×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Vigilante
  • Alternative view 1 of Vigilante
  • Alternative view 2 of Vigilante
     

Vigilante

4.1 29
by Stephen J. Cannell
 

See All Formats & Editions

Vigilante
Stephen Cannell

In the last novel by acclaimed producer and New York Times bestselling author Stephen J. Cannell, LAPD detective Shane Scully and his partner Sumner Hitchens investigate a crime with ties to the sometimes violent world of reality TV

Lita Mendez was a thorn in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Vigilante 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
p1s2 More than 1 year ago
Before you read this last book, there are 10 that comes before. Without reading them you will not understand the characters and how they intertwine. While each book may be a different story, there is another underneath it. Personally speaking, I could and definitely would read more books about Shane Scully- the main character. I can't wait until this book gets here, because I haven't read it yet, but I can vouch for the fact that reading this and all the other books in this series will keep the readers on the edge of their seats. I am sorry that the author died not long after he finished this book, and whether he had started on another for this series I have no clue, but I have been a fan of his shows and of his books.
SteveTheDM More than 1 year ago
Full Disclosure: I received an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of Vigilante as part of the Goodreads First-Reads program, where readers get books for free in the hope that reviews get written for the various social media outlets. I don’t generally choose police procedurals when I select the novels I read, so I don’t have an extensive background in the genre. This one got picked up because I got it free (often a deciding factor)... It’s called “A Shane Scully Novel” and is apparently 11th in the series. I hadn’t read any of the prior novels, but this doesn’t seem to be a factor, as this novel stands alone well. (Stephen J. Cannell, the author, is also the creator of a number of police shows for television, so he’s got the skills for handling loosely connected stories down.) I really loved this book. I was engaged by both the protagonists and antagonists throughout, and thought the premise was original enough that I was not at all anticipating any of the twists that happened. I was quite happy that I was reading this book, and then the ending thundered off the pages, as all the threads were tied together, and thrust the book into the “wow” column. This was a bunch of fun. 5 of 5 stars.
KenCady More than 1 year ago
Having read all of the Shane Scully novels written by Stephen J. Cannell before his death, I find it very hard to believe that he wrote this tepid excuse for a Shane Scully story. It just doesn't read like the other books. It's main problem is that it is not very interesting, and Scully novels were nothing if not interesting. Yet the series is a money maker, so don't be surprised to see yet another one. I note that the book nor the book jacket mention that the author is deceased.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JIMPNY More than 1 year ago
This is a great read...could not put it down. This is as good as The Prostitute's Ball. Stephen J. Cannell was a great story teller and boy could he ever write.
paljbl More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed Vigilante. It was my first Cannell novel and it won't be my last.
vette01 More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed the Shane Scully series. I like the relationship between him and his wife. I must admit though Shane seems to get a lot of cases that are a little out there. It is a shame that Mr. Cannell is deceased because I would have liked to have read more books in the Shane Scully series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RoRP More than 1 year ago
Stephen Cannell did not disappoint! Fast action, good dialogue - can't wait for the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is like all his others. He might be the best author that I have ever read. I've read all his books starting with the first one. I'm very sad that he died and that their will be no more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was great reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Opinion: not one of the better entries in the series. The villain is over-capable, and I missed Alexa and Chooch, plus Chooch's girlfriend. I would imagine that Cannell planned more books in the series, thus left questions for sequels, but I feel left hanging.
tottman More than 1 year ago
I was fortunate to receive an early review copy of Stephen Cannell¿s Vigilante, a Shane Scully novel. This was my first time reading Cannell and even though it¿s the 11th Shane Scully novel, I had no problem jumping into the story. Shane Scully and his partner, Sumner Hitchens, get handed a hot case. The murder of Lita Mendez, a gang activist with a long history of filing complaints and making enemies in the police department. To make it hotter, Nixon Nash, host of the show, Vigilante, shows up and plans to make the case the centerpiece of his show. A show which has embarrassed police and ended careers in other cities in previous seasons. This was a fast-paced, well-written and entertaining crime mystery. The characters were nicely developed and engaging. There were enough suspects to keep you uncertain who the killer was, without feeling misled with flimsy red herrings. It was also refreshing to have a protagonist who was fairly well-adjusted, without a drinking or drug problem, a skeleton in his closet, or some other emotional or moral problem to overcome. Just a good investigator in trying circumstances. Nix Nash was a villiain you love to hate. A smarmy tv host with a checkered past and vast resources. His actions and the motives behind them keep you guessing until the end. This book is in some ways an old fashioned gumshoe detective novel, but with a modern twist in the form of a tv investigation racing with the detective to solve the crime. Cannell skillfully blends the two different worlds into an entertaining novel. An interesting detective along with a complicated cast of villains and suspects makes for a very good read. I look forward to checking out other Cannell/Scully books. Recommended for any fan of crime fiction and mystery novels.
DAinNY1 More than 1 year ago
The murder of an outspoken advocate against the police brings a reality-TV star to the scene who proclaims that he¿ll solve this case, alluding to police corruption. Shane suspects something else is going on and will have to derail the star¿s rise to the stop. What a rollercoaster ride! From the first page to the exciting conclusion, I knew I would not be able to put this book down. I was pulled right into the non-stop, fast-fury action of Shane and his team as they investigated a murder mystery with plenty of viable suspects. The villain is clever, but so is our hero who is determined to put an end to his shenanigans once and for all, even if it means sidestepping legality. This is another great book in this engaging and thrilling series and I¿ll forever miss seeing Shane Scully and the team again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago