×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Veil of Night
     

Veil of Night

3.6 277
by Linda Howard
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

In this thrilling novel of romantic suspense, Linda Howard cordially invites us to an elaborate wedding—one in which rings will never be exchanged, kisses will never be shared, and the bride will never see the light of day, because a killer has been waiting under a
 
VEIL OF NIGHT
 

Jaclyn

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Veil of Night 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 274 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
While paying her traffic ticket fine, Jaclyn Wilde loses her balance and falls into the arms Hopewell, Georgia Police detective Eric Wilder. She likes what she sees (and feels), but has no time for an encounter because as an event planner for Premier, which she co-owns with her mom, they host six weddings in five days. At the end of a brutal day made worse by Carrie "Bridezilla" Edwards, Jaclyn stops off for a drink. Also at the same bar is Eric. The exchange business cards so they can hook up in a week, but lust gets the better of them and they spend a night making love. Carrie fires Jaclyn and slaps her former planner in the face in front of many witnesses. A few hours later, Carrie is found murdered with the weapon being kabob skewers. Eric leads the investigation and as such must treat Jaclyn as a stranger being that she is a prime suspect; although he is positive she is not the killer. He plans to find the killer, keep Jaclyn safe from someone who wants her dead, and somehow regain her trust lost by doing his job. The quality of Linda Howard's romantic suspense novels remains consistently high as affirmed by Veil of Night. The tale is filled with tense intrigue, a strong police procedural investigation, a memorable cast, plenty of humor and a powerful lead couple - the cop and the suspect who go from lust to distrust as Eric performs his job. This is a must read. Harriet Klausner
jordandean More than 1 year ago
I love old school Linda Howard. I mean LOVE. I own them all. This one (as well as the next to last Burn) are not joining my keeper shelf. It was just meh. Sort of a blend of the funny To Die For books w/ Blair, but not as funny, with some of her suspense style. The whodunit part was also pretty flat and reminded me plot-wise of her Blair books too. I guess when you have written this many books plot lines sometimes get reused. I advise getting it from the library or waiting to borrow a friend's copy or just re-read To Die For which was hysterical and original Linda Howard!
TubReader More than 1 year ago
I've had issues before with Linda Howard before as an author because she a has a very strong habit of basically using the same characters over and over again but just giving them different names. However the plot of "Veil of Night" looked interesting to me and I was in need of book to relax with so I purchased it. I will say with this book, my biggest issue was not the characters, I actually found both Eric, Jaclyn and the other supporting characters to be interesting,relatable and humorous. My big complaint about this book was the actually the plot, it revolved around a murder of a bridezilla ( a character who isn't around long but you certainly don't grieve for her) and who did it. Howard has it all but spelled out for you in pretty much the middle of the book(although it is not for the characters) so you're not really left with the anticipation of the resolution of the murder. I will say for anyone interested in this book ( or is just a Linda Howard), just be prepared for a serious lack of suspense and mystery but great chemistry between the two lead characters.
Ronelle More than 1 year ago
To whom do I make a request to get a refund? Linda Howard should be ASHAMED of herself for writing this farce "an empty and patently ridiculous story" and calls it a novel. I've read her earlier books and have been entertained by them; to name a few Dream Man,Mr. Perfect, Dying to Please; Cry no more, is to me the last interesting book supposedly written by her. In the last five years the books with her name as author has been UTTER RUBBISH. I believe Linda Howard has lost her MOJO...or is someone else writting for her....
BLUEEYEBE More than 1 year ago
This is about an event coordinator named Jaclyn who is having a very busy week with six weddings in five days and a bride from hell to deal with in the meantime. It is a light hearted romantic suspense full of suspense, humor and drama. Predictable but fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a frivolous mystery/love story and was cute, but a bit tedious. I'm not sure that I ever even finished it.
DawnBuzy More than 1 year ago
I did not like this book. (Sorry Linda, I am a fan of yours but this was blah.) My recommendations for Linda Howard books: Death Angel Kill and Tell Mr. Perfect And my all time favorite: All the Queen's Men
Colbe Moe More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of linda howard bit this one just didn't make me feel any type of connection with the characters. Frankly I thought the heroine was stuck up and the hero was dull.
Romance_rookie More than 1 year ago
Jaclyn Wilde literally runs into Eric Wilder while dealing with a traffic violation at city hall. They end up later at a bar and have a night of very passionate sex. The next day Eric is called in to investigate the homicide of a young woman. It turns out Jaclyn is the main suspect, seeing as the victim was a young bride and Jaclyn her wedding planner. Jaclyn had been slapped in the face because the "bridezilla" was anything but pleased with Jaclyn's service. Eric has to clear Jaclyn's name and can't play favorites especially because of their former relationship. Veil of Night starts off strong. It has a fast, interesting beginning. Unfortunately, things slowly deteriorate from there. First off, let me state for the record that I cannot be impartial when writing this review. I have been a long time fan of Linda Howard. She is one of my favorite all time authors, however I have been less than enthusiastic with her recent releases. This one included. The problem for me is that I have come to expect a really superb romance, with a strong romantic thread between the hero and heroine. Veil of Night does not deliver in this aspect. While Jaclyn is a fine heroine and Eric a definite hero, the romance is left to the wayside as Howard allows the murder and the details to detract from the main relationship. I can't help but compare Howard's recent work with her former and it just can't compare. I would say that if reading Howard for the first time, there is still something about her writing that can lend itself to intrigue. The characters invite confidence and an easy manner that will draw readers in. The mystery is somewhat ordinary and hard core mystery fans will most likely think that part of the story is weak. Overall, I am not impressed. I just can't help compare Veil of Night to her other work and it just doesn't stand up. It makes me so sad. I just don't want to give up on her books, but what can I do? I don't think I can hang in there any longer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was eagerly awaiting this book because the synopsis sounded more like the Linda Howard I had been reading for years. She had starting writing dark stories that I found unappealing. So I was so hoping for a great read. Unfortunately it was a huge disappointment! The characters were so shallow that I could have cared less about them and the story was thin. Please, Linda, go back to writing the funny and sexy great reads that most Linda Howard fans adore!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
HRHIII More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading the book. It was an easy read. I found the characters quite interesting and I got several chuckles. There wasn't really much mystery or suspense, as it was pretty easy to figure out the 'who dun it' before the middle. But it was fun to see what would come next between Eric and Jaclyn, as the tension and her wit were so thick!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down
mommyboy More than 1 year ago
I have read some of her other books and this one is not up to her usual caliber. it was actually kind of harequinny...and that is an insult as far I am concerned. it sounded like it would be a good read, but it just wasn't worth the time. not a very good mystery or love story either.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I listened to this as an audiobook during long work commutes. Fast paced, entertaining, and totally enjoyable. Loved it.
BookReflections More than 1 year ago
Jaclyn, a wedding planner and worakaholic, finds herself in the busiest of all weeks when she finds herself scheduled for four weddings (not to mention the rehearsal dinners).  Even with the impossible schedule in front of her, she finds that her biggest frustration is Carrie Edwards, the bridezillas of all bridezillas.  When Carrie is found murdered, all eyes turn toward Jaclyn as the last person to see her alive.  With many witnesses to their last altercation, Jacklyn is soon the prime suspect.  Frustrated at finding her busy week even crazier, Jaclyn must endure question after question from Detective Eric Wilder, a man with whom she has a bit of history.  Detective Wilder is determined to find out who murdered Carrie before the case ruins any chance of a future with Jaclyn. I absolutely love Linda Howard and one thing that she usually gets right is the romance.  I found the chemistry between Jaclyn and Eric to be so hot!  I smiled every time they were on a page together.  It just all seemed to fit just right.  The dialogue was so witty and cute.  My only issue with this book is that the mystery was a tad boring.  The entire middle of the book could be taken out and I probably would have cheered.  I almost think the book would have been more interesting with Carrie alive than dead.  Now SHE is a character that can raise some eyebrows.  Things started getting a bit boring after she was murdered.  This is a case where the beginning of the book was just too fun and exciting for the good of the rest of the book. While I would recommend reading this book, I'd say to check it out of the library if you can.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago