×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone
     

Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone

4.1 42
by Deborah Madison
 

See All Formats & Editions

The tenth anniversary edition of this landmark cookbook, with more than 325,000 copies in print, includes a new introduction from Deborah Madison, America’s leading authority on vegetarian cooking.

What Julia Child is to French cooking, Deborah Madison is to vegetarian cooking—a demystifier and definitive guide to the subject. After her many

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book many years ago when it was $40 and I considered it well worth the price, then. I have given it as a gift and plan to do so again. There's a reason why it won Book of the Year, The Julia Child Cookbook Award and the James Beard Foundation Award for Excellence. I have used it often and have not made anything I didn't like. The great wilted spinach salad recipe with quick pickled red onions comes to mind as does an olive oil cake that is fragrant and light. Madison really knows her stuff, but her voice is never stuffy. She gives you LOTS of practical tips alongside the recipes, for e.g., what to look for when buying vegetables in the store, different ways to cook them, serving suggestions, accompaniments for a meal, or how long the dishes will keep. No the book doesn't have glossy photos, just tasteful sketch type renderings; but the author also doesn't assume you are an expert either. I will say though that if you NEED pictures then maybe a Cooking 101 type cookbook is more your speed; Rather it's for people who aren't that familiar with how to cook vegetables in a way that is good tasting and satisfying, and for those who know that there's more to parsley than garnish on a plate, it strives to be a bit innovative in the kinds of recipes it offers. In short, this is a GREAT cookbook overall and a worthy addition to any reasonably knowledgeable cook's library. Get it while you can!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is educational about cooking in general and specifically with vegetables. Many recipes could be main dishes for non-vegans by adding chicken etc. Teaches principles that can be applied to other recipes. Comprehensive. Unique and interesting. I have prepared vegetable dishes for 40 years and have learned new information. Recipes are very good. Uses normal ingredients for the most part. Includes whole grains. Has some tofu if you like tofu (I don't). Beans, salads, hearty foods, grains, etc. It has over 700 pages and has what you want and need to add interesting vegetables to your diet! This is an excellent cookbook for anyone, since most people eat vegetables. If you cook for someone who professes to hate vegetables try some of these recipes to change their opinion and improve their health.
Guest More than 1 year ago
've been hunting for a good vegetarian cookbook for some time and Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone is it! In addition to terrific recipes, this is also a how-to cookbook. As a former caterer and chef, I do know quite a bit about cooking and found that I still learned and I agreed with her on those things I already knew. Good techniques. I'm glad the book is hardcover, because I tend to be rough on cookbooks and this will hold up. One suggestion that I do in all my cookbooks is to comment on a recipe after I make it. After all, it's not easy to remember not only if we made something, but if we liked it. There are already a lot of **** and 'delicious' written beside the recipes. I already cook with a nice variety of vegetables, but this year decided to try any and all vegetables. Madison is my first stop for suggestions on different and interesting ways to cook the veggies. Have been very satisfied with results. One caveat--she uses more salt than I like, so be careful. Author of the award winning book, Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify and Energize Your Life, Your Home and Your Planet
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful cookbook for Vegetarians. Lots of greast recipes!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was given this book as a gift from my mother when it first came out in '97. The best thing about this book is not the recipes (though they are great) but the cooking advice that Madison devotes quite a few chapters to. Also wonderful is the entire chapter devoted to every singe vegetable you could ever encounter. For a new cook, and/or new vegetarian this is a great way to learn how to make truly fabulous vegetarian food. I turn to this book again and again for new ideas, and I don't think I will ever get tired of it because there is just so much in here!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm going to have to replace my much-used book with another because of wear and tear. It's my go-to book for how to cook vegetables. I'm no vegetarian, but I do like to try a variety of veggies. Great recipes for bread and desserts, too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have had this book for 12 years, got it as a wedding gift after I married a vegetarian.  I love this book, the way the recipes are organized is great!  So good I have given in to many new brides, vegetarian or meat eaters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best all around cookbooks. Everyone can roast, grill or bake a meat dish and serve it will everything in this book. Also, many of these recipes are a meal on their own. One of my three favorite books.
MomOfGuero More than 1 year ago
This is a great reference for people who have mastered technique. The chef assumes you have and does not explain the processes. It uses many widely available ingredients that are fairly insexpensive, which makes cooking from this very inexpensive. We'll be getitng a lot of use out of it in this economy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
leelee70 More than 1 year ago
I do not give 5 stars to anything often. But this book is a book you will want in your library if you are a cooks cook. If you are new to cooking, it is a godsend to help you understand what EVERYTHING else but animal protein is on the planet, how to cook it, store it, what it looks like, how it grows. It is just an amazingly well written cookbook that deserves a page turn! I originally bought it as a friend of mine is vegan. i ended up loving this book so much that I couldn't part with it, i talked myself into the idea that I needed to have it here, for when he comes for dinner :-).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kathykod More than 1 year ago
This book has so much information about "how to" almost everything. It is a great beginner/starter book - lots of techniques or margin comments that add to the overall value of the book. What's missing is some more pictures of actual items. The organization of the book was less than desirable to me, but it makes sense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago