×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Very Quiet Cricket
     

The Very Quiet Cricket

4.2 18
by Eric Carle
 

See All Formats & Editions


The Very Quiet Cricket

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Very Quiet Cricket 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
debbspink More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for my daughter and my classroom when I was teaching. They all loved it, especially the surprise at the end!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It didn't work. There was no cricket sound at the end of the story. I had to spend money to return it. Was very disappointed. I am sure that is rare.
grandmaGA More than 1 year ago
This story is written so well that my granchildren love to hear it read over and over. The "suspense" builds with each page and they love it! Will the very quiet cricket ever be able to make a noise? As a grandmother, I never tire of reading it. It also teches the names of some other insects. Buy it! You'll love it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Aside from this being a cute story, my 12 month old son loves this book because of the chirping the cricket does at the end of the story. He will find the book and open to the last page to hear the chirping and then he proudly shows us what he has found.
swillard More than 1 year ago
It's a little long and repetitive but my son loves it! He just turned two and he likes to say "But nothing happened, not a sound." Then we chirp at the end. I use the book I had when I was a kid and it's still going strong with the chirping. Must be a good battery. This book is a wonderful addition to your collection.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WP_Mom More than 1 year ago
My kids (4 & 2 years old) both love this one. I think it has to do with how the little cricket has to try and try to succeed, just like them, and also the nice cricket noises at the end. Plus boys love bugs (they're both boys.) Usual Eric Carle quality illustrations. Good for bedtime since the cricket noise (unlike the Thomas books that make noise) does not make them get over-excited!
Rhaylin More than 1 year ago
This book is wonderful! I remember reading it when I was a child and now I can read it to my son. The only bummer was that I ordered online and when the book arrived the battery was dead so I had to go out and buy more batteries.
amantedelivro More than 1 year ago
I bought this for my niece and found it very zen and calming. The writer and illustrator created this beautiful quiet book really appreciating these colorful creatures. I recommended it highly to my brother who purchased it when i visited a week later I found the best part of the book didn't work. The book is about a little cricket that meets several insects one by one and tries to communicate with them so he rubs his wings together but nothing happens until the last page when he meets another cricket, you turn the page and you hear the beautiful summer night sound of crickets chirping, but not in this copy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
loves-to-read-to-kids More than 1 year ago
This is not my favorite book by Eric Carle, but it is still a great book. I love reading this to my almost 3 yar old son, and 10 month old daughter. My son can go through the book and name off all the insects the cricket meets. Both kids especailly love the cricket "chirping" at the end. It's a very cute book to add to any collection.
Booklady27 More than 1 year ago
I love most of Eric Carle's books, but this is one of my favorites. It is a colorful book, a good story, and the best part is that the cricket is actually able to make his chirping sound at the end (there is a mechanism in the back of the book that makes the sound when you turn to the last page).
Guest More than 1 year ago
My son is 19 months old, and this has been his favorite book for almost a year! We have the 'multi sensory' one, where you can actually HEAR the cricket on the last page..it's wonderful! He asks for it over & over, night after night, and it's repetitive enough, that after a few dozen readings, Mommy knows it by heart! ha!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has a repeating pattern that children can easily read along to. Also, the sound of the cricket singing at the end is a great surprise for little ones.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My son is behind in speech due to a genetic disorder. He gets frustrated trying to communicate. He adores this book as do I. This is perfect for schools, daycares, speech therapists, etc. that deal with children that are 'very quiet.'