×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Virtues of War: A Novel of Alexander the Great
     

The Virtues of War: A Novel of Alexander the Great

3.7 31
by Steven Pressfield
 

See All Formats & Editions

I have always been a soldier. I have known no other life. So begins Alexander’s extraordinary confession on the eve of his greatest crisis of leadership. By turns heroic and calculating, compassionate and utterly merciless, Alexander recounts with a warrior’s unflinching eye for detail the blood, the terror, and the tactics of his greatest

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Virtues of War: A Novel of Alexander the Great 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The life of a legend. An ispirational read, almost like Steven Pressfield was enlightend with Alexanders spirit. Truly amazing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Nook version is more expensive than the paperback?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Irishmanreader_111 More than 1 year ago
I started reading this book last week and I literally feel asleep reading it. Don't get me wrong many people might find this highly interesting. With Alexander the Great talking about his travels. But I have always like action in my books and this just doesn't have what I am looking for. It's just a man talking about the old days. I would not read this book, unless you really need to fall asleep and the 800Mg sleeping pills are just not working for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Virtues of War is often misinterpreted as an attempt at the creation of a classical war novel, or is branded dull for overstatements and unneccessarily colorful descriptions of battlefields. However, the novel is not merely a masterful portrayal of the tides of battle during the period of Macedonian expansion, but is a powerful glance at Alexander the Great for what he truly is, and what most people usually forget he is as they are blinded by his accomplishments and failures. He was a man. And he made miskates, had feelings, fell in love, had friends and companions and a family which he cared for. And that it the foucs of this novel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book and i think that it was the best Alexander the Great based book i have ever read. Unfortunatley i lost te book near the end so i never got to hear the end i hope to buy it again to finish this thrilling adventure. But all in all i would recommend this to any medevial lover reader. Or any person that loves history.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was an amazing read....written from Alexander's viewpoint. The imagery was phenomenal...I felt as if I was in the battles. I also understood the author's opinion of what would drive a young man to try and conquer the world...Deserves every critical acclaim...Loved it!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is great for anyone wanting a different look at Alexander and how he fell apart. It is not for Historians, however. This book is for someone wanting to have a little fun with the story of Alexander and for someone who enjoys a good battle scene. I agree that the description of the battles get a little tedious, but that's also what makes it easier to imagine all these men standing out in the desert. The first person point of view shows how Alexander destroyed himself as much as his men did.