×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Voice in the Box: My Life in Radio
     

A Voice in the Box: My Life in Radio

3.4 52
by Bob Edwards
 

See All Formats & Editions

The host of The Bob Edwards Show and Bob Edwards Weekend on Sirius XM Radio, Bob Edwards became the first radio personality with a large national audience to take his chances in the new field of satellite radio. The programs' mix of long-form interviews and news documentaries has won many prestigious awards.

For thirty years, Louisville native

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Voice in the Box: My Life in Radio 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gian
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First few chapters good, but typical of NPR radio people, he showed his liberal bias.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although Bob Edwards was born the year I graduated high school his story brought back memories of some good, and not so good, days. The intrigue of National Public Radio reminds me of the turf-protection and heavy-handed management found in some government offices. Although at times his story seems self serving, Mr. Edwards gives credit where credit is due. This autobiography is a must read for anyone who aspires to radio journalism.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
FairjinDragonsbane More than 1 year ago
To see the title and the picture your thinking oh well hmm maybe...but it is a well written book in my view I enjoyed it. The inside look of something that is such a big part of our lives is something that I always liked
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LB1VA More than 1 year ago
Bob writes in a conversational style. An easy read, but he does touch on some controversial areas. if you are an NPR fan you will like this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a listener of NPR radio for many years and remember when Bob Edwards left. I guess I didn't pay much attention as I thought he had retired. He has a scratchy quality to his voice which made me envision an older gentleman who was non-judgemental and delivered the news daily. Boy was I surprised when I read this book! Not only was he younger than I thought, but very opinionated and bitter. His stories were not well written and left us asking for more, especially the story about the taxi driver who died while driving Mr. Edwards. So whatever did happen? Why tell us and then not finish the story? I think I was better off with my kindly gentleman image. I should have known when Sirius Radio gave it out for free.
GypsyJon More than 1 year ago
This book was given to me in electronic format, because I am an XM Radio subscriber. Alas, Barnes and Noble does not support ePub format, so I am not able to read it on my PocketBookPro902.
bob5958 More than 1 year ago
Upfront, I'm biased. I have so much respect and admiration for what Bob Edwards has accomplished that I couldn't find fault with him or his book even if it weren't well written. But, it is well written, enjoyable to read and fills in a lot of the gaps and questions about what went on when he left NPR (temporarilly). Mr. Edwards to me is what i can only imagine my parents and grandparents thought of Ed Morrow, Douglas Edwards and all of the war correspondents that made radio the premier medium for news. In our 24/7 internet news hype, I am very concerned that people like Bob Edwards are someone to enjoy for now, because they unlikely won't be replaced. The book reads quickly and often makes you smile, because Bob Edwards and I are about the same age and many of his comments and observations brought back memories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The man had a very interesting life. Easy reading.
tulaDM More than 1 year ago
It was very enjoyable to read what life was like during the radio days. The author has a great sense of humor!