×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Vespers Rising (The 39 Clues Series #11)
     

Vespers Rising (The 39 Clues Series #11)

4.5 245
by Rick Riordan, Peter Lerangis, Gordon Korman, Jude Watson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Defend the Clues

Fourteen-year-old Amy Cahill and her younger brother, Dan, thought they could return to their regular lives when they found the 39 Clues that safeguard their family's great power. But they were wrong. Powerful enemies—the Vespers—have been waiting in the shadows. And they'll stop at nothing to grab the Clues. Four powerhouse authors

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Vespers Rising (The 39 Clues Series #11) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 244 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
39 clues book 11 was different from the rest because it wasn't totally focused on Amy and Dan. You find out Gideon's, Madeleine's, and Grace's past with the Vespers and then learn of Amy and Dan's first confrontation with them. It shows you what life will be like without the clue hunt and how the Vespers could be so much worse than the meanest Cahill's! How is that possible, right!? I also think all of the authors did a great job. As the Black Eyed Peas sing "I wouldn't want to have it any other way,I'm addicted and I just can't get enough!" so all you former clue hunters, go read book 11!
BookladyBA More than 1 year ago
This is one of my all time favorite series for kids and young adults. Originally the series was set to end with book ten Into the Gauntlet by Margaret Peterson Haddix. I was very pleased when I learned that the series would continue, if in a slightly different direction. This series is an excellent way to introduce younger readers to figures from history. Last spring I used one of the original 10 books with a lesson comparing/contrasting historical fiction with historical fact. What I liked about this book: In this book the reader learns more of the backstory about the 39 Clues. We learn how it all started. We also get to learn a little more about Grace Cahill. In fact, I would like to read a lot more about her. What I didn't like about the book: I liked it all. This is an all around great read. It's a good series for readers who like mysteries and fiction. The books are just the right length to hold a reluctant reader's attention and to keep a bookworm wanting more. Recommended for 3rd grade and up. Mrs. Archer's rating: 5 of 5
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A book worth reading. Everytime I imagine that I'm in the book with them as they go on their adventures. So adventurous wjile so thrilling!
Colors30 More than 1 year ago
Vespers Rising takes a turn in a whole different direction from the first 10 books in the series, it starts with the story of the last days of Gideon Cahill, and reveals a major plot twist in doing so. Then it jumps to Madeline Cahill, and the origins of the Madrigals. Grace Cahill's first days as a agent are told next, and finally the new saga for Dan and Amy Cahill begins. In the end, the book leaves you excited for the next few books, you can already tell they will be much different, in a good way, from the previous 10. This book has a great way of telling each part's story, the authors did a great job, and the style is very distinct from the other books, most namely the heightened element of danger. The book answers many questions from the original books, but leaves just as many new ones, leaving you captivated all the way through. The previous book's main theme of "trust no one" still sticks here, with the new threat of the Vespers, a even more ruthless group of people bent on destroying the Cahill family by any means. The authors cross borders they haven't before, this book is a bit more violent than the others, which I thought made the story a bit more interesting, and you can see this will stick through the rest of the series if you read the excerpt from the upcoming book. If you have read the others, then I would recommend you read this one too, it answers many questions the others did not, and if you haven't read any of them yet, I highly recommend that you do, they're a great series with mystery, action, and adventure, mixed with some great historical fiction, for any young adult. Just don't read them all in six days...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the whole series. Though they were written for the younger crown I found them intriguing enough to keep buying them until I reached Vespers Rising…..there are some other mini novel which basically go back and give a more in-depth look at each of the characters….it was worth it and I enjoyed Dan and Amy’s adventures
Marilyn Orruel More than 1 year ago
In this exciting story we learn about Gildion Cahill last moment and a secert that is more powerful then the 39 clues that was said to have the power to destory the world i recommand this book to those who read the first 10 books if not those who never read the seires to read the first book because these series is awesome!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Drago said to Grace Cahill in this book "Here is advice to pass to your grand children one day: trust no one"!!!!!!!!!!!
Spring Slagle More than 1 year ago
The setup is sooo cool. When I saw it was written by 4authors I was like ok are they all working on the same piece. But I was wrong. Each author writes a different section. On different people. Gideon, Madeleine, Grace, and Amy and Dan are all included in this book. It tells you how the different people defeated the Vespers. Really cool actually. Just for info I'm 11 and usually read really hard level books but these are just fun for me. I can see everything happen in my head and it makes it way more awesome. I love these authors. I am not really a girly girl and every girl at school is like oh so your the one that is reading the books that all the guys are reading. It makes me soooo mad because they are reading these romantic books and look down on me. I can't help reading them. They are soooooo exciting. I love the 39 clues and Cahills vs Vespers series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was ok, not my favorite. It had to much history of the original cahills. The authors did a good job though. The last two sections were divine. They were about amy, dan. And about grace whe she was younger
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Many secrets. I won't tell what they are. You'!ll just hace read it yourself. LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I HAVE POSTED BEFORE BUT NOW I GO UNDER THE NAME OF CENAS FAN LOOK FOR ME IN 39 CLUES OR PERCY JACKSON OR LEMONY SNICKETT AND IF IM NOT THERE I WILL BE EVENTUALLY THIS SERIES IS GREAT! ESPECIALLY THIS BOOK
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best seris i've ever read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After I reading 39 Clues Rising Vespers By Rick Riordan, Peter Lerangis, Gordan Korman and Jude Watson I was upset to find that my school library had bought them out of order and did not have the others. I was upset because this is an awesome series of books and I want to read the rest of them . In this book there are many cliff hanger chapters and many page tuners. The book is full of mystery it makes you want to pull your hair out at every twist and turn. The plot of the book is hard to figure out .The characters in this book are well thought out and are like real people they talk like real people they seam so real. The theme of the book in the beginning seams to be set in the middle ages. The style of the book is very inclusive it gives you a lot of detail. The setting is in middle ages and in the present. In conclusion I would recommend this book to anyone who loves mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why no ekats?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its the best of the best I know of in history.Its my favorite book I have on my nook tablet.I was forced to read it.I read it and loved it that I ordered it three times in a month!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lololol
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Tina Windsly******* Age: 13 ******* Sibilings: Anna Windsly ******* Godly Parent: Jupiter (romen) ****** Description: tallish, black hair and electric blue eyes, wears black t-shirts and blue jeans or camp t-shirt, and has a bird charm braclet that turns into a sword, a mood ring that turns into a shield, earrings that turn into a helmet, and a chain necklace that turns into lught wieght army
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ummm...... could u clarify exactly where it is? Cuz i still haven't found it and by the way I love ur stories..... I am a huge fan of both the harry potter and percy jackson series and its really nice to see someone around my age actually be able to write.... and not just fanfictions about celebrities... *cough cough-ONE DIRECTION cough cough JUSTIN BEIBER* if anyone else is reading this and is a fan of the above please don't take offense.... its true i dislike them but i will respect that you guys like them its just most of my friends are obsessed with them and i have to read their fanfics and 'imagine's all the time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have a request at squib res 1 .you can put me in at demiwich2 I don't care i just realy whant to be in your series. My name is Haidn and I am 11
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello to my faithful readers. Sorry Chapter Six has taken so long. Im locked out of saving sarah result three so it will be in result five instead. Also, I'm starting another story called A Switch In Time. It's a twisted Aladdin story. Basically what I did is I took some episodes from the Aladdin TV show plus some references to the three original Aladdin movies & mixed them all together. Character applications for both stories are at tyl result four. If you want to be in the The Flame Of Hope I need your godly parent, all weapons & any names they might have, any powers you may have(don't make any up just have some) as well as all the regular stuff. If you want to be in A Switch In Time, I need to know if you are an evil sorcerer like Mozenrath & what powers you have, if you're a good sorcerer & what powers you have, or if you're a regular person like Aladdin. No other Genies please. Thanks so much. A chapter list for A Switch In Time will be out soon at muck first result. Thanks again. ||| TFOHA |||
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cuse its awsome... there are like 25 prts already and it starts at lost hero...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book. But can get boring
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who do u like
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ummmmm........ im gonna go back to beimg tht lonely Labrand that talks to random people. Im gonna be in Battle of the Labrynth if anyone needs me but i doubt you will.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Take him to the movies, share a popcorn, and get him a little something. Worked for me!