×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Virus Thirteen
     

Virus Thirteen

4.5 16
by Joshua Alan Parry
 

See All Formats & Editions

Virus Thirteen is an irreverent and contagious thriller from debut author Joshua Alan Parry.

Scientists James Logan and his wife, Linda, have their dream careers at the world's leading biotech company, GeneFirm, Inc. But their happiness is interrupted by a devastating bioterrorist attack: a deadly superflu that quickly becomes a global pandemic. The

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Virus Thirteen 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Virus Thirteen was great to read. You can easily get through it in just a few evenings as it is broken up into many small chapters.  - The story is interesting and easy to follow even for someone without a great science background (that being said, its more interesting for someone who knows science) - The story progresses quickly, which is nice and makes it easy to finish - The plot it what makes the story, so the character development is a little less than some people want, but this is a story of multiple characters converging, so to adequately detail every character, this would have had to have been a 3 part series or something.  - The ending is great and very exciting, I'm pretty good at picking up twists in movies and books, but this one caught me by surprise a couple times! I really enjoyed this quick story from Dr. Parry and look forward to his future novels, do yourself a favor and check it out, well worth your time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book when i found i was getting tired of reading the same plot, story, and characters over and over. So on a whim i purchased this unknown novel by an unknown author and now suddenly 2 days later i find myself finished and coming up for air!!! Great book! I anxiously await his next work. This new author will absolutely find himself in the same class as other great medical thrill writers such as Robin Cook and Michael Palmer. Thanks for a great book!
BuriedUnderBooks More than 1 year ago
Woe to the reader who starts Virus Thirteen thinking he’s going to get your standard pandemic disaster science fiction novel. No, indeed, this is one wild ride from start to finish with a mashup of all the scenarios that make a lot of people antsy just thinking about the possibilities. Take a bit of cloning, some global warming, a dash of power-grabbing, a little transgenics and genetic engineering, throw in some science run amok and you’ve got… But wait! Don’t forget a whole lot of murder, a distinct lack of ethics and a Homeland Health department that watches your every bite or sip… And there’s even more! Besides all the plotlines—and don’t worry, they DO come together and make sense—there are some really interesting characters, good and bad. I was kind of surprised to find myself connecting the most with the secondary characters but that’s a large part of why I find this book so appealing. It’s an indication of how much care the author took with his players, even a neon orange dog and a self-doubting young man of rotund proportions, and I appreciate it. This is one of the most entertaining and imaginative books I’ve read in a while and I’ll be honest—I’m still not sure if the author is completely serious or perhaps is making fun of all our insecurities about the future. I suspect there’s more than a touch of the latter but, either way, it doesn’t matter because Mr. Parry‘s debut is a winner of a story. He also happens to be a very good writer and his style of jumping from one scene and set of characters to another worked beautifully if his intention was to grab my attention and never let me look away. Along the way, he forced me to give a lot of consideration to where we might be heading if we’re not careful and that is never a bad thing. Joshua Alan Parry is an author I’ll be looking for again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
oI found this sort of weird. It struck me as written by a mish-mash of 3 people - a teenager with science fiction addiction, a right wing tea partier suspicious of everything governmental, and someone with some scientific training, but so much didn't make sense, (For example, genes are placed into people to prevent cancer, but not to prevent obesity, people have chips in their wrists to identify them but those chips don't prevent them from buying fattening foods, the hero of the story dies at age 140 something, but he is NOT cancer proof, which seems unlikely, etc.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a medical thriller that juggles at least four plot lines at once and does it well. Like a previous reviewer, I enjoyed the secondary characters : the cops, the kids in the weight loss camp, the genetically altered pink haired girl... a well written and satisfying book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Idc who u r jasons mine!!! * starts crying *
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
K walks out
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walks in
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"There."