×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Waiting for Godot: A Tragicomedy in Two Acts
     

Waiting for Godot: A Tragicomedy in Two Acts

4.0 42
by Samuel Beckett
 

See All Formats & Editions

From an inauspicious beginning at the tiny Left Bank Theatre de Babylone in 1953, followed by bewilderment among American and British audiences, Waiting for Godot has become of the most important and enigmatic plays of the past fifty years and a cornerstone of twentieth-century drama. As Clive Barnes wrote, “Time catches up with genius … Waiting

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Waiting for Godot (Eng Rev) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 42 reviews.
ShotgunAndy More than 1 year ago
As a matter of fact, I do dare to state such a claim. Samuel Beckett is such an amazing writer, and in WfG, he has created some of the most memorable characters and dialouge in any medium. A must read for everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Waiting for Godot is humorous and ironic. It's characters' senility gives the book a similar feel to that of old Charlie Chaplain movies. The characters repetitive conversations add to that feel but also allow the reader to, if he/she wants to, pull out several meanings from the book. The whole book parallels the human experience of waiting for our own Godot, whether it be God or Wealth or family, whatever gives our lives meaning. With each meaning the detail of the book presents different symbols, unique to whatever it is the reader is comparing it to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In my drama class we are reading this play, me and my four friemds at my table seem to be the only four-plus the teacher-that enjoy the play. Everyone else doesnt undersyand that the carrot talk is exactly what you and your bestfriemd talk about.. nothing. Its to pass the time. Now we are not finished with the book but im excited to see what happens next so imma buy it so i can re read it and get a better feel for it.
NooksterMI More than 1 year ago
To an atheist or to anyone who has any disdain for Christianity, Christians must look like two clowns who waste everyday waiting for God/Jesus to return. The play is brilliant and everyone who has ever waited patiently for someone to keep their promise and only to find disappointment should read this play.
appatel555 More than 1 year ago
Famously, Waiting for Godot is a play in which nothing happens. It opens with two characters on stage--Vladimir and Estragon--who are waiting by a tree. They converse about many things, calling each other by different names. Although their conversations are long and winding, we discover that the men are waiting for an enigmatic figure who goes by the name of Godot. While they are waiting for Godot to come, two figures approach--Lucky and Pozzo. The author, Samuel Beckett, instills an enormous amount of symbolic complexity into the very foundation of Waiting for Godot. Valdimir and Estragon are comic tramps--straight from the likes of Chaplin or Buster Keaton. They talk like vaudeville comedians, and attempt to perform tricks. But, in an amazing literary feat, Beckett transforms this shtick and color into a discussion about the existential realities of the world. Waiting for Godot has a wit, vigor and brilliance that confounded audiences at the time, and astonished everyone who has seen or read it ever since. The play is difficult (and makes no bones about its difficulty), but it also embraces the popular comic medium with which Beckett grew up. Hilariously funny, but also terribly sad, Waiting for Godot is the foremost abstract work in theatre and a work of pure genius.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Trevor Fraser More than 1 year ago
The greatest tragedy with this work is that everyone gets so caught up in debating the philosophy and structure of it that they glide right over the laughs. Godot, when read or performed, should elicit the same breathless laughing as a Neil Simon or a Python sketch. Please don't read it joylessly. Getting the meaning is barely tickling the surface of the fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago