×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Voice in the Wind
     

A Voice in the Wind

4.8 252
by Francine Rivers
 

See All Formats & Editions

This classic series has already inspired nearly 2 million readers, but both loyal fans and new readers will want this 20th anniversary edition of a Christian classic, which includes a foreword from the publisher, a letter from and Q & A with Francine Rivers, color map, an illustrated glossary, and discussion questions suitable for personal and group use.

The first

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Voice in the Wind (Mark of the Lion Series #1) 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 252 reviews.
Acie More than 1 year ago
So, I won't really go into the story line, I'll just say that this book is worth reading. The ending is touching... you should probably have the 2nd book available so you're not left stranded. That is... if you enjoy this book. "A Voice in the Wind" is my favorite of the trilogy. I wish I was a woman like Hadassah! It's worth reading and I recommend it to lots of people who I know love books :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While this is a romance, it is written in such a way that you can understand better what it must have been like to follow Jesus just years after He left the earth if you never actually met Him. It is the first in a series of 3. I have given the series as gifts to many people with positive feedback always. It starts out a little "manly" (bloody) but that is very important to the whole story. It is excellent.
paris2istanbul More than 1 year ago
I'm so happy this is finally available for my nook! This is hands-down one of my favorite novels of all time. Francine Rivers brings ancient Rome and all of its culture and customs to life through the story of Hadassah, a young Jewish girl sold into slavery after the destruction of her beloved Jerusalem and the deaths of her entire family. Through her harrowing journey from Jerusalem to Rome, and even into her new life as a slave to a prosperous Roman family, Hadassah never loses her faith in God, and her actions have tremendous consequences - both good and bad. This novel has everything from suspense and action to drama and romance - all while reflecting the grace and the redeeming love of God. When you are finished, you will wish you had the faith of Hadassah and you'll be ready to start the second book in the series - An Echo in the Darkness.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All I can say is this is the most AMAZING trilogy I have ever read. Hadassah stays in my heart daily and it's been a year since I read this!
LovelyLitLady More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. I can't remember when a character in a book grabbed me the way Haddasah's character did. As a Christian I came away with a new desire to have a servant's heart. Most Christian fiction I have read in the past lacked literary merit and was mostly fluff. However, Rivers weaves an intense story line with life like characters. I just finished An Echo in the Darkness as well and it was fabulous, too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No kidding. If you read this book and the other two, you will not be able to remain uneffected. This series was a life changer for me. It makes you view God, Christianity, and sin in a different light. I finished thus book with an intense gratitude towards not only Ms. Rivers for writing this complicated, sweeping epic, but also thankfulness for my own religious freedom. I have a greater understanding of and repect for Christian martyrs. I do not believe you will be able to read this story witghout really looking yourself in the mirror and asking yourself some tough questions - but that is the kind of literature of legends, isnt it? Well, Ms Rivers is a legend to me and her talent is unsurpassed. You will find action, history, romance, and so much more in this story of a young, innocent slave girl and her journey to love her enemies and hold tighter to God and know him. This series made me agonize, cry, and squeal with triumph. Christian fiction doesnt get better than this. Please read this book. Dont be daunted by the length ¿ you will be so glad you took the time. I promise.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I know that sounds overstated and i would never have thought it possible before reading mark of the lion books but it is true. I FEEL LIKE I KNOW GOD NOW IN A WAY I NEVER DID BEFOREI.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
welsteach More than 1 year ago
Francine Rivers was just beginning her career as a Christian fiction writer. She got a few things wrong in this account, and made some assumptions that she changed later in her writing. Overall a solid read. The character of Hadassah may seem a little too good (we never see her sinful failings as we see those of the folks around her). The evil of Rome, though pretty wicked in this portrayal, didn't even evoke the half of it. This was a tricky time for the church, and our Lord held it in the palm of his hands.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Francine Rivers is my favorite! The Mark of the Lion series books I have read a few times. That is how great they are!
Alyssa Jennings More than 1 year ago
Well i thought the first part was immensly boring. Youd have to know a lot about christianity and what happened to people with faith nack then to understand and like this book. As much as i thought i wouldnt....i did purchase the second book because truly the end is amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read the series twice in the past 10 years and both times were amazing. I am sure I will read them again in the future.
minnchick More than 1 year ago
I was looking for a new Christian novel to read that would be captivating enough to hold my attention [and I had loved "Redeeming Love".].. What I found was my favorite series of books that I have ever read. It's action, it's history, it's despair, and it's love. Francine Rivers does an AMAZING job capturing life in the time after Jesus' death, with so much detail and finesse in her writing. You feel like you're getting a glimpse into the lives of the people listed in the Bible. On top of that, she lays out a beautiful story line that gives us a character with qualities a Christian should possess at any point in time (72 A.D. or today). Hadassah is such a beautiful young woman and strives to live for God even in the worst of times and under life or death scrutiny. Though the story takes place in 70 A.D., the troubles relate so well to the adversities we face in our lives today. I walked away from this book (and the final two) with a changed heart, a revived faith, and a burning desire to live my life for God in more and more ways. I felt refreshed and alive, and wanted to tell all the world about it from the mountain top! Every Christian (and/or non-Christian) should read this series. I gifted the books to my mother and can't wait to hear her experience. And that's what reading these books is - an experience! Get them all at once so your heart doesn't have to wait before starting the next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series. Once I started them I could not stop. Would recommend to everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my all time favorite book. The begining was a bit slow, but it lays the foundation for a story of a girl who becomes the lowest of the low and still trusts the one true God. It makes me want to be a better person and gives you perspective. Learning what life was like for early Christians where honesty about your beliefs could mean abandonment, censure, or even death.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! Without a doubt it is the best chtistian fiction book I have ever read. It was amazing and it kept me interested the whole time!! But what i loved most was the impact this book made and I loved the unexpected ending and the epilogue that foreshadows the following events!!!!!! It was a very good book!!! I recommend this book to everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Inspiring! Makes you really want to become a true "Proverbs 31" woman of God! The characters are so relatable in many different ways. You seriously must read these books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Intersting from the starts, u will b inthralled by a young Christian s story in roman times. I never ever realized i was reading til i had to stop because the writing was so vivid and alive. I used to reelly hate the roman times, simply cuz i thought it was boring, but this story is from a different point of view. I learned lots of old vocab and am mad at myself cuz i had to wait a week for the library to open again to get the next book and not looking for it as a nook book! K.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this series ! It starts off a bit slow, but once you get into it it iz completely worth. I laughed, cried and learned so much!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is absolutely amazing. I could not stop reading it! Francine Rivers is an amazing author. The story is great; it kept me guessing the whole way through.
JULIA254 More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS VERY GOOD COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN THE DETAILS AND VERSUS USED WAS VERY GOOD.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This bood is incredible! I was skeptical because of the gore you encounter at the beginning, but I was hooked in only a few pages!
JuBear10 More than 1 year ago
Thank you for finally making this a Nook book. This story is riveting and amazing. You won't regret this purchase. Be prepared to buy the other 2 books in this series!
Sarah Elliott More than 1 year ago
By my headline, I have no intention of saying its a bad book. Only that if you read, you must be patient with the story as at times it seems vulgar to the Christian or moral-containing reader. But as you read you realize thats the point of the book. Its telling you that being a Christian isn't all rain-bows and sunshine. It made me (a teen by the way) ashamed that im sometimes afraid to act the way I should because I might be made fun of. Hadassa and actual Christians in that time did so much more than me and got more than teased. It makes me grateful of the way religion is free today and wanting change in myself. I want people to look at me the way they did Hadassa wondering whi I seem so peaceful, confident, and happy in the way I act. Another reason I caution you buying this book (even Christians) is thatthis book carries intence suffering, sorrow, and sin. I wouldn't reccomend it to someone who was too young or soft of heart. I warned my mother she might pass this book because she's one of the latter. The reason for age limit, its at times, extremely honest in what sins can be done because it is many times narrarated through a lost soul. Also, if you buy this book, do not do what I did at the end. I turned my nook off and stormed my house enraged at the ending. I ask you to read on to the epilogue, it gives you a sliver of hope (not to mention hooks you to the sequal, well done Francine).
Lynn_Wright More than 1 year ago
I read this seeries in regular book form. Miss Rivers is one of my favorite writer. This book shows us how much forgiveness is. It was very humbly.