×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Waiting for Normal
  • Alternative view 1 of Waiting for Normal
  • Alternative view 2 of Waiting for Normal
     

Waiting for Normal

4.5 149
by Leslie Connor
 

See All Formats & Editions

Addie is waiting for normal.

But Addie's mom has an all-or-nothing approach to life: a food fiesta or an empty pantry, jubilation or gloom, her way or no way.

All or nothing never adds up to normal.

All or nothing can't bring you all to home, which is exactly where Addie longs to be, with her half sisters, every day.

In

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Waiting for Normal 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 149 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this book was really good, but REALLY descriptive, so i would reccomend it for 10+ girls and MAYBE 13-14+ boys (anyone younger wouldnt know what a period is, but i wont tell) also, LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in school and i love it. It is prabably my new favorite book.i would recommend it to anyone. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was inspiring, creative, fun, and i couldnt stop reading until i was finished.... this book was AWESOME!!! :D
Evansmom99 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. This story was about a little girl whose mother leaves her alone all the time to go about her own life. This life style happens everyday in our society and it's very sad. In this story you just want to rescue this little girl and bring her home. Thank goodness for those who do love her. You will laugh and cry in this touching story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is AMAZING!!!!! Words cant describe how much I LOVED this book.... read it read it read it !!!!!!!
anna_love More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I read in a while. It's about Addie, age 12, who moves to a "tin box on a tar patch" with her wry mother. At first, when I read the first few pages I couldn't get into the book. But giving it another chance, I found Waiting to Normal to be one of the greatest books I read, that changed the way I think a little bit, in a way. I recommend this book to kids 13 and younger (for girls, there are somethings in the book that a boy wouldn't quite "get"). I think it's worthwhile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!! I love the whole thing!!!!!!! I am now rereading it for the third time. I'm picking up on things I missed the first time. Awesome ending too
Team_Demigod More than 1 year ago
This group in school I was in and I chose this book for a project, and we finished it in no time! Even though it is an easy read, the topic is very mature (her neglecting mother) and teaches a valuable lesson. I recommend this book for people who are interested in the subject!
mostest_pug_lover More than 1 year ago
Waiting for Normal was a great book! I finished it really quickly and couldn't seem to put it down. I like how the main character, Addie, stays hopeful even through the rough spots. The author did a nice job writing about child neglect and the hardships of a girl growing up without a caring mother. This book is real, inspiring, and overall something I would recommend to girls who like realistic fiction. I loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ IN MY LIFE! ADDIE HAS SUCH CHARIMA! I JUST LOVE HER CHARACTER AND ALL THE EMOTION POURED INTO HER EXPLAINATIONS AND HER WAY OF TELLING THE STORY! I JUST CANNOT PUT IT DOWN! AND EVERYTIME I READ THIS BOOK I FEEL WARM AND LOVED! THANK YOU LESLIE CONNER FOR WRITING THIS AWESOME BOOK! LESLIE CONNER SHOULD WRITE MORE BOOKS LIKE THIS!
BrookGabrielle More than 1 year ago
This book was an awesome book!! I have read it and a lot of my friends and family have read it!!! I am reading it again! To all people reading this, READ THIS BOOK!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loooooove this book i have read alot of books before and i half to say this is one of the bests as soon as i started reading i couldent put it down its about a girl tht has to live in a trailer with her mommers and her new pet hamster as soon as u think this book is good it gets better a terrible thing happens to the trailer and her older best friend ends up in a trgic ending then it goes from bad to good when addie moves in with her g-ma starts her period and geta to spend more time with her two step sisters i would rate this book a ten on a scale from one to ten i totally recomend it hope u love it too!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this nd i couldnt stop its amazing love the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yes you should. However i reccomend you dont read it if you have not watched the movie yet(ya no the one about body changes). In waiting for normal addie experences life on a giant roller coaster such as bizarro. Addies life has many ups and downs and speedbumps. It is hard for her to live through her friend having cancer , burning the trailer down and all of the physical and emotional times of growing up. I am afraid that i have already spoiled way to much for you so you have to read the book for yourself. O btw i only reccomend this book to girls. It is inappropriate for a boy for reasons only girls would understand. I hope you take reading Waiting for Normal by Leslie Connor into consideration. Remember i reccomend you read after watching the movie. Also NO BOYS ALLOWED. STRICTLY GIRLS ONLY TERRITORY. If you decided you liked waiting for normal, read these three books: Chicken soup for the girls soul Just as long as were together by Judy Blume Heres to you rache robinson by Judy Blume. An author to take in consideration is Judy Blume. She writes about changes in life and growing up. She also writes funny stuff such as the Fudge series. Good luck in life all of you guys out there and keep reading!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! @]-- @]-- @]-- @]-- @]-- @]-- @]-- @]-- @]-- @]-- @]-- @]-- @]-- xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):) ;);););););););););););););););););););););););););););););););););););););););););););););););););););););) +-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+- <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 < 3<3 <3 <3 <3 < < < < < < < < < < < <
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It is so touching, and it made me cry.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so easy to relate to that you find yourself feeling how Addie feels. I loved it. It was school required, which i usually hate, but i read it all in a night. I could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book its so so good i can't even tell you how good it was it grabs your attention and is kinda relatiable cuz we all have that not so rich friend and this is really about the character Addie's struggles. I would reccomened this book to anyone who loves realistic fiction
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow love this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book a must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is the best i luv this book. You should really read this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hate reading and this book made me want to read it over and over again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I boight this as a Christmas gift for an 11-year old friend because it was so popular. I figured if I was giving it as a gift i should read it for myself. I absolutely loved it. I can't wait to check on how far my friend has gotten so we can discuss it together!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fave book ever!! Reccomrnd soul surfer and the winnie series!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
3 words best book ever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i love this book so much i have read it at least 3 times but some parts can be a little bit confusing for younger audiences i at first read it at age 8 and i got a little confused at parts like when they yelled or she got her period so if your not older than 10 then maybe wait but it is still really good!