×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Vegan for Life: Everything You Need to Know to Be Healthy and Fit on a Plant-Based Diet
     

Vegan for Life: Everything You Need to Know to Be Healthy and Fit on a Plant-Based Diet

4.3 18
by Jack Norris, Virginia Messina
 

See All Formats & Editions

Are you considering going vegan, but you're not sure how to start? Are you already committed to an animal-free diet, but are unclear about how to get proper nutrients? Vegan for Life is your comprehensive, go-to guide for optimal plant-based nutrition. Registered dietitians and long-time vegans Jack Norris and Virginia Messina debunk some of the most persistent

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Vegan for Life 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Gary_Loewenthal More than 1 year ago
I would recommend this book to anyone who eats or is considering a vegan diet. It's packed with no-nonsense, science-based facts and sensible, doable recommendations. It avoids unsubstantiated claims either for against vegan diets, and shows, in an easy-to-read style, how a well-planned vegan diet can be healthy and rewarding.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I recently became vegan and I have been on the lookout for a guide book. This book was exactly what I wanted. It answered all my questions. It tells you what and how much you need of everything. It has charts, ideas for stocking your pantry, recipes and menus. I love how straight forward it is!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are interested in becoming a vegan, or already are one but are looking to ensure maximum benefit from being one, I highly recommend this book for you. Vegan for Life answered many of my questions about nutrition, how to become vegan, what to avoid, and how much of each food group you should be eating each day. The book was extremely helpful in showing what the daily life of a vegan looks like. It lays out a variety of recommended meals (and even supplies recipes!) while going into specific details about age groups and genders specific needs. The book taught me what vitamins are essential and how to ensure I’m getting enough, and what symptoms to look for in my health to make sure I’m one the right path. The only thing I was not thrilled about with this book is it is extremely biased. From cover to cover they never mention the down sides of being a vegan. Sure they say it is hard in the beginning and takes some getting used to, but they avoid topics like how much extra time goes into planning for this diet, how in some cities finding vegan food is almost impossible, and what mal nourishment can do to your body long term if you don’t plan correctly. Before becoming a vegan I would definitely research the negative aspects harder, but for positive reasons this book is chalk full of them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great for beginning a journey to a Vegan Life. Simple and direct information.
Raleigh_Reader More than 1 year ago
There's really nothing new in this book. A better choice would be "Becoming Vegan: The Complete Guide to Adopting a Healthy Plant-Based Diet" by Brenda Davis which is more comprehensive and balanced.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Vegan for Life is a very informational book. It is filled from front to back cover with extremely useful nutritional information, recipes, and data charts. I loved how in depth it went on where nutrients that are lacked by a vegan diet can be found otherwise in foods, not pills. I also loved that it gave tons of meal suggestions for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. On the contrary, I didn’t like that the book often became repetitive in its guide. I also didn’t think that it had enough information on studies to be talking about them sometimes. People who are interested in becoming vegan or who are already vegan would love to read this book. Even for people like me, who just wanted to learn more about a vegan lifestyle and what it entails, it gives a great informational background. It gives a fantastic guide on how to become vegan or how to improve your vegan lifestyle. However, I believe that people who enjoy their meat and milk every day, will have no use for this book. I do not think this book should be made into a movie however, because it doesn’t really have a plot of any kind or tell a story, so it would be very difficult to watch. If it were turned into a movie it would be more of a documentary than a movie. The writing style has some humor in it, but it is mostly factual writing because it contains nutritional information that is straight forward. Overall, I would give this book an overall rating of 4 stars out of 5.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A well organized, easy reference for vegan nutrition!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had been limiting my meat meal for months, and decided it was time to make this my regular life. I had omitted a couple of things I needed nutritionally, and I had a few misconceptions that this book cleared up. A little more knowledge is always good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He is a WWE superstar and is a vegan. He should read this book.
karebear30 More than 1 year ago
Love It!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not only is this required reading material for every vegan old and new it is also a helpful resource packed with information about veganism, common misconceptions and then some. It uses evidence of the best practice and evidence on the latest studies for quite a few different subjects, although some of the resources are outdated (2002) it is still a valuable and cherished resource in my nook. I would suggest it especially to new vegans and even for the old ones who have seen it all. This book is simply a great reference and read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed. Informative. Good ideas and tools to help the unknowing get the knowlegde they need to make the transition. U