×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Vegan with a Vengeance: Over 150 Delicious, Cheap, Animal-Free Recipes That Rock
     

Vegan with a Vengeance: Over 150 Delicious, Cheap, Animal-Free Recipes That Rock

4.4 49
by Isa Chandra Moskowitz, Neje Bailey (Other), Geoffery Tischman (Photographer)
 

See All Formats & Editions

In Vegan with a Vengeance, Isa Chandra Moskowitz, host of the community access vegan cooking show The Post Punk Kitchen, brings the do-it-yourself, community-driven ethos of punk rock into the kitchen. Her cooking philosophy embraces being kind to animals (all recipes are completely animal-product free) and your wallet—while being creative and having fun in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Vegan With a Vengeance 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 49 reviews.
Venus_in_Faux_Furs More than 1 year ago
Not only are the recipes in this book awesomely delicious, they are quick an easy! If you ever wished for a vegan alternative for anything, you will find it here in this book!
A must have for any vegan, vegetarian, or anyone who loves yummy food. Isa is guarunteed to shatter even the most die-hard meat eaters stereoypes about vegan food.
I cannot say enough about this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The 1st weekend after purchasing this book 'along with Veganomicon' I tried not one, not two, but count it- FOUR recipes. You have to try- the Coconut Heaven Cupcakes - mine came out so well, I skipped my Saturday afternoon run- to dance around the kitchen and eat cupcakes ' I don¿t recommend you do this TOO often'. This is a great book chopped full of easy recipes- even for a newly minted vegetarian.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What I love about this cookbook is its excellent organization. The table of contents is divided by chapter and then under each chapter is a list of every single recipe in the chapter. Brilliant! Although I am not a vegan, nor a vegetarian, just someone who is into eating healthier and eating primarily organic foods, there are a LOT of things in this cookbook I would make. What is especially appealing to me is the muffins & sweet treats section. The one thing that I wish this book covered was veganism & nutrition. I would have liked to know how vegan's tailor their diets to get all the recommended vitamins, minerals, etc... I also wish each recipe had a breakdown by serving of calories, fat grams, protein grams, etc....
TheReadingWriter More than 1 year ago
O.M.G. I should have known, after using Veganomicon for a couple of years, that the cookbook that launched Isa Chandra Moskowitz was bound to be a keeper. Isa credits Terry Hope Romero with the Chili Sin Carne recipe that ROCKS with its own calypso band on days 2 and 3. Make it a day early if you've guests coming and this recipe will stay in your memory forever. And the Macadamia-Coconut-Carrot Cake is, without exaggeration, the far-and-away BEST carrot cake I have ever encountered. I probably would use 1/4-1/2 cup less sugar because I am not enamored of sweets so sweet, but let's not quibble. This is pure, unadulterated GENIUS. I am a fan. If everyone knew that going meatless was so bloody delicious, this would end any argument. I almost feel like laughing when I hear "don't tell them it's vegan"--as though unaugmented vegetable matter were something queer. But what strikes me again, after working my way through Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World and The Joy of Vegan Baking, is how baked goods suffer not at all from lack of eggs or milk products. In fact, these baked goods are among the best I have ever tasted. Full stop.
moonbeamangst More than 1 year ago
Crazy amazing! Recipies for all skill levels and tastes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Both my husband and I became vegan about 2 years ago and this was the first cookbook we bought. The recipes are excellent and easy to whip up ... each time we tried a different one, it became our new favorite. We use the tahini dressing with A LOT of our mixed veggie bowls. You'll love it!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVE this book. Everything I have made is wonderful. I am new to Veganism and this book gives great range in flavors. I look forward to cooking everyday.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this book- the recipes rock. I am SUPER SUPER SUPER UPSET AND DISAPPOINTED by how many errors and mess ups are in this book. Someone did a really poor job when changing this book to digital for the Nook. It's very crappily put together.
CarmenMCO More than 1 year ago
This cookbook rocks. It has a sense of humor (some tips are written by her cat), tips and techniques, and delicious recipes. I've made the carrot cake twice to rave reviews, and the pumpkin oatmeal cookies many, many times - mostly by request as my non-veg friends love them!
Carclimbs More than 1 year ago
I don't use a lot of soy products - if you abstain from them, you may want to look elsewhere...a lot here.

Great ideas, flavor profiles in recipes...
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've purchased a lot of books in the past few months: Pynchon's latest, Karl Marx, LSAT review, quantum physics, but this book proved the most valuable. The sweet potato crepes made my wife's eyes bug out. I've done about a dozen recipes, and they are easy and restaurant quality. And by now, I sort of have the gist of vegan cooking. I feel like I've cheated or something because there's not much thought involved, but it's really just about combining spices and flavorings. I usually leave out about half the recommended spices. It still works. You should get some people who are hostile about vegan food and try this stuff out on them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
All the recipes I tried were delicious and easy to make. I especially enjoyed the Pumpkin Waffles, Sunny Blueberry Muffuns & Coconut Heaven Cupcakes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is worth its weight in GOLD! Try every recipe. You won't be disappointed with any of them. I was a little skeptical of how some flavors may mix in a couple of the recipes. Isa knows what she's doing and does it beautifully. This book is for ALL you foodies out there. My husband is neither a vegan nor vegetarian, and he has loved each and every single recipe I've made from this book. My friends all scarf down the muffins I bring to work. One even asked if I bought them at a specialty bakery. The joy I used to get from cooking has now been restored to me. No more frustratingly boring recipes of stir fry tofu and rice. Isa is a genius!
Anonymous 7 months ago
Kiss your hand three times post this on three other books look under your pillow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Of the many vegan cookbooks that i own (including all of those by mz. Moskowitz) this is my favorite...new to veganism or those who have been following a plant-based diet for years cannot go wrong with this cookbook
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you try just one thing please try the pomegranate tofu!!! To die for! It will hook you to try every single recipe in the book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cathy Galloway More than 1 year ago
Everything I have tried so far is good. I love her joy and sense of fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ThatFeistyVegan More than 1 year ago
Being a vegan does not mean I want nothing but carrots and tofu all day every day. I'm not knocking carrots and tofu - I just have other interests! I come back to this book over and over. The recipes tend to be easy. Isa provides great tips for simplifying or making it work with what you've got. No tofu press? No worries! Grab a couple towels and let's go! Side Note: Don't think for a second the ethnic recipes in this book are authentic; but they'll be tasty and served with attitude. This is a no-nonsense cookbook, so don't expect as many pretty pictures either. The Punk Points and periodic inserts give you great information about veganism and vegan basics. You'll get every day, great recipes that will be requested again and again. Enjoy!