×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Voyage of the Narwhal
     

The Voyage of the Narwhal

4.4 16
by Andrea Barrett
 

See All Formats & Editions

"A luminous work of historical fiction that explores the far reaches of the Arctic and of men's souls." —Denver PostCapturing a crucial moment in the history of exploration—the mid-nineteenth century romance with the Arctic—Andrea Barrett's compelling novel tells the story of a fateful expedition. Through the eyes of the ship's scholar-naturalist,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Voyage of the Narwhal 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A marvelous, intelligent, sensitive story, told by a great story teller and writer. Superior quality in writing style and research--and character analysis. A book to measure other books against. After reading it, I immediately ordered two of her books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Going into this book I was very skeptical. I have never gotten into a 'scientific' book before. But this is a great read, and will easily capture your interest. The way she combines the adventure, romance, and science is amazing. To travel along with the characters through all their pain and suffering, both on and off the ship, and to see where their lives led them afterwards was great. Most adventure type books would end when the voyage ends, but I loved how this book took you farther than that, answered all those questions you usually have at the end of a book...did he do this/that, etc. To say I was impressed by this book would be an understatement!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All it needed to say was narwhal...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Waits...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has a interesting story with very developed characters. It is one of the best books that I have ever read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an elegant writing describing the toils of people of the mid 19th century while exploring the artic. This is true prose, the author gives us everything in this novel. It has adventure, tragedy, turmoil, romance, mystery, deceit, and ends in an heroic triumph. This was the first time I had read a novel by this author, but you can be sure, it will not be the last. GREAT WORK!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I chose the book because it features a 19th-century arctic sea adventure and its toll on a small crew who have to face its challenges. I was not disappointed. Amidst ship life with its own chain-of-command protocols and other policies/procedures, the crew's battle with the arctic elements was starkly portrayed and interesting. And even more interesting were the relationships, betrayals, and loves along the way. I was really drawn into this narrative. The characters face physical and emotional challenges that make you wonder how you would have fared.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nar TO DE WHAL
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has a great idea, great historical detail, and interesting (if a bit predictable) plot developments. However, the character development is sketchy at best. The reader is never given the full story on anyone's motivation or even the full story on events that occur, so it is difficult to sympathize with the characters or understand why they make the choices that they do. For example, the lead character (Erasmus) is devastated by the death of another character, but you never get a good look into how their relationship developed, so Erasmus's grief -- though it is described in detail -- doesn't resonate with the reader. Overall, it's a pretty good book but it could have been a lot better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The idea of the story was very good, but the way the story was written left me very bored. To say it was a disappointment would be an understatement.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Narwhals, narwhals swiming in the ocean, causing a commosion , cuz they are so awesome, Narwals, nawhals , swimming is they ocean, pretty big and pretty white, beat a polar bear in a fight, like an underwater unicorn, they have a kick ass facial horn, they are the jedi of the sea, something somthing ye, Narwhals, they are narwhals, Narwhals, dont let them touch your balls, Narwhals, they are narwhals, Narwhals, inventors of the shish kabob!!!