. We will see when the Blood work come back. I am hoping to lose weight as well.
KittyKat5 More than 1 year ago
I liked this book a lot. It isn't a diet book, but practical information I can take and apply everyday. It isn't about a drastic change, but little things you can gradually do to improve your eating habits. I've tried a couple of the recipes and they are very good. If you want to start eating less animal products, this gives great easy ideas and ways to accomplish that,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So good :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good, soud advice and information. I like his philosophical bases for eating less meat and processed food (health, environment, animal cruelty, evolutionary roots, etc.) which strengthen your resolve to eat real food. Plus, I admire anyone who has the guts to criticize powerful corporations that have the public interest as their last concern.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago