×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Virgin of Small Plains
     

The Virgin of Small Plains

4.0 188
by Nancy Pickard
 

See All Formats & Editions

Small Plains, Kansas, January 23, 1987: In the midst of a deadly blizzard, eighteen-year-old Rex Shellenberger scours his father’s pasture, looking for helpless newborn calves. Then he makes a shocking discovery: the naked, frozen body of a teenage girl, her skin as white as the snow around her. Even dead, she is the most beautiful girl he’s

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Virgin of Small Plains 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 188 reviews.
Loves2Read_Girl More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. I was in a hurry at the bookstore so I didn't put a lot of thought into the purchase, but I was glad I ended up with it. I like a good love story that's not too sappy, and I never figured out the mystery of the story until the author revealed it. I will definately seek out other books written by this author. I like her writing style and her story line.
Kee-Kee More than 1 year ago
I am not even finished with the novel, and I am writing this review. I chose this book because Pickard's other novel The Scent of Rain and Lightning was so good; I figured another one would be as well. This one is even better. Pickard's writing style is descriptive, which pulls the reader into the story within the first few pages. This particular novel has me guessing constantly about the mystery surrounding "the Virgin." I am enjoying the way that Pickard unveils information throughout the novel. It is not so easy to predict what is going to happen next. Even before I'm done, I'm on a quest for another Pickard story.
Jadlyn-2 More than 1 year ago
Very well written and a page turner. Nancy Picard did the books flashbacks a little differently than most authors, to me that made the story easy to follow. I really enjoyed the book and the book's story charaters. The events in the story could happen in any small town.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just picked this up at the library while browing through the new books section. I had not read this author before. The book has me totally mesmerized. It's the kind you simply cannot put down as each page beckons you to the next one to see what surprises are in store. All the characters are completely believable some are obvious villains and some are just plain nice folks. I'm not to the end yet but I simply don't want it to end! I don't know (but have some guesses) 'who done it.' This is one of the best reads I've had in a long, long time.
MrsO More than 1 year ago
I almost put this boook down halfway through, but hoped it would get better. The end was sort of a surprise, but I think a little more complicated than it had to be. The thing that bothered me throughout the story was all of the characters to keep straight. There was Rex and Nathan and Abby and Mitch and Tom and Quentin and Patrick and Sarah and Jeff and Mr. and Mrs. this and that and Catie and assorted friends that often got only one mention...none of the people were very memorable or colorful and so I couldn't even put a face to them. The story just went on and on and seemed very pointless at times.
SheriBaby More than 1 year ago
Great Story Line. . .enjoyed reading this book. Suspenseful and not predictable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A mystery with a solid arc that pays homage to the story's emotional centerpiece from the first to the last page. Characters react to events at two critical points in their lives, and their core values are put to the test in light of their maturity. Though I figured a few things out early on, the road to get confirmation was filled with doubt, as twists kept plopping down on the page like debris from a twister. It is a story of considerable power dealing with the choices people make throughout their lives, how they justify those choices, and how they reach for redemption later on. The few quibbles about coincidences are insignificant. Highest praises...5 out of 5.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story will stay with you long after you read it. It is up there with my favorites, Gone With The Wind, Tender Is The Night and The Catcher in The Rye!! Well Written!! Great story!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Nancy Pickard did a marvelous job in creating a novel that was suspenseful until the very end. Her setting was in a small town in Kansas called Small Plains, which I believe added to the story line because who would think of a scandal occurring in such a small town especially one that involved everyone from the sheriff to the only doctor to the judge. I can never say no to a good suspense novel. Every turn of the page added another question to the back of my mind in trying to unravel the mystery of ¿the Virgin¿ of Small Plains. Once I answered one question, another would arise or I would find myself realizing I was wrong in an earlier assumption. The basic story line revolved around a women names Abbey who wanted to investigate ¿the Virgin¿s¿ unsolved death and give her a name to put on the grave. Through her search she slowly starts to unearth hidden secrets involving her father, Dr. Quentin 'Doc' Reynolds, and his scary involvement with ¿the Virgin¿s¿ unknown identity. There is also the sudden appearance of her childhood lover named, Mitch, who disappeared the morning after ¿the Virgin¿s¿ death and was quietly assumed to be her killer. Pickard leaves no downtime in her novel. The purpose of this novel was to tell a very strange story and entertain the reader. Pickard succeeded in every which way. I have never been so intrigued by a novel before. I cried and I laughed at this book. Pickard managed to show, not only the mysterious death of a girl, but the love of two people finding each other again, a mind opening tale involving a cancer patient, and families being ripped a part by death and deceit. She uses the present tense but flashes back into the past from time to time. Pickard also gave me a chance to see from other character¿s view points besides Abbey¿s. This allowed me to really get a close connection with each character and feel as if I was truly in Kansas and involved with uncovering the mystery. I believe that a writer has definitely succeeded in their goal if they are able to make the reader feel a part of the story. I highly recommend this book to others. It may seem as if there is a lot going on in this book and that is because there is. In the end it all comes together like puzzle pieces. There is not one insignificant happening in the book. Every slight even can be tied into some greater meaning. If the mystery of the unknown is not enough to grab other people¿s attention then I hope the knowledge of the deceit and numerous twists that occur can do it. The Virgin of Small Plains is a book that I know I will reach out for again to read sometime in the future and I hope all others will take my advice and read it as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not my typical read but had great depth
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lesrenee More than 1 year ago
Loved this book!
carrietm More than 1 year ago
Great read!  And one that you won't want to put down.  I highly recommend The Scent of Rain and Lightening as well by this author.  That amazing book is what lead me to explore her others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lny11 More than 1 year ago
This is the second book I've read by Pickard and I truly do appreciate her style of writing. I like how she builds up the story by giving each of the main characters' point of view.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just cannot finish this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The ending was an unexpected twist. Very enjoyable read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another good mystery by Nancy Pickard, once again the author creates believable twits and turns that her readers think they have the plot and mystery figured out, until you turn the page! I am impressed that her books do not become simply the same story but different character names. This book is a good read not so intense that you feel dragged down by the plot; however, not a fluff novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago