×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Waiting
     

Waiting

3.7 39
by Ha Jin
 

See All Formats & Editions

"In Waiting, Ha Jin portrays the life of Lin Kong, a dedicated doctor torn by his love for two women: one who belongs to the New China of the Cultural Revolution, the other to the ancient traditions of his family's village. Ha Jin profoundly understands the conflict between the individual and society, between the timeless universality of the human

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Waiting 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
sarafenix More than 1 year ago
When I read this it was one of the books that had the most impact on me. With its subtly, it sneaks up on you with its strong depiction of human relationships and desires.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing piece of fiction about a 'bitter love.' Having read other reviews, I would have to say that I did not interpret the ending in such a hopeful manner, but I guess it all depend on your perspective. The characters are all very well developed, especially Lin, whose desire to do the right thing often leads to many unfortunate outcomes. Truly a beautiful story.
tamesthetic More than 1 year ago
This is a really great story about what the passage of time can do to things. How it erodes and eats away at the value of things and relationships and emotions etc. Yet conversely, there was no waiting when reading this book. For sure it was a story told by a man because there was no time spent lingering too long on anything. It was perfectly paced. He just kept it moving and while you were reading you would know that something else was about to happen soon because the pace was predictable and that made it a great page turner too. The feminine voice of his female character was not ruined by the manly pace of the book. The setting is a Chinese military hospital. It's about a relationship between a couple who never consummate the affair because they wanted to wait to get a problem out of the way. but as the problem persisted, and the waiting went on and on, the waiting ate away at their deepest emotions and time threw everything including the bathtub and kitchen sink, causing them to question both their character and those deep feelings they once thought they held. This book is a great piece of literature and is perfect for a book club.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I had a personal connections with this book. Divorce is a hard thing to deal with this book opened my mind and made me realize that waiting can be a bad thing and good in ways. People going though a divorce would enjoy this book and it might help them though by putting things into propective. Making you realize that people go though things that mske you stronger or weaker. You decide how events effect your life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is great!! I enjoyed the fact that it was a love story. The end is the best part of the book. The ending isn't predictable, but more hopeful for some. I read this book for a class and because I liked it so much, I finished this book in 4 days. I recommend this book to any female!! Anyone who has been through a divorce would enjoy this book as well. Great book for many different kinds of people. The title tells so much about this book and if you have ever waited for someone for any reason, you will love it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Oh, I loved this book. I couldn't put the book down. I felt I was in this story. The characters were amazing. I felt bad for Lin's wife Shuyu. Waiting is hard to do. The outcome was not what I had expected, but it was sweet. Lin did try to do the best for his family as well as his new family. All the characters suffer pain with what Lin put them through. This book was really amazing. This would be a book I would read again. This book kept you going. It's suspense. A great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
felicialovesbooks More than 1 year ago
Vintage seems like a boring book at first but as you continue to read it sucks you in. We can relate the characters to people we know in our lives and that's what I think makes this book a good read. It is easier to read something when we can relate the characters to ourselves. By the end of the book Lin realizes that the grass was not greener on the other side. I am glad that my Comp tracher recommended this book because otherwise I would have never read this piece. I am looking forward to reading more by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really stuck a chord with me. Extremely depressing in my opinion. Plays into a big fear of many people of not finding true love or showing a life of distrust and sadness. Really made me feel sad. An excellent book!
tammy_loves_joy More than 1 year ago
Consistently brilliant.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Spoony More than 1 year ago
Outstanding. This book reminds me why I read: not only for aesthetic enjoyment, but for enlightenment. This book perfectly illustrates how time can change our perspectives on our circumstances (the grass is always greener). I loved the depth of the characters, who were so very balanced. They were obsessed with social propriety without being haughty, self-serving without being conceited, distant without being unloving, ordinary without being mundane. Yet for all the contradiction, the characters are never unbelievable, the plot never muddled. A truly amazing book, recommended for mature adults (a little life experience goes a long way toward appreciating the message here).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Waiting by Ha Jin was a pretty interesting book to read. I liked how the main character had to struggle with many decisions that would effect other people in his life. The story always kept you wanting to continue reading to find out what would happen next. The only thing that I felt I had a little trouble with was pronouncing names of the characters and cities in the story. I would strongly recommand people read this novel because what happens in the story happens to people in real life and it could make you have different opinions and views about certain subjects.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Well this book was a very sad romantic story that had to do with these two character who life was quite the same in some standard's because one character was lonely and needed someone, which she found someone but he was already married. He was a character who wanted to divorce his wife because he didn't love her, but had concieved a baby with her wanted to fall in love with the woman he felt was more compatiable with him. He went through tribes and tribulation to try to be with this other woman, but it seem that everything was stopping them from getting married, but he was going to keep trying to he got his wish even if it took years to do it. When he did finally get to divorce his wife and marry the other woman he felt in his heart after a while that he made a big mistake, but he still stayed in the marriage and it turned out to be a good ending, but a sad one. Other's should read this book if they like romance books that might have a mystery to it in some cases, but if they don't like simple sequenced books then they shouldn't read this particular book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderfully written book. For those who are seeking an intriguing thrill from a novel, you'd be disappointed. The beauty of this book is its simple style, which depicts in such accuracy details in these people's life. It's a love story, yet the main characters do not seem to know how to express love. The best part of the book is Part III. Isn't it a tragic irony that after all these years of waiting, Lin had to reveal to his ex-wife that he really longed to her, or at least an illusion of peace of mind that is associated with her? I was in tears when I read the part that he asked Shuyu to wait for him. What a mess, yet how real! I enjoyed reading it and still enjoy thinking about it. The only part that is disturbing is about Ge Yang. I was angry with the author when I read about the rape. This is a book that makes you think about it over and over again.