×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Virgin's Lover
     

The Virgin's Lover

3.9 278
by Philippa Gregory
 

See All Formats & Editions

From #1 New York Times bestselling author and “queen of royal fiction” (USA TODAY) comes a riveting and scandalous love triangle between a young woman on the brink of greatness, a young man whose ambition far exceeds his means, and the wife who cannot forgive them.

In the autumn of 1558, church bells across England ring out the joyous

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Virgin's Lover 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 274 reviews.
Sensitivemuse More than 1 year ago
First things first. I recommend you read The Queen's Fool before reading this one. It contains a bit background information and a bit of a foundation to carry you over to The Virgin's Lover. It's not necessary but it's nice to have that extra bit of info in the small moments where the book makes a reference to the past. Besides, The Queen's Fool was a good book so why would you not want to read it? :) There's plenty of intrigue and double crossing in here, so if you're really into that this is the book for you. I love that stuff. I love seeing characters you don't like get the axe because they were too careless and got double crossed. It's just so satisfying. Which brings me to this other point. I hate Robert Dudley. Everything about him made me want to grind my teeth, made me want to jump into the book and punch him in the gonads, or made me want to run a lance into him. I just can't stand the guy. He oozes sliminess and his ambition is just way over the top it made you want to roll your eyes and slap him across the head with a sledgehammer. His arrogance made me want to scream. He was all right at first but once you saw past his true colors you just wanted to curl your lip in disgust at the guy. Either I need serious help, or Ms. Gregory just did a wonderful job at character development and creation here. :P I have never hated a character so much until I came across Robert Dudley. Amy (Dudley's wife) made you want to cringe because she was everything you didn't want her to be. She was the epitome of submissive wife. There were moments where she finally grew a backbone (and you had to cheer for her during those times) but you just can't help but pity the poor woman. Of all the characters in the book I sympathized with Amy the most. It was just painful to see her pain and suffering and the way she fawned at Dudley made you want to pity her, but at the same time be quite disgusted with her. She admirable though. She put up with a lot of issues and crap for that time. It's hard to decide how I feel about Elizabeth. She's whiny. She's NEEDY. She's clingy. She nearly made me want to jab something in my eye. However there were moments where I thought "Heeeey..she's not so stupid after all!" so it's very hard to see Elizabeth in a different view than what you usually see (usually as a very strong character who defied the Spanish Armada). So I thought it was difficult to like her in this novel. I was on the fence with her. Overall, I thought it was a good read. There are romantic parts but not that explicit and quickly done and over with. So to me, they were tolerable. No battle scenes here which was unfortunate but wasn't really the main part of the subject anyway (this book rather focuses on Dudley and Elizabeth). The intrigue of court life was here as usual (all of Gregory's novels have it) so that was good to see. I just really enjoyed the character development and creation in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Based on real historical figures, it is an easy read. However, not as well-written as her Boleyn books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
read this book in one day! couldn't put it down. great for a rainy day or if you just want to escape for awhile. i love the tudor dynasty and just love philippa gregory's books and style of writing. its intriguing and sucked me in instantly!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As somebody who really looks up to Elizabeth, I was very disappointed in how she was portrayed in this book. She was one of the greatest monarchs in England and this made her look weak, like she would do anything for a man's love. Elizabeth was a strong woman who went against everyone's wishes and refused to marry. She didn't want anyone to come in and tell her how to run her country. She was badass. I loved all of her other books in her Tudor series but this one was very hard for me to get through.
SouthrnPrincess More than 1 year ago
Ok this is one of my favorite authors, and my favorite genre of reading. Yet this reduced Elizabeth I to a whiney, simpering mess. No one has ever done a worse or more annoying portrayal of her that I know of. I do not recommend unless you look forward to rolling your eyes at every turn of the page.
Nite-ReaderKH More than 1 year ago
Extremely informative about royalty and their interacction with "seers". Also,the long time persecution of the Jewish faith or anyone in conflict with the Church was eye-opening. Well written and well researched.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love historical fictions, yet found this book to be extremely disappointing. I have read other books by Phillipa Gregory which have proved to be quite good, yet The Virgin's Lover was sadly lacking. This book was far too long and drawn out. The story was that of an interesting one, yet due to the manner in which it was written became strangely boring and, frankly, annoying to read. Gregory spends far too much time emphasizing what each and every character thinks during moments of dialog, which results in the dialog becoming tedious to read and also makes the characters seem silly and immature. The story of Elizabeth and her lover should have been very interesting and passion filled, but even the slightest hint of these things was brought down by extreme boringness. I generally read books 'especially ones that I like' in 1-2 days. This book took me a whole week to get through. Unfortunately, the ending was just as boring and terrible as the rest of the book. Nothing really happened. The last page was almost completely pointless. If you are looking for a book with long and great detail, this book is worthy, however if you want great detail with an interesting story, it isn't.
VampyrDrusilla More than 1 year ago
This story is an interesting take on the alleged love affair between Queen Elizabeth and Robert Dudley. I have read many books by Philippa Gregory and I always like her stories. She has a way of making stories about the Tudor period very interesting when if you listen to other historians it sounds dull. The story of Elizabeth and Robert Dudley is an emotional rollercoaster with many twists and turns. Philippa does a great job at painting a picture and in this story, Queen Elizabeth and Robert Dudley are ruthless, selfish and menacing people. I rarely liked either of them in this story, but a good villan makes for a riveting story. All in all, this story is classic Philippa. It's not as involved or passionate as The Other Boleyn Girl, but that one has no equal.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Queen Elizabeth I and Robert Dudley You will hate Dudley, as almost all reviewers repeated. I certainly do. This was a difficult book for me to read. Not Gregory's best in my opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kaat60 More than 1 year ago
Another awesome saga!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gregory covers the supposed romance between Elizabeth I and Robert Dudley in the first years of the queen's reign. Interesting view of the constant intrigue in court and the effort to get Elizabeth to marry a foreign prince.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love her books they r so hard to put down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NolaGirl83 More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful, engaging read and tale of Elizabeth, Queen of England. Oh how i turned the pages of this book. Its so good you can hardly put it down even if you are so tired you can hardly keep your eyes open, this page can make you turn, turn, turn, at every period at the end of a paragraph, left alone the end of a page or chapter. Im sure it helps when Elizabeth is such a young full of passion, and larger then Life Tudor and Heir to the throne of Henry VIII.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago