×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
     

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader

4.3 355
by C. S. Lewis, Glyn Robbins (Adapted by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

This enthralling adaptation of one of C. S. Lewis's Narnian stories tells the adventures of the Dawn Treader, a dragon-ship led by Caspian, King of Narnia. The story is a traditional quest and the marvels include dragons, invisible islanders and a lake that turns everything to gold. The play can be simply staged with few scenic requirements and no elaborate props.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (Chronicles of Narnia Series #5) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 355 reviews.
Bean76 More than 1 year ago
This is a book I've been reading to my kids for the last several weeks. They were eager to start reading it after we rented the movie one night. They all liked the book very much, and even though it is different from the movie in many instances, they still found it very enjoyable in its own right. This book continues the story of Edmund and Lucy Pevensie, who are staying with an aunt and uncle while the rest of their family takes a trip to America. Their cousin Eustace despises them and their stories of Narnia. One afternoon Eustace finds himself drawn with his cousins into a painting in Lucy's bedroom, and they are all whisked off to Narnia for an adventurous sea voyage. I don't think I have ever met a more offensive and whining character than Eustace. I find it so funny that Lewis named the character Eustace, because Useless Eustace describes him perfectly at the beginning of the book. Happily, Eustace goes through some miraculous transformations, physically and socially, during the children's adventures, and ends up to be a very useful boy at the end. Reepicheep, the courageous mouse, also makes this book quite memorable. He is always daring the crew of the Dawn Treader to keep sailing forward, and never seems to know the meaning of the words doubt and fear. Just like Lucy, I want to pick him up and just hug the stuffing out of him, but that would be quite disrespectful behavior towards such a gallant knight!
littlemissbookwormGW More than 1 year ago
Love narnia!!!!!!!!! Read all of the books!!!!!!!! They are brilliantly wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0593 More than 1 year ago
These are my favorite childhood books, and this one will not dissapoint!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got this to read for a second time right before the movie came out. It was this series of books that I first really found a passion for reading. This installment sees the two younger Pevensie children tossed back into Narnia with a barty cousin, and linking up again with now King Caspian aboard his ship The Dawn Treader. This was not my favorite of the series, but it certainly held my attention well enough this time as it did when I was a boy.
Michelle Bennett More than 1 year ago
In my opinion, the book is just as good as the movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best Book Ever( bbe)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I recommend all the books of the Chronicles of Narnia. They are very inspirational, and are best read by people of all ages.
sandiek More than 1 year ago
In this, the fifth book of The Chronicles Of Narnia, Lucy and Edmund have returned to Narnia without Susan and Peter, who are now too old. Their cousin, Eustace, considered obnoxious by everyone except his parents, is brought along with them, although he is fond of telling them that Narnia and Asland do not exist and are just a figment of their imaginations. They arrive to find that King Caspian has decided to take a voyage on his royal ship, the Dawn Treader. He plans to sail to the end of the world and find out what lies there and along the way. He has pledged to determine the fate of the seven lords, friends of his father, who went on expedition when Caspian was a child and then never returned. Lucy, Edmund and Eustace accompany Caspian, along with other characters the reader has met in previous books of the Chronicles. The company encounters many strange lands and people. There is the Land Where Dreams Come True, the Land of Deathwater, the Land of the Dufflepods, and the land where three of the lords are found to have been asleep for years. The reader is drawn along on the adventure, interested to hear what will befall the company next. At the end of the book, Caspian returns to Narnia, while the children return to their world. This book is recommended for readers of all ages, and is especially recommended for families to read together.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis is a great book to read if you like letting your imagination soar. It is the third book in the Chronicles of Narnia. In the book, three children are sent into a different world where they encounter many adventures as they sail the seas in an awesome ship called the Dawn Treader. I like many things about this book. First, the book is full of a diverse group of characters. These characters make the book interesting. Also, there is never a boring part in the book. The story keeps moving in a constant flow of events. I like that the setting of the book is in a strange world because it is different than what I am used to. The only negative thing I can say about this book is that it could be a little longer. Overall, I loved The Voyage of the Dawn Treader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing
colemanstudent-amm More than 1 year ago
It was amazing how they entered Narnia and there whole adventure. what I didnt like was the end and how they couldnt enter back into Narnia.
Stefanie Fuller More than 1 year ago
Great book for kids and adults!!!!,!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This one was amazing! It went everywhere in the ocean. To islands that turn anything to gold, to islands with retired stars, to islands with dragons, to the sea that had seawater that tasted sweet. You have got to read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was one of my favorite because it takes you into a wonderful but different world.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really like this book. It is funny, exciting, and full of adventures that never end.You will want to read this book over again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read all the Narnia books and this one is surely the best. It is filled with so much adventure and comedy and it's just a great literary peice. C.S. Lewis can really write awesome books.
InTheBookcase More than 1 year ago
A wonderful book in the Narnia series! The 'Dawn Treader' is King Caspian's own ship, and he's going on a thrilling adventure through the Great Eastern Ocean. Edmund, Lucy, and their cousin Eustace "join the picture" in Narnia aboard the ship. Although the charm of having all 4 siblings together is missing from this particular story, Reepicheep made up for it... what a gallant mouse! He always knows just what to say. King Caspian is on a quest to locate the whereabouts of 7 missing Narnian lords. The 'Dawn Treader' will go through many enchanted trials across the ocean, as the travel continues past the Silver Sea, to the End of the World, Aslan's country. Are you coming aboard ship?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Aslan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It had some lessons in that book that's what like about it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I llove this story, sea serpants, sword fights, sold into slavery, the list goes on and on! Very good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MY FAVORITE NARNIA BOOK,(though it doesnt have peter and susan)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is a good book but im sad that the mouse leaves
Bob Watkins More than 1 year ago
yes this is a very good book, but i would not recomend it to drama kings and queens because at the end reepicheep goes away and is never seen again!! i cried at the end plus this book is kinda scary. so my ratings r not so high but go ahead see if u can hold back the tears at the end which i think u wont if u like reepicheep.
A2ID More than 1 year ago
its awsome i like the way lewis c writes its like your with them
Guest More than 1 year ago
Voyage of the Dawn Treader is one of the best books in Lewis's series. It's full of adventure, mystery, and fantastic places. This book is outstanding- it all takes place on a boat and nothing is what it seems! Definately a MUST READ!