×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Vibes
     

Vibes

3.9 56
by Amy Kathleen Ryan, Emily Durante (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Gusty Peterson, the hottest bimboy in school, is always thinking I’m sick, as in totally gross to look at. Not that it matters, since I don’t have a crush on him or anything. And Mallory, my first real friend since forever, has disturbing romantic ideas about me and my ginormous gazungas.

Ask me if I’d rather not know these things.

I have enough

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Vibes 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 56 reviews.
LoveatFirstBook More than 1 year ago
When I first saw the book Vibes, my initial reaction was "Okay, this book might be pretty good. Messed up teen who can read minds... sounds interesting." So I thought, why not? I wasn't expecting much from it but I decided to read it anyway. And I'm glad I did. Vibes is a funny and a great book for any teen girl who is the mood for a romance. And on top of that, it comes with a twist. She can read minds :) I highly recomend this book for girls mostly. Guys wouldn't really find it enjoyable because it's more of a sappy love book filled with teenage girl problems :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Vibes is one of the most riveting books I've read in a long time. It sends out the eternal message of life: Judging gets you no where. Be happy, and be you. It was hilarious, admittedly weird and negative toward the beginning, and absolutely mind-boggling throughout its entirety. After the first few chapters, I couldn't put it down. And even after I did, it kept me up late at night thinking over the contours of its pages. Ryan shows a dark and new perspective of love and life I have never read before, and it was was much more than refreshing and original. If you read this book, your reading much than words on pages.
-Sabrina More than 1 year ago
Vibes, is based on a girl named Kristi and she is simply and complicated girl. She gets Psychic vibes, about people, and one on the ones that annoys her the most is Gusty Petersons. The hottest guy in school is calling her, Sick. A new kid comes to school, his name is Mallory. His face is covered with acne. But he enjoys the same things Kristi does, and then they start hanging out and they get closer and closer. Then they get asigned Charactor Education Partners, and Kristi has been paired up with Gusty! So you have to see what will happen next. Then after all that is happening her dad decides to come back after leaving Kristi with her mom, 2 years ago.
I am a gir at a meer age of only 12 1/2, and i would recamend this book for anyone over the age of 13. The moral of the story would be not to judge people, even if you get phycic vibes about them.
This book you will NOT want to Put DOWN! i read over half the book just yesterday, and i for one dont like reading. I wasnt even forced to read it i just chose to.
This is now one of my favorite books, and i just have to say that, Amy Kathleen Ryan is the Master of Book WRITING! You go Girl!
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
Kristi Carmichael thinks she has all the answers, which is part of why she stopped caring about just about everything two years ago. She knows all about her workaholic mother, absent father, and why the incredibly cute Gusty Peterson would never want to have anything to do with her. She can even understand the romantic thoughts and strange fantasies her friends Mallory and Jacob have for her. Of course, being psychic can have that effect on a person. Part of having all the answers is being chronically unimpressed (definitely how Kristi feels about her free-spirited high school) and always playing by her own rules (that's covered by the padlock on her bedroom door and the cat she hides inside it, not to mention the found wardrobe). But as the school year progresses, Kristi finds a lot of things happening that she didn't see coming--even with all the answers. The sudden return of her father, attentions from not one but two boy at school, and other surprises leave Kristi in a tailspin as she wonders if, maybe, the vibes she's been getting were more bogus than psychic all along. Such is the premise of Vibes, Amy Kathleen Ryan's second novel (and the subject of a rumored movie adaptation according to Cinema Blend--although the fundamental inaccuracies of the basic summary there do leave me wondering about the accuracy of the rumor). I realy liked this book. The fact that Kristi is psychic is treated as a normal event--not a big deal, no worrying about why she can read minds--which I enjoyed since mind reading usually supersedes plot when it crops up in non-fantasy books. At 249 pages, the book goes by fast but the story is still deep. A strong point of Ryan's writing are the characters she has created. In the beginning of the novel Kristi and also the new boy at school, Mallory, are deeply troubled, something both teens try to deal with through anger. Kristi doesn't mince words when she tells readers all of the reasons she has to be angry (there are a few). However, as the story moves forward and Kristi realizes that reading minds isn't the same as understanding what people are thinking, she also learns that there is more to life (both good and bad) than she had first thought. One theme that the novel deals with well is self-esteem in that Kristi does have much at the start of the novel. Seeing herself as fat and ugly, Kristi doesn't find herself very surprised when she hears the word "sick" in Gusty Peterson's head whenever he thinks of her. Kristi's low opinion of herself is hard to shake even in the face of positive attentions from Mallory and, of course, her family. To some readers it could seem over the top, but the truth is I was right there with Kristi and when those things came up in the novel, it felt like Ryan was quoting a page from my own life. The other theme that was handled really well in Vibes is the absent father issue. Kristi misses her father terribly, and in many ways does idolize him, but only until he shows up again. Then it becomes apparent that there was more to her father's leaving that even a psychic could have guessed. In summary, Ryan blends a lot of different themes and genres to create a new kind of story that readers (teen and otherwise) are sure to enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a touching tale about someone trying to fit in.Or maybe in some ways..... stand out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love thats shes jut her self and her dont care attuded LOL XD i can read this book over and over
carolvo More than 1 year ago
A funny story about a revolted girl. It has romance and comedy. Guys wont like the book because of the sappy romance but most girls will enjoy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story for first read, but not sure if I'd read it again and again. Worth the money, though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
breakthesky More than 1 year ago
The main character, Kristi, referenced to her breasts constantly throughout the book. She usually called them 'gazungas', which I found completely immature and inappropriate at times. However, I did like the plotline, despite the fact in the end it seemed to get all mashed together. Maybe I'm getting too old for these types of books, late preteens and early teens would probably like it. To me, it was a book to check out at the library rather than buying and showing it on your shelf!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kyle Hamilton More than 1 year ago
ive read this book a million times and i still LOVE IT!!!!!!! one of the best books i ever read i let my friend read it and she loves it too hope u read it like it as much as i did:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Arianna Peralta More than 1 year ago
i luved dis book!!! it was a amazing read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this was an excellent book. the story was well thought out and seemed pretty realistic. some parts did tough slightly throw me off. t always seems as if every five pages or so kristi is complaining about her giant "gazungas" or another character is reacting to them in a very peprverted manner.the charcters were great they seemed lke real people becuase you could see how deep their emotions were, and the had some flawed qaulities like actual people. i woud recomend this for teen-age girls especailly if they want to share books with friends, it's perfect.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jackixo More than 1 year ago
In this novela, I truly did enjoy it. My outlook on some people definitely has changed and has made me think about other things than just the norm. It made me see that inner beauty and outer beaty do intertwine. They don't just do that, but they also play individual parts in your life. Kristi is complex, and an ultimite unique indivual. That is what makes this book special from the rest. This novel really makes you think twice about what you think about people and what they may think about you. Or things may not always be what they seem. This book was imspiring and well thought out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago