×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Vefa's Kitchen
     

Vefa's Kitchen

3.3 22
by Vefa Alexiadou
 

"Vefa's Kitchen" is the first authoritative and all-encompassing Greek recipe book in English. Doing for Greek cuisine what the hugely successful "Silver Spoon" did for Italian, it contains more than 700 fully updated, straightforward and mouthwatering recipes. Aimed at all lovers of Mediterranean food, the book will appeal to anyone who loves to cook easy,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Vefa's Kitchen 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My fist greek cook book was one of Vefa's and I am a big fan. I grew up in a home with a greek grandmother (Yaya) and she was an incredible cook. Vefa's recipes reflect that same old world cooking with recipes from all regions of greece, beautiful illustrations compliment the dishes. I highly recommend this book.
Marne More than 1 year ago
This is a fabulous cookbook, whether or not you're looking specifically for Greek recipes. I can't imagine the research that went into writing this book. It's fabulous! I bought one for my new daughter-in-law who was honeymooning in Greece, then loved it so much I went back to get another for myself! Congratulations to the author on a wonderful accomplishment!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PlainJaneVA More than 1 year ago
Amazing how these simple recipes can recreate my favorite memories of Sunday dinners at friends' homes and tavernas in Cyprus and elsewhere around the Mediterranean! The books is enormous, but it really has everything, broken down in ways that easily allow for successful improvisation. I've had far better success with this than any other Greek cookbook, and only Claudia Roden can compare in capturing the essence of the Mediterranean in an American kitchen. The photographs are lovely, but I do wish the type were a little darker. I also like that "Vefa's" includes so much regional cuisine, including the Mediterranean island of Cyprus.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been searching for a comprehensive Greek cookbook. Here it is. Easy to use, not a lot of ingredients that are difficult to find - though octopus is not available at my fish monger or supermarket - thoroughly explains procedures. Really a user friendly cookbook. You may develop muscles lifting it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would love to be able to review this book, which I was very excited about, but have not yet received it since ordering it in early April! And there seems to be no end in sight since there is still no delivery date.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I also was very excited about this book and ordered in May. A month later I was told it was out of stock. I have contacted customer service about this and all they can tell me is to keep waiting. I'm unsure if they'll ever get more in stock since it is out of print at many other places. I wish I had known this when ordering...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I join the previous two reviews in being very excited about ordering two copies of this book, highly recommended by a friend. I ordered them early in March; one for myself, the second as a birthday gift for my daughter's birthday on April 20th. I e-mailed customer service and they told me my books were expected to ship on June 8th. It is June 21st and still no word. An updated expected date of shipment would be greatly appreciated.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After waiting since May for the book and no satisfaction from Barne's & Noble, I contacted the publisher who responded quickly that the book won't be out again till October and thanked me for my patience.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ordered April 13 - expected shipping changed to May 26... I don't want to cancel my order, I want to receive the book. BN: when can I expect to receive it (it was supposed to be a Mothers-Day gift)?